4G91 Gang..

hehehe, ada ni. baru balik dari merompak.hahaha.sorrylah bro.Bzlah bulan ni. Ijoe, how u'r car? After do the mod ok ka?Pick up?lajak?I'm thinking to do the same mod as u but don't have time....

LancerTerabo said:
Lanun g belayar... itu pasal lama tak dengar berita... atas kapal mana ader coverage internet... ;)

Pandailah ko Lancer.....Got the internet line.Streamix lagi.hahahaha.

Anyway, nice pic of TT. Wish can join u guys. It must be fun to get together with 4g91 gang. Plus 4g91 sifu also there.hehehe.Hope next TT, i got the oppurtunity to join.

Yong_5290 said:
erm...from wat i think...ah yoong mech say 4g92 cam is better coz the lift is not as high as the 4g93 so the power band should be more 2 pick up

the 4g93 cam is 4 higher rpm...power can 'fee' at 5k....sure...especially 3rd gear

First of all... don't confuse yourself... and get one thing clear... the thing that determine's the powerband range is the DURATION and not the LIFT... !! =Þ

Duration as in like 263, 272 degree cams... etc etc.

But either way... the powerband can also be shifted slightly with the presense of adjustable cam pulleys.

If LIFT is what determines the powerband range... then reprofiled cams made by matspeed and powerzone are totally useless loh!! Coz' they reprofile the original cams by grinding the angle and making the duration longer... they still utilize back the stock cam lift... they can't do anything to increase the lift.

So trust me on this one guys... higher lift = better.

lampakia said:
one more question bro..some pple actually fit in a 93 ecu n wiring on 91 engine...any advantages on it?

Advantages
- rev cut up to 7.5k rpm like 4G93

Disadvantages
- running rich = fuel consumption goes up, less power
- ignition timing lari = might cause mifiring, incomplete burning
- got rev cut oso useless coz' ur power ends at 6k rpm unless got high cams
- no rev cut at 6.8k rpm, means can over rev the engine... then KABOOM!

yeah... thats about all that i can think of... definitely got more... not mentioned only..

Better suggestion:
RECHIP! Or just get a piggy back ECU... can fine tune the car...

oh ya...duration is the word...
powerzone's cam got change rocker arm also...

btw way alvin...like u said...wit adjsutable cam..the powerband can be shifted slighly rite...so can i like shift down the power band of 4g93 cam which suppose 2 get the 'feel' at 5k rpm 2 down 3-4k rpm?

do u think tat revving the engine up 2 7.5k can kaboom 4g91?
coz quite fed up wit the rev cut since power comes at 5k yet have 2 shift at 6.5k
att 1.5k diff onli...

4g93 cam powerband end where ar...since mine onli 6.5k rpm...o should i ask those driving 1.8 leh....

haiya...alvin sure can answer 1 lah...ahhahahhaa

hahaha... My 4G91 dyno chart last time max powerband is around 4800 - 5600 rpm... (see torque, not hp)

my setup:
- 4G93 t'body
- rebored intake manifold to 60mm
- 4G93 cams
adjustable campulleys
- hotbits extractor
- 2" exhaust straight pipe + mid muffler but 1.8" inlet N1 muffler
- fuel regulator and
- SAFC...

this is all my mods when this dyno has been done lar... dyno included for u guys punya reference... =Þ

http://img26.imageshack.us/img26/5694/dyno2gn.jpg

Yong_5290 said:
oh ya...duration is the word...
powerzone's cam got change rocker arm also...

btw way alvin...like u said...wit adjsutable cam..the powerband can be shifted slighly rite...so can i like shift down the power band of 4g93 cam which suppose 2 get the 'feel' at 5k rpm 2 down 3-4k rpm?

do u think tat revving the engine up 2 7.5k can kaboom 4g91?
coz quite fed up wit the rev cut since power comes at 5k yet have 2 shift at 6.5k
att 1.5k diff onli...

4g93 cam powerband end where ar...since mine onli 6.5k rpm...o should i ask those driving 1.8 leh....

haiya...alvin sure can answer 1 lah...ahhahahhaa

4G9X series engine quite delicate... so better don't over rev.. the internals aren't strong... if wanna rev above rev cut, must make sure the tuning has been done properly... else confirm sure kaboom... other than that, it depends on whether ur internals can take that amount of torture or not... thats why a lotta GSR put mivec head, rev till 9k rpm sure die wan...!! The conrod bearings will alwiz break... can't take that much torture..

yeap...i understand those japs engineers make rev cut at 6.8k rpm has their own reason which might be the internal arent strong enuf...
but do u think tat revving up a little more...erm...say 1k rpm more 2 get 7500rpm will knock the bearing o internal parts kong?

my fren recommend me 2 use Kings bearing...wondering how much r those...

bro yong..if u wanna change ur engine internals y not think of engine blue printing?

hey guys, I have a question , hope all 91's kaki give an idea...

ok, let said I take my 91 engine go to convert to cabri /performance cabri, what do u all think ??
1. fuel consumption is it ok ?? recently my fc is RM40 with 320km.
2. my ISC always give me a trouble, 2 time I was changed it. engine will halt interminttenly when fuel pedal is release/ clucth press in to change gear, rpm drop until 0; is very dangerous on the road :(
3. power performance will get better ??

and i found that my isc temperature is very hot, is it because of this ISC open when working in high engine bay temperature ?? when I took out check on ISC conductivity, there is no problem. pls .... help !!!

yong,
These kinda things are trial and error... if ur engine has been sent for full balancing before, then most likely there won't be any problem... if not, scared is that there's manufacturing inbalance; engines are being mass produced, there are bound to be slightly flawed... obviously all these has already been taken into account and calculated to give optimum reliability, therefore rev cut has been set to 6800 rpm.

lampakia,
Changing engine internals... doesn't necessarily need engine blue printing lar... so expensive... unless u're trying to build a race car maybe lar... other than that, just send the engine for balancing can liauz... balancing itself also will cost over 1000, engine blue printing i dun dare to even ask how much will it be..!!! Wahaha... a couple thousand bucks maybe...

boyzone,
I don't have an answer for u... but just to comment on Q1, these kinda things are subjective... nobody can give u an accurate answer as different engines, with different mods, and under different conditions... will give different FC... I not carbie pro, so sorry... can't find an answer for u... =Þ Maybe ayell can answer?

Alvin .. Thanks for the comment, my ISC really give me a big problem ...
if I can solve it, I will stay with injection...laa. :D
if want to mod in FICD, I need to get down KL ... I stay in Penang, there is no body know how to mod FICD ..

other KL, any where can mod in FICD ??
pls advice

greetings......aiyooo so damn sleepy la today...sunday is sooo booriinggg....ermmm...but tomorrow?...worst...k,guys.....nak sambung nap!...hehehehe :p

ahhaha...lampakia...alvin has answer 4 me...if i wanna blue print my engine i might as well swap wit 4g93 block...more easy 2 mod...
when i wan 2 change conrod bearing n main bearing i will consider balancing also since the parts will be taken out...nonit 2 time workmanship charge

my stock clutch going 2 kong edi...my mech ask me 2 get 1.8 clutch n plate n then use back 4g91 flywheel...then i plan 2 skim a wee bit of 1/2 kg...any pro n con?

Yong_5290 said:
ahhaha...lampakia...alvin has answer 4 me...if i wanna blue print my engine i might as well swap wit 4g93 block...more easy 2 mod...
when i wan 2 change conrod bearing n main bearing i will consider balancing also since the parts will be taken out...nonit 2 time workmanship charge

my stock clutch going 2 kong edi...my mech ask me 2 get 1.8 clutch n plate n then use back 4g91 flywheel...then i plan 2 skim a wee bit of 1/2 kg...any pro n con?

wtf for?? Won't make any difference lar... waste money only, ur clutch surface bigger but ur flywheel surface remain the same size... the amount of grip should still be the same... =Þ Its like i give u a 2m square piece of cloth to wipe a 1 meter square table... !! Wahaha... =Þ

Just go get exedy racing clutch lar... 4G91 got size maa...

oh...i forgot 2 mention...ahahhaha..
he say use 1.98 clutch plate n 3 puck clutch
i was wondering can the cable take it...i mean my clutch cable...
he told me no prob...

1.8 3-puch clutch? Then use back 4G91 clutch cover ah? Still think its pointless... total contact surface area should still be the same...

IF u use back OEM clutch cover... then should be okay.. the cable will still hold... but u dun go send it for stiffening lar.