First Impression: RCS Suspension - Velocity Sensitive Dampers

Yes they really are quite old. And for some reason they really they have really been quite durable. At least, till the point i stopped driving the car. But i know they were on their last legs; the 16 click valves became 32 and 1 of them had a broken shaft before when the set was very new and after the rebuild from my local Tein distributor it never felt the same; was about to count 18 or 20 something clicks on that one alone.

Honestly, i don't know if there is better suspension for my car, or what "better" should feel like. Were my Super Streets good, average, or mediocre? I find that its... okay i guess. i am just wondering if theres, better, or if my mind can be blown. I mean, The Teins were the first coilovers for my car so its hard to draw a comparison with anything else. I thought that paying more for a premium brand would at least gurantee some lvl of quality but here's the snag; they don't make anything for my car lol. Its a late 90s Mitsubishi Mirage that i have, so I don't really have alot of options. Anything the Satria can use, i can, sans the front top mounts so i thought i'll hit whats available up North first (I am from Singapore)

Whatever my friends are using; they don't make anything for my car. Or the other simple way out is BC but i hate them, so here i am!

Guess you are itching to explore and wondering if there better options, also looks like Sg's road condition and enforcement contributed to the long life of your tein SS.

If you're after daily drive comfort, most of the shops you mentioned can provide some kind of improvement over your aging teins.

My previous experience with custom coilovers are that they don't stay the same for long, as one of the 4 corners would go out of sync and require service from time to time, sometimes earlier than expected. I'm not certain if this is just me and if my needs at the time to run at low ride heights caused it or the custom engineering several years ago isnt as good as now. But the impression at the time is that custom coilovers, while very enjoyable, needed more tlc and I was okay with that.

I don't have conclusive data on this but it seems the well trusted off the shelf brands like ohlins, bilsteins or teins tend to stay fresher for longer, is more widely supported in terms of maintenance.

Have you explored the branded options and how is your mirage in terms of condition? in terms of being able to compliment your new needs in the ride department

Guess you are itching to explore and wondering if there better options, also looks like Sg's road condition and enforcement contributed to the long life of your tein SS.

If you're after daily drive comfort, most of the shops you mentioned can provide some kind of improvement over your aging teins.

My previous experience with custom coilovers are that they don't stay the same for long, as one of the 4 corners would go out of sync and require service from time to time, sometimes earlier than expected. I'm not certain if this is just me and if my needs at the time to run at low ride heights caused it or the custom engineering several years ago isnt as good as now. But the impression at the time is that custom coilovers, while very enjoyable, needed more tlc and I was okay with that.

I don't have conclusive data on this but it seems the well trusted off the shelf brands like ohlins, bilsteins or teins tend to stay fresher for longer, is more widely supported in terms of maintenance.

Have you explored the branded options and how is your mirage in terms of condition? in terms of being able to compliment your new needs in the ride department
Hi Tom. Thanks for writing back. So sorry, didn't realize you replied.

The Mirage has been stripped empty and devoid of any sound proofing. Carpets are gone. The power windows are gone; and so is the radio and speakers. The me 15 years ago was going after a minimalist build; "everything that i need and nothing that i don't"

Even the doors are now RS doors without electric mirrors or power windows.

The 43 year old uncle me now regrets these decisions lol. @ some point the carpets and the heat insulation will go back. i am trying to find the plastic trims that i recklessly threw away all those years ago lol.

Mechanically its fine except for the little rust here and there; nothing abit of TLC and money can't fix.

Having lived in KL for work for a year, i can attest that SG roads are better. I used to think they are crap, but i guess one does not appreciate how good one has it until they have experienced something worse. Having said that, i do appreciate, and miss KL's more robust and dynamic car culture.

To be frank the car was hibernating in a basement car park the past 5 years. or so. recently put it back on the road (Should have done it sooner) to find all 4 dampers leaking. Not sure if its the suddenly use after so long, or they were already leaking before.

My intent is to have the Tein SSs rebuilt anyhow so, i have something to fall back on when new set needs to be rebuilt etc. i would prefer not to go back to the local AD; the last time they did something for me, it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Explored the Titan route as they are cheap; but honestly still skeptical. Wallet says yes, brand-whore in me keeps pulling me back.

Hyped about Ohlins Road & Track, but no application for my car but they do have something for Evo4-9. Evo4-9 fronts will bolt onto my car (albeit with longer stroke) but the rears bottom mounts are different. (I think can be changed but not sure who can help)

I did try to contact Ohlins Asia for custom applications as they have that on their brochure but its.... prohibitively expensive. Lets just say, it cost 8 sets of Titans lol.

