20v DLi converter

sorry folks...
What is the advantage of DLI over the normal distributor?
I have went thro' autoshop101, got no clues leh.
Stronger spark??? lower noise??? Anyone kind to enlighten me?

Tks :)

leviathan - I think it is 2nd best because the 1st best is COPs + motec :) hahahahahhaah

It's either that or machine distributor relocation RM350

I would not use that because I greedy for COPS + motec :) hahahahha

If change mind as well change kau kau :) hahahahhah

greedy chin :) hahahahah

Originally posted by levin818@Dec 14 2004, 19:40
sorry folks...
What is the advantage of DLI over the normal distributor?
I have went thro' autoshop101, got no clues leh.
Stronger spark??? lower noise??? Anyone kind to enlighten me?

Tks :)
Dli will supply stronger spark then distributor.
one thing u need to understand, Dli coil will shot both 1&4 spark plug together and 2&3 spark plug together no matter which combustion require to spark.

that mean 1st piston now combustion and 4th piston is letting the exhaust gas out but the spark plug both in 1st piston and last still ignite. so u see the different?
:)

Originally posted by leviathan@Dec 14 2004, 23:50
question time again.... 20v ECU can handle DLI system??? :lol:
to everyone

It's not about 20v or 16v or whatever.

an engine is an engine is an engine - there is nothing to it.

an ignition system is an ignition system is an ignition system - there is nothing to it

the very same engine can run on distributor or dual coil = waste sparks or coil over plugs

coil over plugs are now the dominent ignition system found in cars like altis, vios, kelisa, kenari, waja, SR20, etc

their crank + cam angle can be anything also - it can be the distributor itself, or it can be a seperate sensor for crank angle and another cam angle

some times they only run one ......

You can mix and match any combination......

The engine does not have eyes nor does it have ears - it will not know if we are using distributor or wasted sparks or coil over plugs - it also does not know if there is enough fuel or not .... else engines won't blow themselves apart.

The engine is a stupid mechanical device and the fact that it is working is due to all the elements fitting together in a "lucky" manner ..... called engineering know-how.

wah....good explanation..

btw, my mech tested and showed me something tht made me want to get this DLI system...

got one 20V...1st using distributor...we listened to the 4 throttle intake sound...
after tht, my mech mod it to run DLI using gze's ecu as piggy back....guess wat???the throttle sound increased a lot and it was more more more garang....wow~!

and 1 more...using this system frm gze's ecu, u'll need a better spark plug cable...this 20v was still using the stock spark plug and wat happened??? the plug cable head(dunno how to mention it...the 1 tht is plugged into the 4 plug holes) melted....my mech say maybe the ignition is a lot stronger???
but we dont have dyno machine here....so, got more horses?? :unsure: dunno..

The nice thing about this DLI system too is that then you can get rid of the dizzy off the back of the 20V head, which makes it easier to install into a FR config :)

Originally posted by TE27levin@Dec 14 2004, 23:18
one thing u need to understand, Dli coil will shot both 1&4 spark plug together and 2&3 spark plug together no matter which combustion require to spark.

that mean 1st piston now combustion and 4th piston is letting the exhaust gas out but the spark plug both in 1st piston and last still ignite. so u see the different?
The waste spark from DLI will not give any benefit right? Else it should call "Benefit spark" instead :P
And regarding the claim of stronger spark from DLI, we can simply obtain similar spark level by increasing ignition coil's secondary winding of Distributor System right?
So why DLI le?
Why new car now adays no longer using Distributor System?

i found 4agze dli system is similiar to mitsu 4g6x series ignition system... twin coil and sparking 2 piston at once.......... can we use this on toyota engine ??? 1 got 2 this mitsu coil at home frm my previous engine...... think wan to mod to fit into toyota,wonder they will work or not :rolleyes:

Originally posted by SKY999@Dec 16 2004, 17:31
i found 4agze dli system is similiar to mitsu 4g6x series ignition system... twin coil and sparking 2 piston at once.......... can we use this on toyota engine ??? 1 got 2 this mitsu coil at home frm my previous engine...... think wan to mod to fit into toyota,wonder they will work or not :rolleyes:
yes, the principal is the same ....... hence theory will work but ....

ignition map is different so will not be 100% optimised

4AGZE ignition map also not correct for other 4AG, so again not 100% optimum

I don't know why so many people around the world bother to convert GZE ECU - wasting resources.

