2 Chn or Monoblock for Subs?

Progressive

hey ICE sifus...

i have a Alpine Tpye R Double 2 ohm V.C . I could only wire my sub either at 1 ohm or 4 ohm....

but to get a amp which able to produce stable 1 ohm @ 500w rms is kinda costly for my budget. Most 1 ohm stabe amps are at least above 1k.

the second alternative is to get a 2 chn amp then wired it to 4 ohm.... i.e 2 x 250 @ 2 ohm = 500 @ 4ohm.

Would like to know by ..comparing with these two setup.... which will perform better?

same power output for both setups hence there is no difference.
So you choose based on budget.

my preferences will be having an amp that produce high power at high impedence. Less current means less heat = less heat strain on the amp. So you amp can live longer.

But in real world, i will use Class D mono-amp which is more efficient hence produce less heat and run it at 1 ohm because 2-channel Class A/AB amp is not so efficient hence it is hotter even at 4-ohm.

my suggestion? follow your budget. You will not hear any difference between those two.

My opinion,
i have tried so many 2 channel amps,many brands in my life..........
Recently changed to monoblock.........no 2 chan amp can beat a monoblock....
If u ask me, i have spend so much in changing my 2 chan amps again n again....
could have bought a monoblock straight.....so dont do d same mistake i did.....Go for monoblock straight.....

Just my opinion n experiance

o0o0o so....Monoblock will be the better choice huh..

its hard and expensive to get a monoblock @ 1 ohm....

sigh maybe i have to change my subs to DVC 4ohm...

Anyway..thanks for the valuable advise from you guys...

monoblock class D amp r anytime more sufficient in handling subwoofers

Hey Progressive, i'm running 2x12"s Alpine subs (03 model@300RMS). Back when i only had one sub, i tought ahead and got a 400.1 monoblock. Which is stable at around 200+RMS@4 Ohm and 400+RMS@ 1 Ohm. Ran fine at 4 ohm underpowered.

A monoblock is definately the way to go with subs, but since ur considering budget. Best alternative is to set ur targets on an amp that best suits ur budget (mono or 2/4 chans) and build ur system around it. You might also have to consider selling/exchanging your sub for one that is most compatible with that amp in terms of ohm/resistance and RMS.

Good luck and have fun boomin' :)

Write your reply...