HKS GT supercharger

ysl

Plan to get rid of my HKS Supercharger soon, but can't make up my mind, opinion from all Z owner needed.

Reason: FIA rules says that car with supercharger or turbo should multiply 1.7 to the engine displacement. 3500cc x 1.7 become 5950cc. If I would enter a race, my car falls into no category.:mad:

Ermm....Which Supercharger will be better?HKS or Greddy?Just asking for opinion...^^...

what is the max speed the supercharger will kick your car? :hmmmm:

Easily 60rwhp gained and 250km/h at 6th gear at 5500rpm. But MAKE SURE you have good tire, wheel and brake to support this speed.

I think HKS SC is good because it maintain it original AF ratio at 14.xx when engine rev below 3700rpm, AF ratio change to 12.xx after 3700rpm, the best thing is everything is bolt on, no grind and drill happen in the whole process.

3700rpm is about 160km/h at 6th gear, so that still can maintain your fuel economy in normal highway driving.

Dun forget to have your catalytic converter removed and replace your stock exhaust manifold to after market header, if possible change to dual pipe exhaust system. After you got your performance, buy me a cup of TT.

ysl, what race you want to participate la with your Z? unless you are stripping the car and adding a roll-cage to enter MSS or MME then don't think you need to sell your HKS supercharger.

I mean time attack actually. Eying on MME actually, I was there last week and witness the burn of the lotus. I think Z can fit into Sport Production Group but I believe my car will be next to burn if I maintain the SC in the race.

SC is perfect for street racing and trackday but not for endurance i think...never heard any SC in the race yet.

Am I right?

I mean time attack actually. Eying on MME actually, I was there last week and witness the burn of the lotus. I think Z can fit into Sport Production Group but I believe my car will be next to burn if I maintain the SC in the race.

SC is perfect for street racing and trackday but not for endurance i think...never heard any SC in the race yet.

Am I right?

very true... turbo/SC cars normally don't do well in endurance races especially in this hot weather. I've seen EVOs try and fail. Subaru tend to be better.

But for MME best you remove the SC and enter the sport production group. I think it'll be a popular to use for racing, and the cost is getting lower to own one.

Easily 60rwhp gained and 250km/h at 6th gear at 5500rpm. But MAKE SURE you have good tire, wheel and brake to support this speed.

I think HKS SC is good because it maintain it original AF ratio at 14.xx when engine rev below 3700rpm, AF ratio change to 12.xx after 3700rpm, the best thing is everything is bolt on, no grind and drill happen in the whole process.

3700rpm is about 160km/h at 6th gear, so that still can maintain your fuel economy in normal highway driving.

Dun forget to have your catalytic converter removed and replace your stock exhaust manifold to after market header, if possible change to dual pipe exhaust system. After you got your performance, buy me a cup of TT.

Air fuel ratio is maintained by the HKS SC? How does that work? Shouldn't the AF be around 14.7 at idle and changes the harder you push? So your AF ratio stays at 12.xx after 3700rpm and just stays there?

I've never heard of a SC kit maintaining your AF ratio but then again, my 350z did not have that many modifications. How do you monitor your AF ratio anyways? Being a V6 engine do you guys run twin Lambda sensors?

[PIMPIN];4505956 said:
Air fuel ratio is maintained by the HKS SC? How does that work? Shouldn't the AF be around 14.7 at idle and changes the harder you push? So your AF ratio stays at 12.xx after 3700rpm and just stays there?

I've never heard of a SC kit maintaining your AF ratio but then again, my 350z did not have that many modifications. How do you monitor your AF ratio anyways? Being a V6 engine do you guys run twin Lambda sensors?

SC kit comes with preprogrammed FConSZ, i suppose Fcon control the AFR with engine "safety" in mind, at lower RPM it is safe to keep the mixture at stoichiometry. I suppose you know lower AFR is safer to modified engine, but least economy. Tuner normally dare not take risk therefore they adjust your APR lower, but this japanese product have promise the fuel economy in its product intro. Like you, I was wonder how the fuel economy can happen after supercharged until i observe this issue.

You can get real time AF reading from ECU and there are many tools in market able to read ECU. I use DashDyno scan tool and BTOBDkey. Dynorun result at any shop can produce the same results.

If you want to know deeper about it, you have to contact my tuner, Kenny Lee (Kegani Autotech) 012-6646177.

I attached 1 of my dyno result for your perusal. Bold line is after HKS SC.

• dynoR3.jpg
    dynoR3.jpg
    91.9 KB · Views: 221
great improvement btw....

err..touge time attack or gymkhana no problem i think...but mme sure u need another car for daily use..since it wont be road legal anymore when u installing FIA spec. rollcage... :adore:

great improvement btw....

err..touge time attack or gymkhana no problem i think...but mme sure u need another car for daily use..since it wont be road legal anymore when u installing FIA spec. rollcage... :adore:

No gymkhana in Malaysia i think.

got....but in smaller scale...

now got new organizer in melaka trying to organize weekly even for charity....shud be good to try...the organizer itself participate in malaysia,singapore and thai gymkhana....

but sorry..no ctc no. provided.. :adore:

SC kit comes with preprogrammed FConSZ, i suppose Fcon control the AFR with engine "safety" in mind, at lower RPM it is safe to keep the mixture at stoichiometry. I suppose you know lower AFR is safer to modified engine, but least economy. Tuner normally dare not take risk therefore they adjust your APR lower, but this japanese product have promise the fuel economy in its product intro. Like you, I was wonder how the fuel economy can happen after supercharged until i observe this issue.

