AE101 vs AE111

Veloc

Hi guys... I recently acquired an AE111. Many people said that AE101 is better in terms of build quality. I was initially looking for 101 too. But this 111 came along the way and I took it! Come share your opinions on what are the performance, strength, weaknesses, common problems that you know and maybe how to rectify it. After getting this AE111, there was some great deal for me to repair (ball joint, cv joint, super bad FC, etc). My thinking at that time was AE111 is newer, thus it should be better. But After i bought it, I realised that the build quality, body and interior quality of the 111 is inferior to the 101.

Please share...

first of all congrats for getting the car...me myself is a satisfied ae 101 owner...but i never had a chance to drive an ae111 (never knew how the car technical details ie FC among other things)...just by plain observation ae111 is a bit more compact than ae101...thus making it lighter (i guess)...

being a used and aged car...there a bound to be wear and tear here and there...especially stuff that made by rubber (ie bushings)...and of coz it also depends on how the previous maintain the car...:burnout:

Hi guys... I recently acquired an AE111. Many people said that AE101 is better in terms of build quality. I was initially looking for 101 too. But this 111 came along the way and I took it! Come share your opinions on what are the performance, strength, weaknesses, common problems that you know and maybe how to rectify it. After getting this AE111, there was some great deal for me to repair (ball joint, cv joint, super bad FC, etc). My thinking at that time was AE111 is newer, thus it should be better. But After i bought it, I realised that the build quality, body and interior quality of the 111 is inferior to the 101.

Please share...

Welcome on board, Veloc. There isn't much a big different in both. To me AE111 is just smaller in size while AE101 is bigger a bit. :)

There both nearly share the same parts other than the interior and exteriors are different. Your choices aren't wrong.. if due to the reason you selected this AE111 on behalf of it's year and mileage, you have make a wise choice. AE101, they are easily up to 15 years old now. If you find an AE101, you might have to go thru a lost of process searching for a good ones. :)

So dun worry too much. AE111 is a good car. :proud:

yup 111 is a good car...i know...i own 1 :proud:
[MAP]putatan,sabah,malaysia[/MAP]

Welcome on board, Veloc. There isn't much a big different in both. To me AE111 is just smaller in size while AE101 is bigger a bit. :)

There both nearly share the same parts other than the interior and exteriors are different. Your choices aren't wrong.. if due to the reason you selected this AE111 on behalf of it's year and mileage, you have make a wise choice. AE101, they are easily up to 15 years old now. If you find an AE101, you might have to go thru a lost of process searching for a good ones. :)

So dun worry too much. AE111 is a good car. :proud:

Haha... Thanks! Both 101 and 111 are superb cars! Japanese cars are the best... especially Toyota... AE is legendary... Really hope Toyota will consider reviving rear-wheel-drive AE some day....

Ahh that FT86 news was ages ago and the planned got postponed ..

Btw, your AE111 use wad engine ? 4A-FE or 4AGE ? If using 4AFE, slap in a 4AGE man !!

Haha... Thanks! Both 101 and 111 are superb cars! Japanese cars are the best... especially Toyota... AE is legendary... Really hope Toyota will consider reviving rear-wheel-drive AE some day....

Veloc, those car manufacturer won't do so. That is against all car manufacturer rules. :) We just have to move on and reviving these little angels by ourself. :)

And from what i know, today if you wanted to find a car as good and as rigid as Toyota Corolla, it will usually cost you close to 80-90k... :) Toyota Altis is actually the final batch so called Corolla... I forgotten where i read this. But it has transformed itself into a 4 door family sedan. So the closest angel we can find are either Altezza or Camry.

I just hope they won't force me to scrap my AE... coz i still have another KE... both this batch of car is where toyota makes their glories. But anyway, just take good care of your car. Sent it only to those workshop which offer u good worksmanship and they have experience.