Levin818 is correct about requiring stronger charge.... stronger coil itself already work !!!!

don't just look at things physically, don't forget about ignition map which is software.

yes ur theory is right..
wondering why ppl can make their car fast by using that setup?
bring ur car and test with one of them, if u win them u can say is waste of time.
but they really can make their car run better and faster with low cost..
when ppl create a cheap and useful thing to mod car dont look at the nagative side, please watch and test how good it can be. if u can do a better one please share but not put all the theory on and end up we need a motec, haltech or wut the tech tech ecu that we not affortable..
i can see most ppl will go over to play type-R B18C B16B and kick all toyota 4ag ass if we got money to buy motec or a higher technology racing n/a engine such as B18C, Vanos....
why not get a n.a 4ag and mod stand alone ecu? since all kampung creation is rubbish..

mechanic was spending their time and test before they use, i had see very good result from that. pls respect and see.
book dont make car fast, if just studying the theory can make car fast i will not start holding tools and learn from those real experience sifus and sit together with them to learn.

Hi Jhonny

please don't take this as a fight OK? we just talk kok sing song share share opinions OK? friendly match ah this .... :)

those are not my theory lah, it's only something I found out. I'm sure you know also ....... it's not about fuel .... it's more about ignition map. Every stock ECU will have different ignition optimization for a particular engine .....

If not then all the toyota share the same ECU liao, no need so many different versions .... right?

allot of people have faster car than me. I play with zul's silvertop LE also loose to him..... what else to say??? He never mod internals, only slightly outside.

there are so many reasons to be faster, not necessary this one.

since there are so many reasons, why not use the theoretically correct one, instead of black magic ?

play with black magic got secret fightback one, are "we" the inexperience people prepare to pay for those consequences? well I've seen some nasty ones, but sometimes also no problem, so I normally only do the safe ones.

If talk about respecting other people's creation. Then where is the respect of the original products creation?

taking GZE ECU to mod is like "X-men" mutation, if the original engineer see it, you think he sad or not?

If the original creator, I think he will be much more sad than other creative people that took his things and play X-men. Right?

It's like the DLI convertor from Australia.... it was not meant to be a power upgrade device. But people here forget about the real reason why it was produced and only think about the power....... why always only think about power ???? and forget the fundamentals ???

book don't make car fast ??? Well this debate will never ends ....... so I'll stop here.

Originally posted by levin818+Dec 16 2004, 15:05 -->
QUOTE (levin818 @ Dec 16 2004, 15:05 )
--QuoteBegin-TE27levin
@Dec 14 2004, 23:18

The waste spark from DLI will not give any benefit right? Else it should call "Benefit spark" instead :P
And regarding the claim of stronger spark from DLI, we can simply obtain similar spark level by increasing ignition coil's secondary winding of Distributor System right?
So why DLI le?
Why new car now adays no longer using Distributor System? [/b][/quote]
engineering wont waste their time and money design waste spark..
i feel there is different when i convert my 7AGTE from distributor to Dli..
now my microtech ecu also require Dli coil, if it waste racing ecu will not need this kind of thing.
:lol:

Originally posted by Acoustic@Dec 17 2004, 10:14
Hi Jhonny

please don't take this as a fight OK? we just talk kok sing song share share opinions OK? friendly match ah this .... :)

those are not my theory lah, it's only something I found out. I'm sure you know also ....... it's not about fuel .... it's more about ignition map. Every stock ECU will have different ignition optimization for a particular engine .....

