about go kart.

zan

i watched A1 race last nite, but found the race a bit boring. anti climax.
but if given a chance, i wud race in A1 GP he he.. we all can dream rite?

then i wonder..how to race in A1? go kart oso never try.ekekekeke

i tried searching our forum on go kart but not a single info found.

here i juz wanna ask...anybody has experince a go kart before? is it difficult to handle? where can i try go karting and how much will it cost me?

can we all organise a day at go kart circuit perhaps? race maa..everybody like racing rite? i feel embarased laa wanna race alone.

pls share ur opinions and experience.:D

There are 3 Kart Circuits in Klang Valley.

Shah Alam Stadium run by City Karting

Elite highway, near USJ exit Run by Mofaz.

Sepang Kart Circuit Run by , last I checked, kartquest.

For begineers, you should start of with rental karts, usually powered by a single 160cc 6.5hp 4 stroke engine.

Once you feel you can hendle those you can try the rental karts in Shah ALam that use 60cc (80cc I forget) 2-stroke engined karts. These are much faster.

Once you feel up to it you then move to renting Yamaha 100c engined karts (minimum 16hp) at Mofaz elite circuit. These are way faster.

Once you've reached that stage either you give up coz renting karts aren't cheap or you start buying your own kart.

100cc are damn fast...but depends also on how u drive it....
zan..yr hands might get tired...hehe

eh, how much haa? if everybody contribute maybe RM50 per head, and we rent out the track for one whole day can or not? btw thanx for the info faizal...

i am now looking for a used lawn mower..anybody got or not?

p/s convert lawn mower into a go kart. than transplant 150cc 4 stroke generator..:lol:

yeh...beginner should start of with those 4stroke engine..with those yamaha 100cc engine..they genarate same gforce in the corner as F1 some can genarate more then F1 interms of coners...anyone who wants to enter motorsports..i strongly suggest start of with go karts.u can learn all the basics in motorracing and u will know wat is the real track Racing.!

special license not needed rite? go kart use direct chain drive isnt it if not mistaken? both legs are used to control accelerator and brake paddle rite?

Really? Er... F1 cars generate more than 4Gs, but these karts?

zan, u can join www.my-kart.org and join one of the monthly races.

But your idea of RM50 per head for whole day is very very far from the reality. Before you really venture into motorsports seriously, just keep in mind : motorsports is expensive!

The typical rental rate is RM50 for 10 mins per kart in the fun karts. If you want to rent the whole track, the asking rate is usually around RM3,000 per hour inclusive of maybe 15 fun karts. Of course you can bargain down depending on your negotiating skills.

lampakia said:
yeh...beginner should start of with those 4stroke engine..with those yamaha 100cc engine..they genarate same gforce in the corner as F1 some can genarate more then F1 interms of coners...anyone who wants to enter motorsports..i strongly suggest start of with go karts.u can learn all the basics in motorracing and u will know wat is the real track Racing.!

Karts do not generate more g's than F1 cars! Although in the Rotax 125cc i definitely feel more g's than in a drift car. 3 laps at Sepang kart track in the Rotax 125cc and my neck muscles were all gone!

Zan, in a kart there are 2 paddles - right for accelerator and left for brake.

oh yeah, the real pro in ZTH on karting is BabyGodzillaGTi-R, u should consult him if you want to venture into kart racing.

lampakia said:

dont think so..to undergo such G-forces...also u hve to really quick in a corner to achieve that...i have been in a kart...really exciting and almost no body roll...u really feel like an F1 driver...hitting the apex and all...
u have to be very fit interms of ur stamina..drivers undergo stringent workouts..to train for a race

Kookaburra said:
Karts do not generate more g's than F1 cars! Although in the Rotax 125cc i definitely feel more g's than in a drift car. 3 laps at Sepang kart track in the Rotax 125cc and my neck muscles were all gone!

Zan, in a kart there are 2 paddles - right for accelerator and left for brake.

oh yeah, the real pro in ZTH on karting is BabyGodzillaGTi-R, u should consult him if you want to venture into kart racing.

oh yeah, the real pro in ZTH on karting is BoatOwner, u should consult him if you want to venture into kart racing.......
And the king of MyKart racing is Kookaburra.
Keke...

Well they have answered most of your questions on how to try out fun karting.

And to clarify about the G force. A proper racing kart like the Formula A 100cc reed valve direct drive which i race, it consistently register on our datalogger as high as 2.9G round the bends. Little compared to F1 but i guess it's still halfway there.
But karting no kick lah, no chun chicks to support u, and no supporters and sponsoers lah... Drifting got so much to offer.

driver weight difference plays ALOT in karting.

one of my friend(big american, has alot of autoX experience, but weights about 250lbs)..was lapping the same pace as my 10yo brother who just started karting. A few laps later, my brother overtook him.

thanx for all the response... :D

must start finding old lawn mower and convert to 150cc 2 stroke engine from my Kawasaki..he he :D

zan said:
thanx for all the response... :D

must start finding old lawn mower and convert to 150cc 2 stroke engine from my Kawasaki..he he :D

That would be similiar to the Kawa Superkarts that was run in BT3 and SIC a few years back. No joke man these karts. They lap BT3 nearly as fast the old Formula Asia cars.

BabyGodzillaGTi-R said:
oh yeah, the real pro in ZTH on karting is BoatOwner, u should consult him if you want to venture into kart racing.......
And the king of MyKart racing is Kookaburra.
Keke...

Well they have answered most of your questions on how to try out fun karting.

And to clarify about the G force. A proper racing kart like the Formula A 100cc reed valve direct drive which i race, it consistently register on our datalogger as high as 2.9G round the bends. Little compared to F1 but i guess it's still halfway there.
But karting no kick lah, no chun chicks to support u, and no supporters and sponsoers lah... Drifting got so much to offer.
Eh our In-Hse Kart Maestro being modest.

But I agree these days Drifting more glamour.

In Karting you don't get young college girls attending and wanting to sit next to you when you drive ( can't do it in a kart anyway, no passenger seat).
In drifting you get them showing up all the time.
Don't get as much magazine coverage as Karting.

And for the price of a brand new Rotax 125cc engine and a kart can buy a old Toyota modded Ready-To-Drift.

boggysv said:
driver weight difference plays ALOT in karting.

one of my friend(big american, has alot of autoX experience, but weights about 250lbs)..was lapping the same pace as my 10yo brother who just started karting. A few laps later, my brother overtook him.
That why there's a weight limit in karts. Different classes different limits. Kart and driver combined.
100cc was 120kg ,Rotax Max is 140kg , or was it 160kg.
Damn long never hangout with karters forgot aredi.

between go karting and drifitng, which has higher risk? which is easier on the pocket.

i am not that glamour type of person. orang kampung aje.

faisal said:
That why there's a weight limit in karts. Different classes different limits. Kart and driver combined.
100cc was 120kg ,Rotax Max is 140kg , or was it 160kg.
Damn long never hangout with karters forgot aredi.

That I dunno wor..I only remember it was damm funny, coz he is taking the lines so smooth and my bro was alll over the track, and yet he paced slower

faisal said:
In Karting you don't get young college girls attending and wanting to sit next to you when you drive ( can't do it in a kart anyway, no passenger seat).

Not in my uni's kart challange:biggrin:
Girls show up more then dudes, dunno why

real car drift haven really try it out yet le...

if go kart try b4... fulamak.... nearly kisss my younger bro kart, and the speed i tekan too fast, sampai running on 2 wheels, another two lift up redi.... but fun fun... hehe... play chase la.... not bad...