ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

yes bro, i'm very fussy when it comes to all these things... I saw and loved the 3s dashboard, but it's to rounded for our corona.. That's y the extra headache for the mechanic

Hi I'm new here I'm from Peru, I have a 1987 Toyota Corona st150, I would like to know more about my car, I see that you will change your engine for a more powerful engine, for example a black top 4AGE motor, or engine beams 3sec.
Hopefully you can put me, sorry but my English is not very good.

Regards

Ricardo Ramirez

Hi I'm new here I'm from Peru, I have a 1987 Toyota Corona st150, I would like to know more about my car, I see that you will change your engine for a more powerful engine, for example a black top 4AGE motor, or engine beams 3sec.
Hopefully you can put me, sorry but my English is not very good.

Regards

Ricardo Ramirez

hi ricardo

---------- Post added at 12:55 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:50 PM ----------

yes bro, i'm very fussy when it comes to all these things... I saw and loved the 3s dashboard, but it's to rounded for our corona.. That's y the extra headache for the mechanic

oh i see. i think that 3s dashboard can fix to our corona.

hi ricardo, welcome welcome... well if ur using the st150 1.8 1s engine, u can choose from the 3sge, 3sgte, 3sge beams... but if u have the at151 1.6 4a engine, u could put in the 4age, 4agze, black top and silver top... this would be easier coz u don't need to change much of ur engine mounting....

thanks for the welcome, Well I do not know if my car is or st150 at151 but my car has a 3A engine (1500cc), I would like to know what the gear box you have and if I change the black top 4AGE motor is proved necessary that also will change the gearbox.
I have some photos of my car.
I comment that I am here in Peru by 80 motors club.
Regards
Ricardo

• DSC09353.JPG
    DSC09353.JPG
    138.9 KB · Views: 142
  • DSC09341.JPG
    DSC09341.JPG
    139.5 KB · Views: 145
Hi Ricardo,
If your car has a 3A engine then it should be Corona AT151. Gearbox, I suppose you wouldn't need to change it if you dump in a 4AGE motor but you may not be enjoying the best gear ratios then. It really depends on the original gearbox in your car. Nice JDM headlamps by the way :D

Jaist150: Hello Jai =) I think the main reason my car is taking so long is that MY FOREMAN IS NOT FOCUSING ON MY CAR. He probably layan other cars that come to his workshop, and works on my car only when he is free. Besides, I don't think he is the main person working on my car.. I suspect most of the work is done by one of his workers :( Anyway, how's your Corona BT?
Selamat Berpuasa by the way bro =)

Bro Shan: Yeah, I totally second the "damn the pain we go through for the love of our cars" :biggrin: Didn't some wise man say.. "To love is to be prepared to get hurt"? Haha.. I'm talking nonsense here.. Quite angry now because instead of getting my car tmr, I don't know how long more I will have to wait for my car, just because of some carelessness in a simple job of installing a speed sensor causing some plastic or rubber thing to be trapped in the gearbox. ARGH!!!

.. Quite angry now because instead of getting my car tmr, I don't know how long more I will have to wait for my car, just because of some carelessness in a simple job of installing a speed sensor causing some plastic or rubber thing to be trapped in the gearbox. ARGH!!!

Wow bro... that sucks!
Anyways, just keep it cool orite bro... no point rushing now since the car is almost done. Better take it easy and check the car thoroughly before your foreman hands over the keys to you.

Yeah bro.. Really really disappointed with what's happening =(
I was concerned that whatever thing that entered the gearbox would damage it, especially the infamously fragile C160.. But the few people that I've asked all say that if the thing is made of plastic, chances are that my gearbox shouldn't be harmed.. Praying hard now that that's the case:adore:

thanks for the welcome, Well I do not know if my car is or st150 at151 but my car has a 3A engine (1500cc), I would like to know what the gear box you have and if I change the black top 4AGE motor is proved necessary that also will change the gearbox.
I have some photos of my car.
I comment that I am here in Peru by 80 motors club.
Regards
Ricardo

well bro, it's pretty hard to say if the gearbox can mate with ur new engine conversion, sumtimes, the starter motor won't fit or sumthin else like a few bolts won't be able to fit... so the best would be to buy the full works(engine, dashboard, gearbox, wiring ) and radiator! that would be the easiest and safest option!

