About Brakes!

ops, i made it too short, wht i mean is that, if u r on a non abs car, pump the brakes

and pads err u can contact AFI , they will sell the MME pads to you, they dont produce for all cars, as i know 1.6/1.8 calipers , vr4/evo calipers are available, lolx no packing at times, only dust and dirt on it lol

Sorry for my ignorance.AFI?whats that.hehe.can pm contact?i'm using 4g93t calipers.should be the same as 4g93p ya?

1) Myth or truth:Ventilated or slotted disc eliminates brake fade.
-ventilated keeps the disc at a lower temperature by transfering heat to passing air.this helps reduce overheated disc and brakes which can cause brake fade and even disc warping
-slotted disc purpose is to skim away a layer of air in between brake pad and disc to keep the pads working at optimum.bad thing about slotted is that the pads wear out faster

2)Myth or truth:Branded pads improves braking grip and eliminates brake fade.
- branded brake pads have different pads for different puspose.the reason u buy branded pads is for the quality and track tested to withstand torture from rough driving

3)Myth or truth:Braided brake lines improve braking force.
-braided lines removes spongieness felt compared with original rubber hose.try apply pressure on the water hose in ur garden when water is running and u will know the difference.

4)Myth or truth:Disc warp due to sudden change of temperature.ie:hard braking and running over a puddle of water.
-sudden hard braking will wap the disc.it depends on wat type of material on the disc u are using.solid metal will definitely warp.often skimmed disc is more easily warped with more sudden braking.
-running over puddle of water is not a big affect as the water splashes doesnt reach the disc a lot enough to warp it.spraying water direct to the disc after a track day efficiently achieves this.

5)Myth or truth:ABS improves braking distance.
- ABS ensures all 4 brakes rotate at the same speed by tinkering with the brake calipers only.with this said it will give slight further braking distance but it helps when braking quickly while maintaining control on a corner.

6)Myth or truth:ABS eliminates skidding(which i think is truth.experience it myself)
-as explained on number 5) unless u can make all 4 wheels on the car stop completely and thus al 4 wheels will slide.

Hope this helps...

I'm a lurker in this forum and i hardly reply,

but steel braided hoses removes sponginess from braking is not 100% true, old brake fluids or boiling brake fluids from very hard braking also induces such sponginess, and if serious; brake fade.

My old combo of Zeal slotted disc + Endless 0-600 pads did not wear faster when i used Project Mju floating non-slotted + Mju pads. while i believe that the slots is used to vent the hot pressures and dust during hard braking, i'm not so sure whether it will wear the pads quicker, maybe it's because the pads i was using was quite hard in the first place.

As for the ABS, i'll put it this way, if you have the time to pump the brakes, it means you can still brake in time, if the ABS activates, means the skid is very serious, i've read from another forum a few years ago that an ABS pulses 40-50 times a second, so best is not let the ABS activate and drive safe.

Warping of the disc is due to the disc cooling unevenly, where the molecules of the disc is rearranged wrongly so to speak. imagine driving down Genting just by your brakes, with little of no air flowing through the disc, the disc warps, even when there isn't any rain water.

thats my 2cents, feel free to correct me.

I see see.So there is truth in the claims that slotted and drilled disc does eliminate brake fade.
I bought myself a pair of slotted and drilled disc together with a pair of bendix metal king titanium(since i have no other option) and installed it before i came back to kl.normally as i approach the jelapang toll in ipoh i would have experience brake fade on that downhill stretch but with the new set up,amazing results i must say.no more brake fade.next will be the braided line.:driver:

Doink,
Any brand of pads to recommend?I'm using GSR calipers

Mr turbolover...use metal king...but must original metal king not the recycle and repack
metal king brakes is good for daily and aggresive driving.
though it need some warming up...just drive more than 1km its warm d
but the downside is it will skim ur disc at the same time.makan punya brake mah...
after changing 3 times the brake pad then the pads will ok de...

Doink,
Any brand of pads to recommend?I'm using GSR calipers

Mr turbolover...use metal king...but must original metal king not the recycle and repack
metal king brakes is good for daily and aggresive driving.
though it need some warming up...just drive more than 1km its warm d
but the downside is it will skim ur disc at the same time.makan punya brake mah...
after changing 3 times the brake pad then u will notice the disc is thinner d.

hehe Doink,
i wish somebody did advise me on it.no need change 3 pads la.i use for a couple of weeks also know this pads eats the disc like breakfast.but again cheap thing no good.good thing no cheap.can see some uneven wear on the disc.signs of disc warp?hasn't vibrate yet during hard braking but got some noise coming from it but not the shrill sound.

Sounds coming out when u hard brake constantly...its the material friction making sound.Attend some serious track car race and u can hear whistling sound when they brake before a corner....sounds almost like this wheeeeewwwwwwwww....

Bump: Sounds coming out when u hard brake constantly...its the material friction making sound.Attend some serious track car race and u can hear whistling sound when they brake before a corner....sounds almost like this wheeeeewwwwwwwww....

No wor.it sounds more like a pushing a heavy metal container with broad base across the ground.But not driving my car at the moment.Driving the 04 accord now.hard braking the brakes judder like hell.malu only.dashboard like wanna come off.

So guys...anyone has preferences or experiences with Mintex, EBC green stuff, Bendix , AXT? Note: They are around the price region.

Spirited street driving...I am currently using Bendix Metal King..its alright but the dust is killing my rims...have to hose down everytime I get home. Heard EBC green is low dust but how ia it's bite?

So guys...anyone has preferences or experiences with Mintex, EBC green stuff, Bendix , AXT? Note: They are around the price region.

Spirited street driving...I am currently using Bendix Metal King..its alright but the dust is killing my rims...have to hose down everytime I get home. Heard EBC green is low dust but how ia it's bite?
Haha luckily i'm using black rims.

Lucky you..maybe I should spray my rims black too...kakaka...then can use any pads.

Anyone tried IMP brake pads..they're going for RM120 for front. Comments? Thanks.

Bro..

a bigger rotor also helps alot..the bigger the disc,the better the cooling...a larger area/surface which allows easier heat transfer...The lesser the time and distance covered..the less heat is generated...

Drilled and Slotted rotors are effective only to a certain extent...i've tried most of the ways to improve brakes except steel braided lines..which i am going to do anytime soon...from the comments left by ZTH sifu;s(which i always appreciate)...pro rs is the way to go. Pads is very important like most mentioned...Just want to share my experience...

I tried drilled+slotted rotors with good pads...and it still faded pretty quick with spirited driving..
But once i changed to a bigger brake kit...without slotted and drilled disc with the same type of pads...it actually was so much better and so far...*touch wood* i have yet to experience brake fade with spirited drving and harder braking situations...

I have also read in other places,that a drilled rotor might have the tendency to crack compared to a normal disc..and it reduces contact area..that's why its normally use on high performance and big brake kits...

bigger disc rotor will have greater torque force...
290mm disc will have greater torque force cor having a bigger radius than 260mm disc..
the formula is Torque = Force x distance, so can be calculated..
braking torque is equal to the retarding force provided by friction between the pads and rotor, multiplied by the radius of the contact point between the pad and rotor...

This also explains why door handles are found on the side of the door opposite the hinge, why longer spanners are needed to tighten bigger bolts, and why large disc brakes can stop a bike more quickly than small brakes.

Haha...Jin the lecturer..always ending with a formula or metaphor...thank you sir..

Wish I had more money to upgrade to larger rotors though.

Haha...Jin the lecturer..always ending with a formula or metaphor...thank you sir..

Wish I had more money to upgrade to larger rotors though.

u'r welcome... i'm just give a shoot only... paiseh paiseh...
if dun wan to change the rotor, just get a better pad...

I have the IMP rotors on but i dont think is that good.no brake fade but the sound emitting from the disc once it heats up,goodness.better save more for branded disc and pads.if the disc behaves that way i dont think the pads will be any different.

direct upgrade to DBA disc rotor, i got customer using it, good feedback.