Braking Techniques

sonictheory said:
wat will happen if just jam brake immediately without step a few times o rpm down?

btw, hear from my gf's father said which he used to study automobile courses, tap a few times of brake before actually brake...i think it would be function as heating up the brake gua to make it more bite on the brake... (i assume) hehe

u'll skid like drifter in action

boon you right la...
i try it this evening, and i can say it take almost 12 sec.
6 sec??? not much time to react la. just press, tap&tap&tap. not know how much
some more, make my rubber burn...

wow.....u really go n try it out ahh??......man......respect lar!:Not_Impressed:
I'm just saying so to prove that at less than 10 seconds (which is emergency braking) not a lot of ppl can do manual ABS.....
:_:
To those who can do it!..i fully respect them....

slowkancil said:
boon you right la...
i try it this evening, and i can say it take almost 12 sec.
6 sec??? not much time to react la. just press, tap&tap&tap. not know how much
some more, make my rubber burn...

fast reaction...
hardbraking...tapping...if can, lower down your gear...
swift to the next lane if manage to do so...carefull for car at the back...

during this time, "brake stopper" will help a lot during hard braking...

2cents...

ok first of all i see many GURUS who can do tap tap then brake then pull e brake...and dowshift....

i would say it is not proctical....why

lets say u are speeding at 160kmh...then got one idiot just cut into your lane and brake or slow down.....chances are you will be in a shock cause u dont anticipate it...and when you are not ready for such surprise and guess what your leg will be doing...? SLAM the brake HARD!!!

So this is where your tyre lock and BANG......

That is why go get yourself a car with ABS or drive safely...

hahahah...correct...
and one more thing...don't panic...stay calm

drive carefully...

110 speed limit should be interpreted as min 100km/h lar!!.....hahaha
that's oversea's rules, driving less than the speed limit, you got summons...obvioulsy on highway lar...not on city roads

the difference here is that we're talking about m'sian drivers.cant compare with drivers frm aussie fr xample.

2 totally different attitudes.so...110 is the best limit.so..dont go 160.coz there's no proper braking technique to get u outta deep shit when it happens.

haha...true true....this is so true, once i followed a kancil which practically seems to stop before making a turn (even on winding road -1 way). I got so frustrated for 2 turns; than just overtook the car......imaging following the car for the whoel stretch of winding road.....Think anyone would go crazy.

haha...
boon, i also encounter it.
sure need to ask them to go faster la wei...

Proper braking technique:

Please take into consideration different cars need to be 'braked' differently for optimum effect. You cannot tap the brakes on a car with ABS, you will just not brake at all if you do that. Similarly you cannot jam the brakes w/o tapping on a car w/o ABS.

Please learn your car's brake behaviour in case of emergency.

For me, I press firmly on the pedal and squeeze to allow the weight transfer to transfer car's weight to the front hence compressing the front suspension. After that continue pressing until the wheels lock and then i'll regulate the pressure around the locking point of the wheel so that it doesn't lock. I believe this is the most effective way. All this happens in less than a split second so it takes practice.

Also take into consideration some cars with different brake materials such as carbon ceramic discs need to be operated differently because of how their effectiveness are affected by temperature as well.