1ohm,2ohm n 4 ohm

vishnnu

Morning,sifus:adore:..............i know i should passed this stage by now,but u know la how...blur at times:biggrin::biggrin:......Made up my mind:idea: to get a piece of Eton Crag 12",which is a 600 watts rms sub with 2ohm + 2ohm thing goin on.I'm currents using an amp which could pump out 250rms at 4ohm,500rms at 2ohm n 1000 rms(stable) at 1ohm.......tried enquiring about the custom enclosure for the sub assuming i'll be driving it at 1ohm but was asked whether i'll be running the sub at 2ohm or 1ohm as the enclosure will be built according to that.......i'm kinda confused now:hmmmm:....Please explain whether does it make any diff,and if i could choose to run either 1ohm or 2 ohm,how should i run it??n enclosures gonna be a sealed one if i'm not mistaken...:itsme:

with 2+2 u can only run it as either 1ohm or 4ohm. very weird for box design asking for ohm. he should ask for your frequency response, or if playing ported box what frequency to target, etc etc. does he have the box design software or not? maybe he just wants to know if youre feeding enough power to the sub or not, then only box size comes to play...

thank you for the reply sifu......so,if it's 2ohm + 2ohm,it's either 1ohm or 4ohm,right??meaning that i'll be driving my sub at 1ohm pumping 1000rms to it......which would be better,sealed or ported??:driver:

I think it depends on what you want. Can try using winISD to plot your response in both enclosure and choose the one that looks like what you want (boost at certain freq or just really flat response). but, you must have the T/S parameters (spec sheet) of the sub with you while entering the info.
good luck.

tententen.......u got me there.....explain in english....hehehe,sorry....didn't understand the term u used....winISD??what's that?kinda interesting......story la...:listen:

winISD is a software that can be used to simulate your speaker (sub) frequency response in a particular box/enclosure.

After you key in the T/S parameters, the software will suggest a box size that will put out a flat response. You can choose box type also (Sealed, vented, bandpass). After the graph is plotted, you can 'toy' around with the box size to see how does that effect the response. For vented enclosure case, you can even change the port diameter or port tuning frequency (to see the response).

based on the parameter also, the software will calculate a value called EBP (I think). This value will be able to give estimation on whether the sub is suitable for sealed or vented box. download the SW (free or trial) and try it out. You'll learn better through hands on :)

This would give you a certain idea what is the best box for your particular sub based on the spec sheet. Do remember that sometimes, the spec sheet can be off be a minor % :P

there are also other similar software around. I only tried winISD :)

wahhh!!!.........i learned sumthing new d:adore::adore::adore:.....now i can boast abit:biggrin:.......well,since it's some programme,i assume i could get it from say,low yat....those pirate cd dudes.....no offence la,belum cukup kaya mau beli ori cd la....hmmm,okay...i shall try it out......but what did u mean by "hands on"??:hmmmm:am i supposed to get it built myself??

no la. I meant, 'hands on' on the software. so you'll understand how it works. rather than I explained in the forum :)
no need to go until low yat la... download it here :)

http://www.linearteam.dk/

have fun

sealed box is easiest and simplest for SQ, less headache, linear response, no suprises......just important that box is strong, rigid and airtight...

want the box better? buy sound prooving and install inside of the box~! :itsme::itsme:
cheap one shall gv u some improvement already.
weh i try the softwere ed. totally dont understand or to operate it~! hahahhahaha no class for learning ka? i prefer 1 to 1 lesson rather then reading manual~! but no time~ ewakkakakaka ive been too demanding here~! ;p:P:sleep::sleep::sleep:

as my knowledge remember, sealed is way better for SQ but even tiny mistake in calculation, setup will kau kau went off hahahahah. dats y i play ported only

wait wait, which one is ported which one is sealed eh? forgot the term ed.
ported = with holes
sealed = no holes
wait i check first... lol

guess my memory still rite about ported and sealed box. hahha
anyway, this site kinda good to read
http://www.klausaudio.com/subwoofer-box-articles/sealed-vs.-ported.php

howie's getting it done for me...sealed one......just need to go back to KL to get it installed..

wait!wait!.....ayam coming soon......i'll let u know the day i'm off to KL....then u dropby la to listen to my powderful boom boom:rofl::rofl::rofl:...using only cheap stuff la,sure wanna audit.....make sure u don't comment like Topgear la(by smashing up everything which u find not up to par)....:rofl::rofl::rofl: