ABS brake problem

PuristOfRacing

i just change my rear drum brakes to discs on my AE111(with ABS).
ever since then my brakes have been acting funny. when im creeping upto a red light my brake pedal gets soft and stumbly, there is also a "brrrrrr" sound like an electric motor is running when this happens. when i press down a little harder it resumes normal pedal pressure. i think its the abs but it shouldn't to this at such light braking. i hope this information is understandible. your responces will be greatly appreciated

maybe still got air in the brake line.......try bleed the brake.....

just my 2 cent

did try it. slowing down is not much of a problm but when the car just about to stop, the ABS motor went ggggrrrr....

I have the same problem on my AE101 after had the rear absorber replaced. The ABS kicked in whenever i slow down my car to about 5km/h, even though there is no wheel spins. The mech just couldn't find anything wrong. We have even reset the ABS ECU (several steps are needed) but problem still exist.

At last i can't tolerate with the noise and decided to disable the ABS by unplug one of the sensor's socket. After drove without ABS for 2 weeks, one fine day i decided to plug back the socket. I was surprised that the problem has gone. I have tried a heavy brake and confirmed the ABS is functioning well.

Perhaps we didn't complete the ECU resetting steps initially (we were confused about it). And the ECU reset by itself after couldn't detect the present of the sensor for 2 weeks.

sorry to out of topic, but just wanna ask something hope u guys can help out too. How to know whether the ABS is working in my car ar? i oso have a 96' SEG with ABS, got the ABS ECU under the hood, but how to check it is working? I tried emergency braking and didn't skid, how ar, no idea leh? hope u guys can tell :smile:

Write your reply...