A33 steering rack

doraemon98

bros... A33 ckd have a very heavy power steering... One said A33 power steering is even heavier than a Porsche!

However imported model like doobs one indeed very much lighter, and fun to drive with.

Can anyone enlighten me, if i replace the steering rack (get from chop shop) with the imported ones will my steering become lighter?

Do I have to replace the power steering pump as well?

Any modification needed to fit the steering rack it into the car?

Any side effects to the mechanical joint and link after replacing it?

Should i service the used steering rack by replacing the wear and tear parts like oil seal and stuff before get it installed? Estimated cost of repair etc...

Thanks.

Well...I think it is generally heavy for A33.
But i got used to it.

If the pump is working and rack no leaking...no need to fix la...
(Plus i was using 245/40R18 in front)

ooo... the rack is leaking. Fluid is seeping out bit by bit, not dripping la...

---------- Post added at 08:46 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:45 PM ----------

air presssure is enough also very heavy leh...

Watch the fluid reservoir loh. Top up as it's low.
I think it can last a while.
Meantime can go chop shop survey and try to buy a nice one for spare.

steering too light not good also..

Ya woh! I remember driving the Honda Inspired/Vigor back then...the steering is like not connected to the tires! in the highway, both hand holding tight tight....when i rains, cold sweating la!!

dream.tent .. i thought u sold ur feilo oredi? how's life man? it has been ages since our last TT at sri hartamas... hahaha ..

Ya woh! That's like 3 years ago?? hhhh
Anyway, i still have my heart for Feilo.

Going to KL this week...

Any recommended chop shop in KL area? Got coordinates lagi better...

Try Man Li..

It's in Puchong, after Bandar Puteri.

---------- Post added at 12:03 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:59 AM ----------

This is Sun Wing Thai Used Auto Parts. Not as big but as some nice selected cars they chopped.

Along Old Klang Road, after the T junction to Jalan Gasing..it's on your left. If you see Caltex, you over shoot d...

dream, this 2 famous for bring in good stuff, but fatty things are rare to them

Chop shop at Taman Sungai Besi, at corner of Jalan 2/108C and Jalan 3/108C
(update: managed to find position as X:101.699195, Y:3.092820)

Got my half cut VQ25 over there. Saw a few A33 half cut and A32 half cut there. Look for Ah-Yap

My A33 has this steering wheel kick back problem.

The steering wheel is tight, but whenever car moving over uneven roads, the tyre tends to turn left/right and forcing the steering wheel to turn clockwise/counterclockwise accordingly. I hold the steering wheel very firmly, and i can feel the tyre trying to force the steering wheel to turn. It is definitely not freeplay.

I have changed lower arm, steering rack, high pressure hose, tyre. Left pump & steering column not change yet.

Please help me. Thank you.