Alcohol Breathaliser

digitax

Im sure everyone who goes clubbing are quite familiar with the alchol breathaliser, does anyone know wat is the limit ? also any tips to make the breathaliser number down ? Heard from fren, u just put a 10 cents coin underneath your tongue and blow it , or eating cheese and milk ... im not sure, im no party goer but kena the test at one of the road block a fortnight ago

I was drinking (not so heavy) in Genting with a couple of friends , waited about an hour and felt sober only drive down back to KL. Sometimes even if u feel sober doesnt mean your alcohol level in your body is safe. Anyway, back in Cheras, kena tahan by polis roadblock just near the Makro roundabout. Officer put his head into my car, trying to sniff if i was drinking or not, being honest i told him yes ( he would figure it out anyway just my buddy was pretty drunk beside me) and told me to pull over. Ask me to tiup and after a while told me bullshit saying i was drunk and if go balai sure kena one. Anyway i felt really sober , so i open up the door and wanted to get down to show him i can walk one straight line , hehe ! Somehow he said tak payah and then just let me off .... moral of the story, they want your money !!!

Money can make the breath analyser level down but what if you kill yourself or others on the road? Money certainly cannot bring back life.

However, just for the sake of discussion, there are some ways to minimise the risk of getting caught. One hour before you wanna go back, you should stop drinking and drink more water. The cooling down period should be long enuff for your liver to absorb alcohol and to flush some smell from your breath. Drink lots and lots of water, go to toilet more its ok. After getting inside your car, wind down the windows and take a slow drive. That is for the wind to blow off the smell. The cops just need you to wind down the window to smell if you've been drinking, as simple as that. If you have ciggarettes, smoke it. Better if you have chewing gum, eat 4 or 5 pieces and keep chewing and meanwhile continue drinking water. Lastly, pray hard its your lucky day.

Actually you have a social responsibility NOT to drink too much when you know you're gonna drive. There's absolutely no reason why you should get drunk when you know you're gonna drive back 3 friends. You're actually putting others life at risk when you're drunk. So drink with responsibility!

advice well taken ......

however said, the breathaliser detects the alcohol level in your body. somehow even if u stop drinking an hour before driving, u will still have some dangerous alchohol level even though u feel mighty sober when driving ... hence myself asking IF there is any way to bring down the number shown on the breath analyser ....

i honestly believe that thing doesnt work. after a night of drinking, my friend, designated driver, who didnt touch a drop of alcohol, was stopped by police. he did the breathalizer test and the police claims he was drinking but didnt actually show him the device. after a heated debate where he volounteered to go to the balai to prove his innocence, the police let us go. weird huh.

the same thing happen to me then , although i was drinking, i felt good enuff to drive and wasnt slurring or anything at all , i just maintain that i wasnt drunk and perfectly fit for driving, hence after much persistence he let me off ... if i were to back down, there goes some cash money out of my wallet...

xerofighter said:
i honestly believe that thing doesnt work. after a night of drinking, my friend, designated driver, who didnt touch a drop of alcohol, was stopped by police. he did the breathalizer test and the police claims he was drinking but didnt actually show him the device. after a heated debate where he volounteered to go to the balai to prove his innocence, the police let us go. weird huh.
not surprise, bcoz the portable devide is not accurate and that reading can't present to the court. That's why they will ask you to follow to balai to do the testing at the machine again.

As usual, cops trying to make a quick one. The thing is, the moment u wind down the window, very likely he can smell some alcohol. Even though you consumed alcohol at the safe level, the cops will try to make a quick one on you. Maybe we should insist looking at the breath analyser.

Similar analogy to speeding. Say you're not aware of the speed you're driving, maybe 115 kmh and when you're stopped, the cops will try to make a quick one on you saying you were doing 121kmh. You're unsure and afraid of getting into trouble therefore you bribe him.

digitax, i can't be sure about this but i think the analyser does not detect alcohol on your body but rather just from the smell of your breath. To check alcohol in your body, i think a blood test is necessary. Generally if you've given about 1 hour of cool down period after drinking with lots of water and stopped for breath test, i think you should be fine. Again, lets not talk about extreme cases whereby you're gawd damn piss drunk and you're swerving when you're driving. Even with 2 or 3 hours of cool down also you will kena.

prodigy - yea, point well taken

anyway , this is my experience, i went out just to have a chill yesterday night with a couple of girl friends plus their other two more girl friends ...

we were drinking 2 jugs of beers plus a couple or triple of cocktails from 12 to 2am, slightly around 1.30am , i completely stopped, just drinking water and continue playing card games. It wasnt much , again i felt sober, so i guess its alrite to drive ... we were in The Loft btw ...

i took the road just opposite of the indonesian embassy, slightly just 20 metres away from the golf club entrance back to cheras and well well , there was a roadblock and needless to say i kena tahan .... phucking blow that device for 3 times, he kept saying i wasnt blowing hard enuff, although i was already puffing like mad ... i knew its gonna be alrite when he wanted me to blow so many times , he needed some outcome from the blowing and din get any ...

then he turn around my car, pretty stock standard with a promote bodykit, din say anything, but ask me where are the girls from and took all the IC , WTF @ $#%#$% , they really wanted to get some quick buck , so what the hell, just gave it to them ... in the end told me to jalan ....

all in all, pretty much if u are dressed up and have some girls in your car, the likelihood, well i would say its 100% u will have to pull over ...

after u drink, take charcoal tablets and wait fer half hour..alcohol level down to zero.