Tein has a specialized damper program where they can make u ANYTHING. So i inquired with Tein Japan via email but they pointed me to my local Tein distributor but the quote i got was abit too much than what i was willing to pay. Shame; I was rather keen; the prices on Tein Japan's webpage looked reasonable but the local dealer's quote was significantly more than i anticipated. I know, custom product. supposed to cost more. But off the shelf same range and my quote... quite far wor.

So I thought, maybe prices in Malaysia will be.. better? So i tried to inquire @ N1. Because they are listed as a distributor. The guy kept pushing me away. A whole slew of reasons. Honestly not sure issit I am not local or... he simply isn't interested.

Disappointed lor. Still thinking what to do!

Hi Tom. Thanks for writing back. So sorry, didn't realize you replied.

The Mirage has been stripped empty and devoid of any sound proofing. Carpets are gone. The power windows are gone; and so is the radio and speakers. The me 15 years ago was going after a minimalist build; "everything that i need and nothing that i don't"

Even the doors are now RS doors without electric mirrors or power windows.

No worries, i took some time to properly reply to this one as well

It's nice reading posts like these, with a storyline like that, about notable 90s gems

Stripped mirage seems period correct to the golden days of pasir gudang and kallang rally era. Kudos for keeping the car this long

The 43 year old uncle me now regrets these decisions lol. @ some point the carpets and the heat insulation will go back. i am trying to find the plastic trims that i recklessly threw away all those years ago lol.

Mechanically its fine except for the little rust here and there; nothing abit of TLC and money can't fix.

Having lived in KL for work for a year, i can attest that SG roads are better. I used to think they are crap, but i guess one does not appreciate how good one has it until they have experienced something worse. Having said that, i do appreciate, and miss KL's more robust and dynamic car culture.

To be frank the car was hibernating in a basement car park the past 5 years. or so. recently put it back on the road (Should have done it sooner) to find all 4 dampers leaking. Not sure if its the suddenly use after so long, or they were already leaking before.

Also thereabouts myself, and had similar mod obsession then. Was actually cool at the time I guess and there weren't as many distractions like today, pre social media and smartphones.

Must have been costly to hibernate an sg car with the coe and all. Nice to know you kept it from being scrapped

Suppose you can collect the parts and restore gradually or get a decent Malaysian satria as donor car and transfer parts over,

Do post some photos if you can, pretty sure there are like minded others who'd appreciate the topic or are on the same journey as you are

My intent is to have the Tein SSs rebuilt anyhow so, i have something to fall back on when new set needs to be rebuilt etc. i would prefer not to go back to the local AD; the last time they did something for me, it left a bad taste in my mouth.

Explored the Titan route as they are cheap; but honestly still skeptical. Wallet says yes, brand-whore in me keeps pulling me back.

Hyped about Ohlins Road & Track, but no application for my car but they do have something for Evo4-9. Evo4-9 fronts will bolt onto my car (albeit with longer stroke) but the rears bottom mounts are different. (I think can be changed but not sure who can help)

I did try to contact Ohlins Asia for custom applications as they have that on their brochure but its.... prohibitively expensive. Lets just say, it cost 8 sets of Titans lol.

Tein has a specialized damper program where they can make u ANYTHING. So i inquired with Tein Japan via email but they pointed me to my local Tein distributor but the quote i got was abit too much than what i was willing to pay. Shame; I was rather keen; the prices on Tein Japan's webpage looked reasonable but the local dealer's quote was significantly more than i anticipated. I know, custom product. supposed to cost more. But off the shelf same range and my quote... quite far wor.

The KL coilover shops you mentioned should be able to rebuild the Teins for you, not sure about the clioks part,

On the Titans, when they were based in Ampang, I sampled boss Richard's Civic EF and liked their work. It was setup for street use, so there is a good chunk of shock travel and the damping felt good. I can still remember the sensation. But I am unsure how they compare against branded products

Guess it depends on your appetite, does sound like you're biased towards the good stuff but not enough readily available options. Bit of a dilemma there

So I thought, maybe prices in Malaysia will be.. better? So i tried to inquire @ N1. Because they are listed as a distributor. The guy kept pushing me away. A whole slew of reasons. Honestly not sure issit I am not local or... he simply isn't interested.

Disappointed lor. Still thinking what to do!

I've had experience dealing with N1, also got a set of Tein SS for ex MINI r53, been some time since, unsure how it is today

No worries, i took some time to properly reply to this one as well

It's nice reading posts like these, with a storyline like that, about notable 90s gems

Stripped mirage seems period correct to the golden days of pasir gudang and kallang rally era. Kudos for keeping the car this long

Also thereabouts myself, and had similar mod obsession then. Was actually cool at the time I guess and there weren't as many distractions like today, pre social media and smartphones.