You can get real time AF reading from ECU and there are many tools in market able to read ECU. I use DashDyno scan tool and BTOBDkey. Dynorun result at any shop can produce the same results.

If you want to know deeper about it, you have to contact my tuner, Kenny Lee (Kegani Autotech) 012-6646177.

I attached 1 of my dyno result for your perusal. Bold line is after HKS SC.

I'm sorry if my question somehow offended you or gave off the wrong impression. I don't doubt that you have obviously spent a lot of time and money on your car compared to my 350z which had basic mods.

I was simply asking how the HKS SC could ever control AFRs since your initial post did not mention the F-Con. I'll admit to not having any experience with the F-Con SZ but I have used the F-Con iS but my STI and I was happy with the results it produced. But to the best of my knowledge, the F-Con iS did not support wideband sensors. Does the DashDyno perform this function?

Currently, I run a PowerFC DJetro in my GTR and even the PowerFC cannot read the signals from a wideband sensor so I use a Dynojet Wideband Commander to monitor my AFRs. So I do understand what you were talking about and thanks for sharing. I just was puzzled by the HKS SC being able to control AFRs.

Good to see that some people are exploring the potential of the 350z; I sold mine because I've been an RB man for 8-9 years and I felt more comfortable modifying RB engines. Unfortunately, my junior in high school is probably the most infamous 350z owner in Msia (you know the one - 2JZ in 350z, such sacrilege).

See you guys at the 370z test drive! :driver:

[PIMPIN];4506733 said:
I'm sorry if my question somehow offended you or gave off the wrong impression. I don't doubt that you have obviously spent a lot of time and money on your car compared to my 350z which had basic mods.

I was simply asking how the HKS SC could ever control AFRs since your initial post did not mention the F-Con. I'll admit to not having any experience with the F-Con SZ but I have used the F-Con iS but my STI and I was happy with the results it produced. But to the best of my knowledge, the F-Con iS did not support wideband sensors. Does the DashDyno perform this function?

Currently, I run a PowerFC DJetro in my GTR and even the PowerFC cannot read the signals from a wideband sensor so I use a Dynojet Wideband Commander to monitor my AFRs. So I do understand what you were talking about and thanks for sharing. I just was puzzled by the HKS SC being able to control AFRs.

Good to see that some people are exploring the potential of the 350z; I sold mine because I've been an RB man for 8-9 years and I felt more comfortable modifying RB engines. Unfortunately, my junior in high school is probably the most infamous 350z owner in Msia (you know the one - 2JZ in 350z, such sacrilege).

See you guys at the 370z test drive! :driver:

Hey, no offense at all. From your 1st post i knew you are knowledgeable, therefore I reply in more serious and technical manner.

Am not comparing at all, i mod for the sake of better laptime.

Sorry if i've replied wrongly.:adore:

No need to apologize. It's just a very minor misunderstanding since words can be interpreted in various ways. Plus, I'm sure you've seen how hostile and defensive people can get on ZTH. You'd be pleased to know that quite a few Skyline guys are interested in the 370Z especially me. Age is catching up and the 370Z can be used both daily and also be fun at the same time. The GTR I drive maybe 5000kms a year MAX so that's why I've been spying on you guys here in case I end up crossing over :driver:

[PIMPIN];4506752 said:
No need to apologize. It's just a very minor misunderstanding since words can be interpreted in various ways. Plus, I'm sure you've seen how hostile and defensive people can get on ZTH. You'd be pleased to know that quite a few Skyline guys are interested in the 370Z especially me. Age is catching up and the 370Z can be used both daily and also be fun at the same time. The GTR I drive maybe 5000kms a year MAX so that's why I've been spying on you guys here in case I end up crossing over :driver:

I haven't tried any GTR. Yours 35?

Mine is an R34 GTR V-Spec II. Can't justify the price and maintenance of the R35 at the moment. Don't think I'd ever buy one to be honest. I might as well buy an M5 which is also fast without the boy racer main kereta image. Plus I've just about done the whole range: RB20, RB25, RB26 and RB28.

Not that I'm looking to buy either of them but if I'm going to spend that much, I'd rather get a Continental car since all my previous cars have been Japanese cars.

---------- Post added at 12:43 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:17 AM ----------

Mine is an R34 GTR V-Spec II. Can't justify the price and maintenance of the R35 at the moment. Don't think I'd ever buy one to be honest. I might as well buy an M5 which is also fast without the boy racer main kereta image. Plus I've just about done the whole range: RB20, RB25, RB26 and RB28.

Not that I'm looking to buy either of them but if I'm going to spend that much, I'd rather get a Continental car since all my previous cars have been Japanese cars.