2nd hand VALUE

ZTH

Guys. Could you guys PLEASE list out the brand (or) model of cars in MALAYSIA's market that have STRONG 2nd second hand value.

For all I know :

HONDA
TOYOTA

THANKS !!

is all around the same le.. the 2nd value car that is high ar proton, honda, bmw,merz, toyota and perodua... korean cars have low 2nd value and other contenential car other than merz and bmw... it drop around 10% to 15% per year... depends on the new car price.. example proton new is RM50000 so 2nd year will be around 42000 and lets say bmw new car is around 300000 the 2nd year will be around 275 k around like that ... percentage wise is around the same .. just the amont whether is big or small

please check carefully, proton price drop like no tommorrow some used car dealers refuse to accept local car already,too many in supply while conti car price still maintain their prices most as well as japanese car but the drop of prices won't be as worst as Proton,this is from my recent survey to most local used car dealers.

U can't rely on the guideline of depreciation anymore becos the market rate is fluatuate faster then whatever guideline available. Sellers of used proton car is "throwing price" nowadays due to competition from new car lower price like the recent exercise by Chevrolet of Optra 5 1.8 liter, discount of RM34,000 for a new car, simply crazy!

When we want to calculate or predict used car values, always remember the basic criteria – DEMAND

New cars would be low in demand especially if they are easy to get. Easy to get in a way that

• easier to finance compare to used cars
  • ltille downpayment or even full loan
  • huge discounts to lower its retail price

when new cars are easy to buy, a 1 year old car will lost as much as 20% of its value in its first year.
It does not make much sense why on earth a person wants to sell his car that is less than 1 year old?

Is it becoz

• bored?
  • facing with financial problems? He should know his own financial strength
  • or car involved in major body repair recently?
  • or just an accident but involving death?

Do we really want to buy a newly registered car before knowing its history?

Demand for cars would also be lower if

• the cars are not popular with the community (eg European Ford, American Chevrolet)
  • the cars are known to be problematic with its mechanicals (eg French & Italian cars)
  • cars that many could not afford (Cefiro 3.0 V6, Merc W140 S class)
  • cars that are difficult to finance (used to be 16 years but now anything more than 5 yrs)
  • cars that are high on maintenance and costly repair
  • cars that are not good at all (think Asia Rocsta, Mahindra, Cherry)

one more thing.

if the car is heavily modded, the value will be lower than a standard item. not many people willing to buy a second hand car that

1. had been resprayed with fancy colours
2. had too many modifications at the engine bay. it may look impressive but not necessarily high on the list
3. had mechanical and aesthetic modifications like
a) altered suspension - too low/high
b) holes in the boot after spoiler removal
c) holes in dashboard after meters and gadgets removed
d) non- standard sports bucket seats

ae86 the price is high is because the cost of moding is high
they have to take scrap 86 then rebuild it thats y the car is expensive.
and its not available in malaysia,and have to import it in

if wanna find good second hand value car find those car that is popular,
but its expected that the car value can drop alot for 1st hand buyers,
if buy second hand car the car value wont drop so fast

I thinks it basically if there is alot of that certain car and if it has a high cc, the value drops like hell!

Sorry, mind I ask, if I'm not mistaken, each and every bank have their IMV (internal market value) for each and every detail model (Auto/Manual, different CC, different version).

They have list like (this is just an example).
2001 Proton Wira SE Aeroback 1.5 Auto - RM45,000
2001 Proton Wira SE Aeroback 1.5 Manual - RM40,000
2001 Proton Wira SE Sedan 1.5 Auto - RM45,000
2001 Proton Wira SE Sedan 1.5 Manual - RM40,000

Bank will based on the list above to determine the maximum loan you can borrow (for example, 90% of 2001 Proton Wira SE Sedan 1.5 Auto is RM40,500 max you can get)

if I'm not mistaken, bank don't have the department to go detail survey, but instead buy the pricing list from some rating company. Is that means that the 2nd hand value actually indirectly determine by those rating company and Bank?

i agree with u tohsan.. seriously proton and all that crazy discont really make used car dealer suffer like hell... im dealing in used car actually... when they slash down the proton isware price by 8k... two car of mine i have to sell at cost. no choice... new car drop 2nd have to surely drop.. at the same time loan amount oso drop.. crazy discount.. like perdana drop 15k man... really shit man... those crazy discoutn really kill the market man.. imagine if i drive a perdana and its drop by 15k.. i surely curse proton like hell.. and if they can drop 15k. meaning their car not even worst 50k lo... since they can drop so much

bank will somehow know 1.. if anything happen to the new car... that im not really sure.. but bank will know.. u are true black samurai.... like myvi totaly ahve 7 model.
each model have their own loan amount... like basic spec, to premium spec, and SE spec... thats why sometime u buy a basic spec for myvi 2nd.. u can take a loan of SE... haha bank want2 know onli they wont se.e. thats why.. sometimes u take full loan u can get nearly 5k back... go change player go change sport rim oso can ... hehehehe

haha, yeah...get more money...then can modify also

no matter what car we buy, the value will always drop. at least 10% every year. that's what we call economy.

under AFTA, we need to change our mind set. Toyota and Honda used to enjoy steady used value but now no more.

i had compiled some figures here.

1. Toyota Vios 1.5G NZE41 2004
- asking price 63K
- price new then 85K
- difference = 22K @ 26% lost in 3 years

2. Toyota Camry SXV10 1995
- asking price 22K
- price new then 120K
- difference = 98K @ 82% lost in 12 years

3. Toyota Camry SXV20 2001
- asking price 65K
- price new then 160K
- difference = 95K @ 60% lost in 6 years

4. Toyota Camry ACV30 2.4 2003
- asking price 100K
- new price then 170K
- difference = 70K @ lost in 4 years

5. Toyota Corolla SE-G 1999 (with ABS, twin airbag)
- asking price 40K
- price new then 110K
- difference 70K @ lost in 8 years

6. Toyota Corolla Altis ZZE121 2003
- asking price 76K
- price new then 120K (new price now 110K)
- difference = 44K @ 37% lost in 4 years

7. Honda Civic 1.7 VTi S5A 2001(after SO4 aka EK)
- asking price 60K
- price new then 115K
- difference = 55K @ lost in 6 years

wow, i got a civic...u should have shown me the number...55k in 6 years...crazy

Bmw, Merc...

Another joker with the "Follow the herd" disease. I will sell you my S320 year 2002 which was 800 K when it first came out for 500 K ok ? Because i can only get 200 K for it now market price.

Do your research before you speak.