120Y Old School

wah...steering arm how much? i tot only tyre unbalanced ler...haha...yeah goin do it vy soon..maybe tmr o smth. next week is busy week d.

my car running with 4 dead absorbers for years already..lol..

btw, my carb no autochoke...no manual choke also. yes mixture too rich...sometimes not enough power time u hear metal pinging/knocking sound...not right timing already. easy start but when engine cold time car will hiccough for a while..nid to properly warm up for like few mins b4 it goes smoothly

ooh...
mine got autochoke

that day i fustrated.. so i open up everything
then i trace the wire, only notice it is NOT CONNECTED!! :o :o

wow.. really...
so all the while the autochoke is operated by engine temperatur.. not the electric things

so now i disable the whole thing already..

sam...so ur a15 comes from a newer vannette eh...so got autochoke la...how abt electric fan? got?

hehehe...
actually.. i dono what 'version' of C20 vanette lor..
but from surat kastam the engine is from japan one.. :)
and the mech told me is year 90 something one lor...

but honestly no need choke lar..
i no choke also can start every morning

the secret is to squeeze the accelerator 1 or 2 times to the bottom before start...
cause the carb got 'accelerator pump' will squeeze some petrol to the throat when press to finish
so like this lor.. utilize that
i never have problem starting the engine without choke

abubu said:
wah...steering arm how much? i tot only tyre unbalanced ler...haha...yeah goin do it vy soon..maybe tmr o smth. next week is busy week d.

my car running with 4 dead absorbers for years already..lol..

haha last time my absorber dead also no prob :X-: may be your tires also u nvr know :_:

abubu said:
btw, my carb no autochoke...no manual choke also. yes mixture too rich...sometimes not enough power time u hear metal pinging/knocking sound...not right timing already. easy start but when engine cold time car will hiccough for a while..nid to properly warm up for like few mins b4 it goes smoothly

same as mine I remove the choke but I tune my carb rich :regular_smile:

sam1741 said:
the secret is to squeeze the accelerator 1 or 2 times to the bottom before start...
cause the carb got 'accelerator pump' will squeeze some petrol to the throat when press to finish so like this lor.. utilize that i never have problem starting the engine without choke

haha same as me all the time I did that one kick kau tim :_: unless my spark plug already due time to change :X-:

hahaha.. warm day no kick also can.. :D
but me usually kick 2 times lor.. :D biasa already..

hum..jus send my car to mech...change engine oil, change oil filter..clean air filter...mech put a brand new nissan genuine oil filter..from ouside excately like the 1 he oso put inside a new sentra next to mine..lolx...my car rasa new...wahaha..

told him about my engine pinging problem...he retuned it...walla...its gone...he told me he lower down the idle speed, by adjusting the distributor there. wah suddenly car damn power...:_: he brought me for a test drive and charged rm68...expensive o not? haha...ask me come bek retune if not satisfied.

and btw, jus changed tyres too...1 pair dunlop sp70i 175/70/12...rm100 each tyre...plus alignment and balancing rm230...expensive o not ar?

hahaha..
always not expensive lar..
if got good workmanship, and
he fix your problem.. totally worth it

but how?.. how to lower the idle ... near distributor??
adjust timing? or adjust carb ar? but carb and distributor on different side one... dono lar..
must share with us the secret.. :D :D

btw.. abubu bro.. u also write in other forum? :D saw u there

actually i also dont really know where he adjust....he didnt use any timing light or sort...din touch the carb at all too...hum....jus put 2 hands in ...twist the distributor here n there...then walla...he bring me for test drive and tried 5th gear at 20kmh...lolx...no sound then ok d...

oh. adjust timing at distributor...
but how can he do that without any tools.. and got marking to follow? so he advance it or late it ? :D

sam1741 said:
oh. adjust timing at distributor...
but how can he do that without any tools.. and got marking to follow? so he advance it or late it ? :D

that is what is known as skill hahaha :X-:

proper tuning needs timing gun to get the most accurate reading :_:

that what is call... experience.. :D :D :D
==============

anyway.. words of advice to all
that wan to convert engine.. :( :( :(

best engine for 120y, go for A14~!
dun go for A15,

i in a lot of trouble now..
cause A15 is 1488cc and A12 is 1171cc.. just slightly more than 25%.. which JPJ wont approve

beside.. A14... better fuel economy compare to A15,
better performance (A14 from a coupe? A15 from a van)
and other many advantages

i am so regret now

sam1741 said:
that what is call... experience.. :D :D :D
==============

anyway.. words of advice to all
that wan to convert engine.. :( :( :(

best engine for 120y, go for A14~!
dun go for A15,

i in a lot of trouble now..
cause A15 is 1488cc and A12 is 1171cc.. just slightly more than 25%.. which JPJ wont approve

beside.. A14... better fuel economy compare to A15,
better performance (A14 from a coupe? A15 from a van)
and other many advantages

i am so regret now

sam sorry after reading this thread can I presume u failed to obtain your JPJ approval :confused_smile:

yalo..
so damn fustrated...
just a bit only also cannot let me go

why nissan dun wan to make cun cun 1200cc and 1500cc...
if they make like that sure can pass lar..

waste my money n time n everything only

plus now old engine gone somemore...

dono what happened to me lar

sam1741 said:
yalo..
so damn fustrated...
just a bit only also cannot let me go

why nissan dun wan to make cun cun 1200cc and 1500cc...
if they make like that sure can pass lar..

waste my money n time n everything only

plus now old engine gone somemore...

dono what happened to me lar

sorry to hear that, well discuss with your mech as to get it approve :X-:

sigh.. now stuck in the middle and i am broke

anyone wan to exchange their A12 to me i giv them my A15 engine.. free lar..
got extra gift somemore

he lower it la...after lower car less jerky in mornings...but abit jerky when engine is heated up. havent really tried yet..havent been driviing my car much...lolx...jus follow my housemate car most of the time. most evident thing is the pickup power on the 1st till 3rd gear greatly improved...im very impressed.

actually like what ive mentioned earlier...the last of b310 did came with 1.3 AND 1.5 models but its in JDM market...refer to my previous posts when i did put up a scanned JDM version of the 1981 B310 brochure that only comes with 1.3 and 1.5 cc models. sedan, coupe or stationwagon, u name it...all avalible in 1.3 and 1.5. i wonder why it cannot pass since it DOES come with 1.5 cc in the SAME CAR but just not on sale in our local market.

b4 i overhauled my car...i had the option to choose between swapping to a14 or a15 or jus maintain the old a12. after much asking around the best option was to find a a14...which is ...super RARE....near extinction already. a15 not recomended by most mech because it cant pass jpj...unless u simply declare the car is 1.3 or 1.4 instead of 1.5 like some ppl i heard off. walla...they manage to get thru it...

haih.. fustrated lor...
just more 2cc (0.002litre) only.. also cannot let me through.....
just 2cc more than 25% only mar...

now dono how lar... haih... can i told puspakom or jpj place say other place got datsun 150y one or not?