Glad that you didn't kena anything. You made the right decision to stop drinking an hour before you drive. Plus, 2 jugs is good enuff to pass the breath test. If not mistaken, the maximum you can take before you fail the breath test is 3 can of beers. More than that, you have to stop drinking for 1 hour and have lots of water.

Sometimes when you have a couple of girls inside,the cops just wanna stop you guys for fun and see whether he can stop you all for any petty offence. Imagine if one of the girl you carry didn't have IC or a foreigner. He'll have something to talk to you then. Not insulting you but lately there have been alot of cases of bapak ayam carrying PRC's to work in various clubs so these cops just doing a routine check. I don't mind them checking IC's as long as they don't accuse me of something i didn't do.

You don't need to be all dressed up to be stopped. As long as they see your car as potential target, they'll stop you and try their luck. I used to drive my trusty old Nissan Sentra and i was flagged down 2 out of like 10 different roadblocks. 1 time is kautim him, second time he just let me thru. I changed to Honda Civic last year and i've been stopped like 4 out of 5 times. Everytime they stop me for allegedly speeding which i insisted i didn't. I told them i have auto cruise and shit like that. As a matter of fact, i didn't know what speed i was driving too, maybe about 115 to 120kmh but since they are trying their luck on me, i mights well try my luck back at them. But the bottom point was, i wasn't doing like 140 to 160kmh so i'm taking a calculated risk. Good thing is, they let me thru everytime.

fstrader said:
after u drink, take charcoal tablets and wait fer half hour..alcohol level down to zero.

err, wats charcoal tablets har uncle fred :P

no offence taken , i heard bout those bapak ayam as well :) err , im not one of them , usually ill drive them out coz for girls to drive is pretty dangerous, especially well late at night .... have to be gentleman :)

I'd be more than glad to ferry 3 or 4 chics home. haha. You're one lucky person!

charcoal tablet = carbon tablets
to my understanding
when u have wind or gastric, take charcoal tablets, reacts with acid or some thing neutralise it, then not so pain but come out alot of ass gas
the point of taking charcoal tablets i guess it so let it react with the alcohol n come out CO2 oni lor....kua

=-)

prodigy said:
Money can make the breath analyser level down but what if you kill yourself or others on the road? Money certainly cannot bring back life.

However, just for the sake of discussion, there are some ways to minimise the risk of getting caught. One hour before you wanna go back, you should stop drinking and drink more water. The cooling down period should be long enuff for your liver to absorb alcohol and to flush some smell from your breath. Drink lots and lots of water, go to toilet more its ok. After getting inside your car, wind down the windows and take a slow drive. That is for the wind to blow off the smell. The cops just need you to wind down the window to smell if you've been drinking, as simple as that. If you have ciggarettes, smoke it. Better if you have chewing gum, eat 4 or 5 pieces and keep chewing and meanwhile continue drinking water. Lastly, pray hard its your lucky day.

Actually you have a social responsibility NOT to drink too much when you know you're gonna drive. There's absolutely no reason why you should get drunk when you know you're gonna drive back 3 friends. You're actually putting others life at risk when you're drunk. So drink with responsibility!

Well Said !

EcstacyElmo said:
charcoal tablet = carbon tablets
to my understanding
when u have wind or gastric, take charcoal tablets, reacts with acid or some thing neutralise it, then not so pain but come out alot of ass gas
the point of taking charcoal tablets i guess it so let it react with the alcohol n come out CO2 oni lor....kua

Last time when i lausai, my mum used to get me to take charcoal tablets too. Charcoal tablets or carbon tablets has absorbtion properties so my guess is that when you have stomach discomfort or lausai, you eat it so that it absorbs gas or whatever. Besides, when you have very strong odour inside your car, say you just fetched a boot full of durians and you know its gonna take a weak to get the smell away, you just put one block of charcoal underneath your seats. It works well. Also, you can use pandan leaves, but it'll leave a a fragrant scent of pandan and again if you don't like the smell, its equivalent to putting smell back into your car.

the reading should be 90 or 95...forgot alredi...once kene test hehehe..reading more than 100...luckily escape....but hv to forkout rm50 la....

don't drink n drive....

fuck the cops lah. their behaviour really disgusts me. i've 2 incidences i wanna share.

a) i was @ The Loft and my girlfriend drove my car to Zouk to meet up with some friends. on her way back to pick me up, she got stopped. the cop was asking her for her number and to go yum char with him and shit. she called me and started talking over the phone with me to let the cop know someone else knows what he's trying to do. i told her to stay put and that i'd walk over there. a bit far lah but i was a bit high and felt like i could run the marathon at the time. anyway, he let her go after

b) was drinking with a friend from indonesia and he had forgotten to bring his passport. got stopped and called me. i went there to try and settle things with the officer. the fucker asked me to introduce him to hot girls and to call him out the next time. i took down his number and promptly got the fuck outta there. did he really expect me to call him? cunt.