I remember there was one blog mentioned before about Toyota Corolla. "These little stupid japanese car just won't die, they just feed on regular on time servicing, and you will be amazed by the mileage and life span on these car"

hahahaha!~~ but i bet my car life span is shortened hahaha!!! Samizai, your car also getting shorter life span ady.. mod some mroe la :thefinger:

ikankaloi bah ni..jeng jeng jeng.... Kota Kinabalu mari.....:proud:

• Azam baru kalui.jpg
    Azam baru kalui.jpg
    30 KB · Views: 275
Friend two model also bettle ,but Ae111 inside space more small abit .n suppenson need use Ae101.now i use is a ae111.so far is ok ...now i use is ae101 suppenson .n now i change AE111 20v 6speed

hahahaha!~~ but i bet my car life span is shortened hahaha!!! Samizai, your car also getting shorter life span ady.. mod some mroe la :thefinger:

@@"
My Tyre left 10%, Clutch gone soon, Brake pad also want say bye bye jo...
1st aim is to get a light weight 15' rim. Swap in RS-R rubber play play sin~
Then go for brake pad.
Then go for brake pipe.
Then clutch....
AHHHH
COSTLY!

helo! u off topic la!!! shuuu shuuuuu!!! moderator come ban kao this feelllaaa HAhAHAHA!!!

Now Abang Sham and Abang Chin also come spoken ady. Veloc, u might get poisoned soon.. so hahaha!! better go hide off a whle with ur AE111.. if not it might later becomes 4age 20valved 6 speed with emanage + 272 cam + 2 pot brake..and other big brands starts to fall into ur car.... like endless, ogura... Tein, 5zigen, apexi, Cusco.... that time... hahhaha!!!

We are called, The civilian who saved a toyota but Torturing our toyota too. HAhAhahA!!

sbirdz: Yes Agree!!! Now we have to revive it ourselvse... But some still exist la... The Altezze seems to have some genes of the AE... The GT version of the current corolla (altis) has its engine grew to 3.5L lol... no more small ans sweet engines... And yes!!! Corollas are built like tanks!

xMika: I really love the 20v engines and want to swap. But the nature of my job won't allow me. I drive around 60km per day in average. So Stick with 4AFE is best. I consider to turbo the thing in the future after I have pay off the car. Cars generally have higher fuel consumption here in Sabah because of the road conditions and because of majority of people driving like ass. My friend's silvertop in sandakan can manage only 280km for a RM80 of RON97. =.= Even now my 4AFE auto gives me only 330km for RM80 RON97, Damn pain. Considering to convert to manual soon. But surely will tune it in the future la...

sbirdz: Haha... I might tune it in such a way when the say comes when I have one fuel economy car for work, and that will be my weekend fun car... But now is not the time! Your suggestion "4age 20valved 6 speed with emanage + 272 cam + 2 pot brake" is orgasmic!

Kept is stock if you wanna enjoy a great mileage on the petrol. And :)

Try to swap ur gearbox to manual with auto with someones... :) 4afe g/b should be cheap thing if u wanna swap it. Coz everyone is just talking on the town about 4AGE powar!! 4AGE rules! ^-^

Any stock car with a new half cut transplanted into the car is fuel saving. Even my Brother stock L2s is very fuel saving... becoz there aren't any mods on the car... :)

Sadly to say, AE111 was a cost down model from AE101. AE101 was built based on Lexus shadow. In Japan, they call it baby Lexus. When come to AE111, Toyota want something cheaper with higher profit. So everything was built with cost effective in priority. The only good new is, AE111 is 70kg lighter than AE101.

"My friend's silvertop in sandakan can manage only 280km for a RM80 of RON97. =.= Even now my 4AFE auto gives me only 330km for RM80 RON97..."
This is one of the sympton of a faulty ECU. You may want to give it a check asap before it stall your car somewhere. Good luck!

fuel consumption is not an issue if you mantain the engine...
coz been contantly getting 450++km for every full tank... i always fill-up to full and reset the trip meter...
don't think driving habit, coz even trashing or cruising... i get the same average...
even during the car with 4AFE auto... then 4AGE BT auto... then upgraded with some goodies...
now it's 4AGE BT 5spd manual(Street Final Stage)... still 450++km...:proud: