Alpine Swingface Head Units...

Civic-R

Just wanted to get you guys opinion.I plan to get Alpine single din head units.I know you guys out there must have experienced in Alpine products.I'm interested in getting either 9965E or 9855 which both models is swingface head units.Any comments in these 2 models?Which one is better,sound quality,etc.Any comments or advised for me?Thanks.

these 2 models is using glide touch to select the function. 9956e with color bio-lite screen, can play dvd, ampless HU (like 7998 model) & hv optical pre-out. I will choose this model since i can use optical cable for better & cleaner signal

just my 2 cents

Don't suprise..hee hee

No diff...china made..I'm prefer 7998r due SQ for mid budget or if U have more go to 7990 loorrr....according to Woo Kee Hong solely distributor Alpine in Malaysia & Singapore only 7998r, F#1 HU + Amp made in Japan if I not mistaken... lastly forget to tell U, all member & specially 7998r user that 7998r can not read protected CD...please check CD properly before U pay if there has remark "Protected CD" on the disc just put it back to save your pocket laa ...

oldskolboyz said:
No diff...china made..I'm prefer 7998r due SQ for mid budget or if U have more go to 7990 loorrr....according to Woo Kee Hong solely distributor Alpine in Malaysia & Singapore only 7998r, F#1 HU + Amp made in Japan if I not mistaken... lastly forget to tell U, all member & specially 7998r user that 7998r can not read protected CD...please check CD properly before U pay if there has remark "Protected CD" on the disc just put it back to save your pocket laa ...

Actually I still can play protected cds. Just a slight hassle coz have to insert the cd few times before it can read it

Azam, Selamat hari raya....when you going to marriage...don't said your ICE as your 1st wife loorr...hee heee... :biggrin:

Civic-R said:
I tot these 2 models were made in Japan?U sure is made in China?

Who said made in Japan ....the ppl or seller just try to chit u laa.....Only the profesional bussinesmen will tell you the truth man....

Confirmed made in China. How do I know? Just installed a CDA-9855R yesterday. Impression.. I like it very much. The Glide function needs getting used to. Sound is much better than the Pioneer I had previously (DEH-8650MP).. Though I noticed there's a 1-2 second lag everytime it reads a new song in mp3 format.. this lag is not noticed for the Pioneers.. Also, for the ipod owners out there, can installed optional KCA-420i unit so can connect your ipod.. The 9965 can play DVD as well but I haven't seen it yet.. just saw it in the catalogue..

hv audited the 9855 model. the sq is good la & for me there's no different between 9815 & 9835 model except the glide touch & bio-lite screen. but a bit hard to select d function using this glide bar during driving.

civic-r, if u like alpine characteristic just go ahead laa. even if from china, quality of the model & sq did'nt compromise...

Thanks for all you guys comments & ideas.I called them asking bout the 9855 price & i tot of getting it.Lastly the accs shop owner tell me to get either Nakamichi or Kenwood wor.They said these 2 brand sound quality is better then Alpine if both compared to the same category.So all audio sifus,any last reminder for me as i'm not experienced in car audio.I just need a SOUND quality head units.Budget less then RM3K.Thanks again.

Nakamichi me no chance to listen so no comment. about Kenwood sq. errrr. me still prefer Alpine. me last time Pioneer user, ichit back side ask my installer took Alpine test in my car then the HU sit inside liao.

or u may concider the Eclispe offer at ICE for sale section.

9965 can play dvd, 7998 has that phantom face, good for security. both are pure decks (no inbuilt amp) but 7998 is quite an old model and hard to play copy protected cd. still waiting for 9965 to arrive in the shop next month to listen to the sq and also 7998 will be phased out next year......ive used 7998 before and SQ is real good.

hehe.. i check with 9965 alraedy really nice with the color ... SQ not bad...