4G91 Gang..

alvins rite.our engine just cut on6k something rpm.maximum flywheel is 8.5 inch and better dont skim the flywheel.make standard.if somebody want to test pickup wif u just say no and ask them to play long distance aroun 10km.see what happen.even kancil turbo also can tapau 4g91 pickup,then on 3rd gear u can tapau them back....share wif u all my exp.

Sure boh... kancil turbo can tapau 4G91 on pick up? Last time i tested with an L2 running 1 bar with wastegate summore... i managed to stay ahead from launch till finish... but he was pretty close behind lar... about 2-3 cars only. Maybe that fella's car sick kua... dunno leh.

really ar?my 1st gear quite jerking ar?dunno why...calvin,if u got some free time why dont we meet and do some homework with this engine...what u think?

Dear All,

I'm driving Proton Wira A/B 1.6XLi, My car a bit rojak type. Below are some information about it:

Engine:
Originally: 4G92P SOHC 16v
Currently: 4G92P DOHC 16v (Convert from SOHC to DOHC, taken from 4G91 Carb)

Gearbox:
Originally: Proton 1.6XLi Auto w/Overdrive + Proton TCU
Currently: Mitsubishi 4G91 Auto w/Overdrive + 4G91 Auto TCU

The car engine tappet sound like shit, very noisy than my previous single cam. I already use Castrol Magnetec and seem more worst. My mechanic said should use 15W or 20W engine oil and 1 stp engine treatment to make it better.

Somemore my fuel consumption never hit the best. Very high consuming. :( Now, RM 50.00 only can hit up to 330km max. Anyone that had remap the ecu or tcu that can optimize the fuel consumption?

The gearbox always rev. till 2.5K rpm and reach close to 20km/h than only shift to 2nd gear. But from 2nd gear to 3rd gear; shifting time took shorter than 1st to 2nd. And 3rd to Overdrive, shift at 75km/h. I felt little power come sudden at 60km/h. It is normal. At 110KM/H, rpm is less than 3K. Only 120KM/H reach 3K rpm.

Anyone can recommend the solution, I drive normally, didn't tekan kuat my pedal.

My throttle body kong last week, same thing as your, the ISC tak ada fungsi. Just replace with Mitsubishi V6 throttle body w/ISC. :rolleyes: Good feel but consumption still the same.

hey alvin. the car will be ready this saturday...and then on the 20th i have to go alor setar already. so can i kau tim the runner anytime before that? best is monday la...can tell me hows the procedure and stuff? send the car to workshop then??? thanks maan

aiyak.. sorry.. checked wit my mech and its 8.5" nia.. hahaha.. sorry for the wrong info.. btw, even though my gb is f5m222, its ratio is damn close.. i thin about the same or closer than a 1.3 ones.. could it be from mivec GB leh?? but good la, can go up genting mostly using 3rd gear woh, at the tight and steep corner of coz have to change to 2nd gear laa.. lucky fuel consimption is still ok, rm 50 can go up to 450 km normal driving.. (change gear at about 3k++ rpm).. so any body know from what engine does a f5m222 VRZG gear box come from??

Originally posted by Yong_5290@Apr 12 2005, 19:40
should be ur engine mounting kua....but tat alsop is normally on air con worse rite???

hey...2get i get 360km wit rm 50....but i did tarik a lot...sumore 180 all the way from klang 2 sunway n come back also leh...(hate the speed cut)
[snapback]890993[/snapback]​

That's not the mounting problem actually is not vibration , more closely can said that is engine jecking intermittenly.. :( anyone can help ... ?? plsssss...

Originally posted by tajulsans@Apr 11 2005, 21:01
the only way to make ur existing gearbox ratio closer is by changing the final drive, or change the 3, 4, 5 gears since 1 and 2 is ussually good enough..
[snapback]887885[/snapback]​

So any idea from which Gbox the suitable final drive to fit or only aftermarket parts?

Originally posted by alvin24@Apr 12 2005, 20:52
ayell,
4G91 gearbox is the same as 1.3/1.5 punya ratio... its memang pun already close ratio gearbox lar.... coz' 1.3 tarak power ma... so they had to make it close ratio. Pick up is good lar... but high speeds that time will feel like your engine struggling... coz' will be at damn high revs. If not mistaken... travelling at 110km/h on 5th gear, the RPM already will reach somewhere around 3.5k... now that would be okay on a mivec which drags till 9krpm cut... but ours cut at 6.8k man... 3.5k is more than halfway there liau!
[snapback]891276[/snapback]​

OIC.. yeah it's about 3.5k 110km/h, but it is ok for me as mine is carb.. and also my engine can rev to over 8k

too bad my gb is still using clutch cable...if i change 2 racing clutch...scared the clutch cable cannot take it...

n any1 noe if the stock 4g91 ecu can be rechip o not?

if i wan 2 add a 4-2-1...lets say from HOT BITS...is the xtractor same wit 4g92p? o 4g93p?

Yeah... i used to run on Hotbits extractor for 4G93... but sold off liau. Performance wise not bad... can feel the difference lar. But the thing is, I changed exhaust and the extractor together... so not sure the performance gain is mostly from which upgrade. hehehe... but definitely got feel after change both. =)

4G91 ECU if not mistaken can be rechipped... but not sure if they have any setting chips for it. Maybe you can go for Matspeed's J5 chip... retunable mar.

ME also used to run on cable clutch.... then ran on racing clutch as well. Result: Firewall cracked... the clutch cable kinda forced its way thru my firewall. So happen I had synchromesh problems at that time, so changed my whole gearbox to the hydraulic clutch and repaired my firewall at the same time. Cost me a bomb... and I regretted not getting a 1.8 gearbox instead... i got back 4G91 gearbox.

oh...alvin...ur firewall also crack ar...mine also....last time my 4g15 running wit super touring flywheel n mmc cluch cover n coz the fire 2 break...welded em back but eventually break again..wat i did was not just weld it back...i asked sum1 2 cut a thick huge plate of metal n weld it on the fire wall...so now the clutch cable is on the thick piece of metal...no more cracked firewall...

Originally posted by Yong_5290@Apr 14 2005, 20:45
oh...alvin...ur firewall also crack ar...mine also....last time my 4g15 running wit super touring flywheel n mmc cluch cover n coz the fire 2 break...welded em back but eventually break again..wat i did was not just weld it back...i asked sum1 2 cut a thick huge plate of metal n weld it on the fire wall...so now the clutch cable is on the thick piece of metal...no more cracked firewall...
[snapback]898018[/snapback]​

Aiyoyo... where got people just weld back wan? Of course must put one metal plate and weld on lar for support!! Thats what you should've done the first time around! hahaa.. =) I memang did that lar... but now i using hydraulic clutch liau... so no worries. =)

My cousin leacare going to officially be 4G91 member oso by this Saturday... now the car still halfway doing heart transplant! =) Lets give him a warm welcome...! =)

oh...Leacare...welcome....join us asap so we can have more thing 2 discuss on this engine...

2day i try 2 play wit my fren(Kher)Galant 4g63 sohc auto...hump...1st gear till 2nd gear lose....3rd gear the power kicks in n chase him back....

i guess it might be the help of the 4g93 cam..

Serious? Funny... i almost never lost to anyone on 1st and 2nd gear... tried with mivec before, also lead 1st and 2nd gear... even tried with B16A integra before, lead 1st and 2nd... 3rd gear is when we kena kau kau... not only did they overtake me back... left me behind berkampung kampung! hahaha...

alvin, ur case is same with mine ler.. i played with civic vtec and putra.. initially head to head on 1st and 2nd, 3rd gear they start to pull away liau..

leacare.. welcome2, later can share ur experience having the 4g91 horsie eh..

Haha... yeah ler... think their 3rd gear damn power... wonder if we shared the same ratio as them, would the result be different? 3rd gear is usually where most cars really start to pull away.... wonder why my car different? Hahaha... My car test with putra/GTi however i lead all the way.