180kmh Speed Limiter

Cannonfodder

Just wanted to ask those of you who've removed your speed limiters, are you guys still using your stock speedo or have you changed to an aftermarket speedo?

I'm asking cos I don't have the speed limit anymore but I do still have the 180kph speedometer and once I go past 180, the needle will keep on going past that. I haven't taken it very much past 180+ because the needle looks like it will hit the odometer reset button and I'm worried that pushing the needle against it might damage the speedometer.

Also, is the speedometer mechanical or electronic?

Cannon,
I have Defi VSD, RSM and also my PFC FC Commander to show the speed beyond 180km. I've tried to reach 235km/h and the speedo needle is ok..just stayed at the bottom lor.

It won't break coz I believe it doesn'ts runs on spring mechanism like the normal speedo does.

It would be cool to rebuild the entire meter console with aftermarket like Defi or Autometer.

B18C-R,

Haha! That's good news, cos I was afraid the needle might just pop off if it hits the reset.

acbc,

Yeah, that would be really cool. Sparco have an integrated panel that shows rev, boost, fuel/oil pressure, water/oil temperature, and EGT. But you'll still need a separate speedo and fuel gauge.

Check out Sard ST800 n de latest Defi integrated panel too!!! But i think de pricing wil b killing!!! :_: If am not wrong it cost RM6000+.... LoLzzzzz...

The sard RD1 or STACK meter would be the best la !!! I think retails ard 4-5K in SS racing.

Personally I prefer the STACK meter.

http://www.prostreetonline.com/store/gauges/stack_gauges/

wanna know, if we replace the original meter panel with custom one, is it legal? coz im thinking of doing so...

K_takuya,
Actually is considered illegal to tampered with the speedometer. Unless it's a OEM replacement.

But then, end of day..Legal or illegal, is really up to the mood of JPJ la..

Maresia Boreh ma !

Myself bought 7 VR4 meter for experiment purposes. So far, I've converted all d pesky bulbs to LEDs and reroute all the unused warning circuits for other purposes - shift light for example.

Still experimenting so I broke a few meters already (trying to get rid of the pesky 'ting' 'ting' sound above 110kph.