phew... :D i thought we would have another heated debate here... hehehe... thank god that we agree...Originally posted by drexchan@Mar 8 2005, 13:27
yes, i totally agree on your statements about the e-supercharger and e-turbocharger.. i thing we share the same opinion on them... the energy consumption, battery drain, $$ (that's not worth), ....
but one thing: the flow-rate
See,
I believe that the e-supercharger is also running at constant RPM too. By why it works?
This is because the actual air flow is controlled by the TB opening, not the fan. No matter how fast the fan spins, how large the air mass it can generate (outside of the intake hose, stand alone), the actual air flow is controlled by the TB opening. During idling, the butterfly is almost closed. The idling speed is controlled by various mechanism and it's almost 100% self-regulating/close-loop. So, the flow is still the same eventhough the fan is spinning crazily. Agree?
Take this as example. Get a hair dryer, tuck it into a pipe and block the other end. Run the hair dryer (no heating, just blow, dun cook your hand), will you get a flow in the pipe? NO.. at the most the air will be pressurized a lil'.
Yeah, i guess what u say is true too about the butterfly closed. But if you put the fan just anywhere near the AFS (near the air filter) the pressure built up would only built up slowly as the intake hose is so long and huge (unless u put the fan just before the butterfly at the TB). In the meantime, the ECU would happily be injecting loads of petrol in until max pressure in the intake hose has been reached and the AFS reading is correct. Also in order to run this e-supercharger, you would need to use a strong fan right? A strong fan would built up very high pressure and the pressure built up to be very high until to the point that it would leak through the butterfly (as it is not really air tight) and how about ur idle speed motor (used for sucking air when the butterfly is totally closed)? There is a connection bypassing the butterfly thru to the idle speed motor and such as huge pressure built up would really screw up the idle speed motor.
Also another aspect coming from your hairdryer example. If u did close the blower side of the hairdryer and for long, the whole motor would blow.... unless u put in something like a BOV... hehehe.. cool idea, BOV for e-supercharger.... :D
But still, the whole concept of e-supercharger is do-able... is there any product like it on the market I wonder?
We just need to control the fan and make it variable according to the engine RPM. Perhaps rely on the firing signal from the spark plugs or even some sort of mechanical switch. Some thing like turbochargers using wastegates to control the boost.