If not then all the toyota share the same ECU liao, no need so many different versions .... right?

allot of people have faster car than me. I play with zul's silvertop LE also loose to him..... what else to say??? He never mod internals, only slightly outside.

there are so many reasons to be faster, not necessary this one.

since there are so many reasons, why not use the theoretically correct one, instead of black magic ?

play with black magic got secret fightback one, are "we" the inexperience people prepare to pay for those consequences? well I've seen some nasty ones, but sometimes also no problem, so I normally only do the safe ones.

If talk about respecting other people's creation. Then where is the respect of the original products creation?

taking GZE ECU to mod is like "X-men" mutation, if the original engineer see it, you think he sad or not?

If the original creator, I think he will be much more sad than other creative people that took his things and play X-men. Right?

It's like the DLI convertor from Australia.... it was not meant to be a power upgrade device. But people here forget about the real reason why it was produced and only think about the power....... why always only think about power ???? and forget the fundamentals ???

book don't make car fast ??? Well this debate will never ends ....... so I'll stop here.
why all spell my name jhonny? johnny la.. :lol:

i not take this as a fight, i not creating this wut the 2 ecu dli system or using it ..
your word not hurt me but i really see ppl make their car fast by using this setup. ask those kuching guys, if i not mistaken when i working as Borneo drag race car inspector. when i checking the AE86 blacktop there is 2 ecu hanging there, this car run 1st runner up in the race.

i know that not your theory, there is alot of racer secret at the back ground. most of them is off theory. Honda vtec engine was holding the best valve lifting technology in japan but why Toda not respecting them and throw away the system to run vtec killer cams? variable timing theory by honda is perfect.
There is no limit of modification. toyota are happy to see their engine run fast, i dont think they cry because of some one throw his ecu to run microtech, motec, or 20v ecu run with 4agze ecu, SAFC to modify their fuel map or S-ITC to change ignition map...

play with black magic got secret fightback one, are "we" the inexperience people prepare to pay for those consequences?
watch up ur word 'black magic' thats racer secret, u will hurt alot ppl. there is a Sabah 2T-G running nissan ecu with 4 additional direct port injectors and another injector in front of throttle body, this car run 13sec RT+ET.

i didnt say ur car is slow. ur car is nice and fast, i very enjoy sitting in ur car when me in KL. my point there was try comparing stock distributor 20v VS Dli 20v. put both car side by side and test.
pls dun misunderstand friend. when i go kl still bring me go makan angin right?we still friend right? dun just stop.. discussion increase knowledge

so running wasted spark frm 4agze better or running coil over plugs better ?!?! hahhaha .. aiyaaaaaaaaa .... like this must save money buy MSD instead laa .. wahahahhaha

i tot got someone offer MSD 2nd for sale to u ?? hehehehehee ... no wasted spark etc etc ... only maybe waste some $$$ got get those none wasted spark .. huahahahahahaahaa ... :P
anyways ... my car nothing whatsoever .. all stock internals and stock ECU so i cannot fight ... huaaahahahahahaaa ... :P

i must add abit....hehehe

DLI is always better than distributor any time....no more maintenance for DLI coz no moving mechanical thingy like dist..
thats the reason many manufacturer now converting to DLI where dist actually need to do some adjustment or maybe changing the whole cover...

why power????its a bonus actually.bcoz DLI have less step from dist ..

dist=coil>>spark plug wire>>distributor wheel>>distributor carbon(dunno the name,its where the spark plug wire to spark plug)>>>>spark plug wire again>>>>spark plug....

DLI=coil>>>>spark plug wire>>>>>spark plug

COP(coil over plug)=coil>>>>>spark plug

u see the diff?????

Originally posted by yolk@Dec 17 2004, 11:06
so running wasted spark frm 4agze better or running coil over plugs better ?!?! hahhaha .. aiyaaaaaaaaa .... like this must save money buy MSD instead laa .. wahahahhaha
of coz COP is better than DLI n dist............but....hehehhe u know lah.....

so COP is better than DLI but what ar ?!?!?!? ermmm share share laaa

what is COP???

coil over plug........ala u saw it already...remember the sr16ve that bill buy from ipoh........the spark plug got integrated coil.thats the one lar..........