Must have been costly to hibernate an sg car with the coe and all. Nice to know you kept it from being scrapped

Suppose you can collect the parts and restore gradually or get a decent Malaysian satria as donor car and transfer parts over,

Do post some photos if you can, pretty sure there are like minded others who'd appreciate the topic or are on the same journey as you are

The KL coilover shops you mentioned should be able to rebuild the Teins for you, not sure about the clioks part,

On the Titans, when they were based in Ampang, I sampled boss Richard's Civic EF and liked their work. It was setup for street use, so there is a good chunk of shock travel and the damping felt good. I can still remember the sensation. But I am unsure how they compare against branded products

Guess it depends on your appetite, does sound like you're biased towards the good stuff but not enough readily available options. Bit of a dilemma there

I've had experience dealing with N1, also got a set of Tein SS for ex MINI r53, been some time since, unsure how it is today
Hi Tom, appreciate the kind words.

mine is the generation after the Satria type. The coveted CJ chassis; to those who appreciate it anyway. In Singapore, mine is the last one left.

Managed to snag this in 2008. Stroke of luck, or destiny, not sure which. Maybe both.

Over the years had afew chances to change out for something else but sentiment always held me back. Once i sit in it and get a scent of the Mitsubishi smell. I just can't. I feel this thing's best chance of survival is with me. I hope the Car Gods will take pity on me and lower the COE in 2026 so i don't have to let this go.

In sg because of the dumb powers may be. Some idiot had the brainwave to hold rallies in car parks. Which is the dumbest thing. Sorry, but not sorry; car parks are for parking, stat. But they worked with what they had; so to be fair, have to give credit when its due. As a teen of course i have been to those parkin *ahem ahem* rallies. Just to see all the Evos and GC8s. I want to go to Sepang but can't bear the thought of flinging it around a track. Parts are so difficult to come by (lesson learnt) and i can't bear to accelerate the deterioration of the chassis. With regards to hibernating it for 5 years... i could have tried harder to accelerate the repair process but circumstances were difficult.

Anyway its back now.

Pictures are very recent. Finally found a rear end panel to stick on after all this time. paint will come soon i hope. Trying to fix it bit by bit.

My refusal to compromise and not use lesser or fake parts have led to very slow (if not halted) progress with the car. But @ least its back!

Abt N1. i spoke to Desmond. The impression i get is, he's not familiar with the damper program. emphasizing its very very expensive. Cited cost of monotube dampers for FK8/FL5 to be about 9k rm.... what i am asking will be much much more. What he did not know, obviously, was that the list price for what i needed was very close to FK8/FL5 kit price. But by then i already felt he had no interest in whatever business i had to offer. So i didnt correct him.

• IMG-20240831-WA0007.jpg
    IMG-20240831-WA0007.jpg
    919 KB · Views: 94
  • IMG-20240831-WA0009.jpg
    IMG-20240831-WA0009.jpg
    1,000.1 KB · Views: 96
Hi Tom, appreciate the kind words.

mine is the generation after the Satria type. The coveted CJ chassis; to those who appreciate it anyway. In Singapore, mine is the last one left.

Managed to snag this in 2008. Stroke of luck, or destiny, not sure which. Maybe both.

Over the years had afew chances to change out for something else but sentiment always held me back. Once i sit in it and get a scent of the Mitsubishi smell. I just can't. I feel this thing's best chance of survival is with me. I hope the Car Gods will take pity on me and lower the COE in 2026 so i don't have to let this go.

This is nice, don't see them nowadays, used to see a few during early 2000s, reminds me of the fto, evo 7 era somehow, the rise of grey import jdms

You've kept it this long, I sure hope you'll continue to keep it for years to come, this being the last one sg, makes it even more special. Quite crazy to think it's the only 1 left on the island.

In sg because of the dumb powers may be. Some idiot had the brainwave to hold rallies in car parks. Which is the dumbest thing. Sorry, but not sorry; car parks are for parking, stat. But they worked with what they had; so to be fair, have to give credit when its due. As a teen of course i have been to those parkin *ahem ahem* rallies. Just to see all the Evos and GC8s. I want to go to Sepang but can't bear the thought of flinging it around a track. Parts are so difficult to come by (lesson learnt) and i can't bear to accelerate the deterioration of the chassis. With regards to hibernating it for 5 years... i could have tried harder to accelerate the repair process but circumstances were difficult.

For the average joe and the younger me then, the car park rally was quite cool, it was a Singapore thing, like the motorshows at the time. Looking back they really should have done it where there are no curbs, but the car parks contributed to the crowds maybe