A33 fuel filter

on the second photo, the devices on the foreground are the fuel filters. The canister like on the left (looks clean white) is the new fuel filter.
Thanx for the info sku, sure looks different from the A32 fuel filter.

Mine is A32 and its much easier and cheaper. I change about 60k. By then the petrol coming out is already dark brown.

I change my honda civic at 40k and that was already light brown petrol coming out.

Wah 140k i think too long already leh.

You got to also calculate the cefiro drink more fuel even when it clock 40kkm, comparing civic, so is normal to be more dirty.

Mine is A32 and its much easier and cheaper. I change about 60k. By then the petrol coming out is already dark brown.

I change my honda civic at 40k and that was already light brown petrol coming out.

Wah 140k i think too long already leh.
Bro if diy, do we need to unplug the fuel pump fuse , start the car , let it idle till stop, crank a few times or we can just put a few cloth rag around the fuel filter , loosen the clips and pull the damn thing out and install the new filter? Will there be lots of fuel gushing out or just few drops coz i was thinking diy. The last time I remembered my mechanic did not do the proper procedeure (eg; taking out fuse, start till stop, crank a few times,etc) but not much petrol leaked out...:confused:

I actually did what u were saying. Take out fuel pump fuse, then run the engine until it halt before start to working on it.

After the engine dies, and crack a few times more to make sure there aren't any fuel left in the line. I remove the host at the top of the fuel tank and fuel still gush out. I got shocked because I never expect it to have some more fuel in it. Then I went to crank the engine a few more times again. The engine halt almost immediately.

Then I go remove the fuel line again and still fuel gush out. I ask my mech to help out. He said it's normal to have fuel gush out but a little bit only.

So I confidently remove the line and let the fuel to drain out. It's estimated to lose around 150ml to 300ml before it stops. Boy, that is enough to soak 3 pieces of table cloth.

Enough to soaking wet 3 table cloth = a little bit only?

---------- Post added at 09:49 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:39 AM ----------

I dunno whether it will reduce the gush of fuel more this way.

Run the engine, rev it to 3k rpm and hold it while take out the fuel pump fuse. Continue to hold your acceleration pedal until the engine dies.

Ok its better to follow the proper procedure and i like ur idea of reving 3k while taking out the fuse. This would really minimise fuel spilling out. But would it be a problem to start the engine after the filter replacement? Sorry just need to confirm b4 attempting the task..hehehe..

No, not at all. Just put back the fuse and it will start just as good as before.

If u worried, u can remove fuse and let it die off, then put back the fuse and try restart it.

After second thought, I decided to let my mech to replace the fuel filter as I was worried that the petrol spillage would fume my house compound with smell of petrol . My mech felt quite annoyed when I told him to follow the 'procedure' (eg; taking out the fuse , idle till stop, crank engine,etc) . Aiyaah ! No need to do all this lah.. just open up the petrol filler cap and the rest would be history! said my mech. So after opening the petrol cap, I was still sceptical about his words and i was prepared with a big old rag. To my suprise , there was just a few drops of petrol spilled out from the old fuel filter! Phey! What a relieve!

U mean no gust of fuel burst out from the fuel line on top of petrol tank?

Strange?!
Nope , mine's an A32 , so the filter is located at the engine firewall, there were a few drops petrol 'shot' to the engine and gearbox. I hosed it down with water.

Now the idling seems to be alot smoother but power wise hmmm, no difference lah...

Anyway brownish petrol were poured out from the old filter and I am glad I ve changed it.

Thanks.

SB3.:biggrin: