Aftermarket intercooler

Cow

Hey guys,

anyone got experience with those taiwanese/china aftermarket intercoolers?
Got any difference?

lan evo

Nov 24, 2003
i prefer old japanese intercooler rather than new china or taiwan intercooler.

from outside,maybe u cant notice the difference.the fins looks so ugly,might not function properly too.maybe only mine like this,im not sure

last time when i want to sell my car,i took out my arc.so find back a replacement. i tot why dun i buy a new shining intercooler rather than buying another stock one to replace it.after i get one,i felt dun wan to fix it to the car.i buy another stock one and sell the cheapo china intercooler.it was very heavy too

for me arc build quality is the best

apexi hybrid looks good too

heres some pics

inside of the china/taiwan intercooler
crooked fins

inside of arc

some of the arc model got different inlet and outlet,the inlet fin slanted.reduce lag

Cow

lan_evo: ohh, good information there. so basically the difference is on the inside.

i remember there was a local magazine which tested taiwan/china intercoolers with brand name intercoolers. anybody got that magazine?

Last edited by a moderator:

anybody knows what is proton 1.8 radiator capacity? 5l, 6l?
i want to change the coolant to Caltex extended life.. it is sold in 0.5l per bottle.. 50%-50% mixture.. so i need to know how many bottles do i need
and how much per bottle anyway? caltex stations are selling RM16.50 each :(