AE111 shocks are busted

AE111_SEG

Folks,
Finally after 4 years (120,000km) my Monroe sensatrac has become very soft.
Now time to change cos it bottoms out when 2 people in the car.
My ride is a standard 1998 model ae111 4AFE diamond lights auto. Can anybody recommend type brand and place to get it. Currently using Monroe on Oem springs.

I am looking for more harder shocks. Pls no original Toyota KYB shocks. Too soft.

Appreciate if anyone can recommend.

hi, mine ae111 also got same problem. mine are using kayaba and only for 1 and half year became very soft. if 4 people get in the car, not only tire got bergesel with body but my muffler also became cecah kat tanah. very bad oooo....

ae111 seg, why dont you use back monroe sensatrac?

i'm planning to use D2 absorber which i saw at tire shop that the standard absorber with adjustable tapak...

adjustable to hard for me la bro...
just want for street use...
by the way my wife pregnant now..kang terberanak dlm kete plak....:biggrin:

haha...last time i saw one of perdana v6 eterna using diy adjustable absorber. original standard absorber but change tapak and spring with adjustable type. i ask him i he can do for my ae111, unfortunately he said cannot.

vijay,
maybe u need to chg the spring as well,
normally the 'softness' of suspension is due to softer spring rate of your (i presume) stock
spring.
Main purpose of absorber is to reduce bounce rate or rather to 'absorb' the bounces,
eventough it might give us the impression of 'stiffness',
that is only how stiff it is to handle the bounce rate.
if your spring is still soft, then any 'hard' absorber's life span also won't be long
if u frequent carry heavy load at the back.

just my 1 cent.

adjustable.... can use only the soft hard type ma...
hehehe agree with u bro

vijay,
maybe u need to chg the spring as well,
normally the 'softness' of suspension is due to softer spring rate of your (i presume) stock
spring.
Main purpose of absorber is to reduce bounce rate or rather to 'absorb' the bounces,
eventough it might give us the impression of 'stiffness',
that is only how stiff it is to handle the bounce rate.
if your spring is still soft, then any 'hard' absorber's life span also won't be long
if u frequent carry heavy load at the back.

just my 1 cent.

last itme when im starting used my 101 im oso dont care bout this factor. that y in one year need to change 2 absorber. now happy with adjustable. hehehe:burnout:

Folks,
Thks all for all ur reply. Point taken......I have changed the spring to brand new OEM spring last year so I dont think the spring is the culprit. My original spring that came with the car began to sag after 10 years of use. I actually dont mind putting back the Monroe since it lasted 4 years but I heard now it cost RM 220 per piece. I am looking for alternative absorber which is harder than monroe. I dont want to use sport spring as the car is low enough. Scrape speed hump with 2person behind.:confused: Anybody know how much and where can get the following

1) Tokico
2) KYB SR Special

i use ae111 front tokico abs match wif apm performax rear springs on my rear suspension..
feel good 4 me..

Folks,
I actually dont mind putting back the Monroe since it lasted 4 years but I heard now it cost RM 220 per piece. I am looking for alternative absorber which is harder than monroe. I dont want to use sport spring as the car is low enough. Scrape speed hump with 2person behind.:confused:

whn you use monreo, do you face this 2 person behind will sag down problem?

i use ae111 front tokico abs match wif apm performax rear springs on my rear suspension..
feel good 4 me..

Front absorber can go in at rear meh?