4G63T Club

yo sdf sifu ,
how do i know if the block is vr4 or not ?. i know see the engine number but then some people alter the number , so is there anyway how to check if its 1.6 or 2.0l block ?. cause my spare engine 4G61 but then looks like the number kena alter also . like the block part kena skim aready and now its rusting .

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/engine5.jpg

http://www.fivio.com/vestax/vr4/engine4.jpg

Originally posted by lancer_ajai2@Apr 8 2004, 12:40 AM
Hi guys, was just wondering. Now i'm using 4g61t in my wira(already registered and all). Used for a year and now quite bored with the power output. Sort of in a dilemma:-

1) Should I just overhaul the 4g61t+change bigger turbo+ecu mod or change to vr4?

2) Say la if i decide to change to vr4, can i just alter the engine num so its the same like my 4g61t, meaning no need to register again?

p/s:- Is 4g61t a good engine to modify? Please advice. Thanks
For "convenience" and power-to-RM factor, definitely go for VR4.
if you're power-hungry, i don't see how far u can mod yr 4G61T such that it will come close to the VR4's or even 4G93T power.
If you're on a budget, i reckon keep yr 4G61T-lah, don't do transplant. upgrades cost money to maintain & rectify probs.
Just curious, how much u pay for yr 4G61T 1/2 cut last time? What's the power/performance like?

wei eclipse ,
the cam cover actually is silver la but been sprayed to black . so how ?. anyway how the hell to tell the difference between the mirage and the vr4 block ?. looks like the previous owner alter the engine number don't you think so ?

ves baiiiiii, looks like the number has been altered. hope u pass the inspection, no question asked! :)

Originally posted by khoyos@Apr 8 2004, 04:52 PM
ves baiiiiii, looks like the number has been altered. hope u pass the inspection, no question asked! :)
if its been altered then for sure the block is 2.0l maaa .. anyway im sure the engine number is legal cause its been registered , so what i have to do is to alter my block number or swap block and then get a runner to help kautim inspection from 1.3 to 1.6 i pay more then what other usually pay . :lol:

hi all the 63T sifu...

i've booked one VR4RS engine kosong in one kedai potong here! although it cost me 2.5k but i really couldn't resist since it came with AR50 turbine, custom made inlet and outlet manifold with external wastegate, unknown blue colour injectors, but written there DENSO, metal head gasket and according to the seller, HKS pistons! i dunno how many mm but the seller already contact his boss in japan to confirm that it was HKS one... do you think it's worth? and now i'm going to put it in my 61T... can the 61T wiring and S-AFC support it?

actually 61T is very tahan lasak, mod properly sure can play with VR4 or GSR like our king of mirage here, ECLIPS3!!! ;)

keong, need ITC as well. 63 and 61 different ignition timing. best if u use vr4 ECU. in ur case, vr4rs.

VR4RS wiring different from 61T, but normal VR4 same. can even use VR4 ecu on 61T. but not VR4RS.

Originally posted by eclips3@Apr 8 2004, 06:26 PM
wei vest, i want the cam pulley cover la..not the cam cover...
sorry sorry cam cover / rocker is blue , anyway the cam pulley cover is silver but the previous owner spary black , so still interested ?.

Haha! kereta hantu..
means must put a big painted white 'A' in a black circle! hahaha!

yea, speaking of which, how do you identify a VR4 and a Mirage 4G61 block? They're fookin identical...

Originally posted by vestax+Apr 8 2004, 07:31 PM-->
QUOTE (vestax @ Apr 8 2004, 07:31 PM)
--QuoteBegin-eclips3
@Apr 8 2004, 06:26 PM
wei vest, i want the cam pulley cover la..not the cam cover...

sorry sorry cam cover / rocker is blue , anyway the cam pulley cover is silver but the previous owner spary black , so still interested ?. [/b][/quote]
uhm..no la like that..thks.. i am looking ori black one.

no la keong, me n my 61t small fart in here.. all the evo n vr4 taikor also never say anything.

Maybe my mirage small cc,small turbine,slow tortoise,kena ta pau by GSR turbo,VR4 or evo...But then...

I'm damn proud and happy of my engine..... :)

Originally posted by vestax@Apr 9 2004, 06:35 PM
i also damn proud to be a mirage owner la :lol: . no one here thinking of doing the 4G63 & 4G64 hybird 2.4l ?
tought of 2.4 block a long time ago, but no money to proceed :(

Originally posted by eclips3@Apr 9 2004, 03:41 PM
no la keong, me n my 61t small fart in here.. all the evo n vr4 taikor also never say anything.
tipooo..........tipoooooo.........wc, ur car small fart, i'll need to push my galant into the lubang behind gt... :lol: :lol: :lol: :D :D :D :P :P :P

khoyos,

then how? will the car jerk later? according to some mech. they said will drink petrol like hell if i use back the 61T wiring and ECU... now me in middle of no where... :( evo wiring also damn expensive! anyway, will ask my foreman to try it...

sorry for late replies guys....phew...spent 15mins reading all da stuffs...hehehe...

:D