rage: wow! lucky thing u found out bout the speed sensor... plastic or not, only the gear oil should be free moving in there if u ask me...i wouldn't take that risk!... imagine cruising around 160km'h and sumthing getting caught in the middle of the gears!

pcmod: u got that rite! patients is what it's all about... but in my case...i am just :stupid:asking the mod the dashboard... where did i get that idea from:mad:

Jaist150: Hello Jai =) I think the main reason my car is taking so long is that MY FOREMAN IS NOT FOCUSING ON MY CAR. He probably layan other cars that come to his workshop, and works on my car only when he is free. Besides, I don't think he is the main person working on my car.. I suspect most of the work is done by one of his workers :( Anyway, how's your Corona BT?
Selamat Berpuasa by the way bro =)

thanks bro. i just use the car for sight-seeing and for leisure only. mostly on weekend. engine condition is not very good.

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/107_0768.jpg
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/107_0769.jpg

Hi, guys. Wassup ?

First of all, I would like to apologise to Shan for introducing my mechanic to him & dragging the project for soooooo looooooooong. I just don't know what to say but sorry, bro.:adore:

Hi to Ricardo from Peru :wavey: Nice of you to join our Corona nuts here.

---------- Post added at 09:33 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:27 PM ----------

Posted up the photo to give Ricardo an idea of what you can actually transform your Corona into :biggrin:.

---------- Post added at 09:42 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:33 PM ----------

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/blueorange.jpg

---------- Post added at 09:47 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:42 PM ----------

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/103_0314.jpg
http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/103_0315.jpg

More ideas...2ZZ in a AE92 "Hamburger".

---------- Post added at 10:08 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:47 PM ----------

or you can stuff in a 3S-GTE from the Celica ST185 like this one..

http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/103_0312.jpg

Bro Shan: Yea, that's what I was sooo worried about too.. But it seems that everything is alright.:hmmmm: Whatever it is that fell inside has been removed already.. Sorry for asking, but.. How 'bout your car, bro? Any closer to completion?

Mr Yau: Wow.. Gone missing for a while then now back with a bang eh?:biggrin: Really love the 2 photos of your BEAMS in the warehouse! Gives her a mysterious, "I'm a silent killa', don't mess with me" type of look..:love: If I may, it's like choosing your ride from the warehouse in NFS!:biggrin:

My car should, and I emphasize, should be out of the workshop tmr. Then it's me driving it and hopefully not having anymore problems popping out..:mad:

Bro Shan: Yea, that's what I was sooo worried about too.. But it seems that everything is alright. Whatever it is that fell inside has been removed already.. Sorry for asking, but.. How 'bout your car, bro? Any closer to completion?/QUOTE]

Dey, RR. Don't la add salt :nurse:to his wound. You want me to kena curse from Shan ar ?:hmpf:

Mr Yau: Wow.. Gone missing for a while then now back with a bang eh? Really love the 2 photos of your BEAMS in the warehouse! Gives her a mysterious, "I'm a silent killa', don't mess with me" type of look.. If I may, it's like choosing your ride from the warehouse in NFS!/QUOTE]

Ya lor, must add some fuel to this thread mar. If not, the fire will die off already. Just look at Shan, he also seldom log in coz his car still stranded in the workshop. Just like yr case; NOT everything will go as plan, my young friend. Patience is a virtue. It'll add more "excitement" to yr waiting...:flute:

woah~~~

2ZZ inside AE92.../QUOTE]

Blank,

this is actually an old photo; taken quite a few yrs back. So it's not really something new. We Toyota owners are actually quite an innovative breed but then again, they also stuff a K20 iVtec into a Satria already. Friend showed his photo a few days ago.:biggrin:

mr yau: what an entrance! u're coming back with a bang!:congrats: and don't say sorry! u did advise me on everything b4 hand...i wanted to carry on with it...so i'll just chill with saving petrol driving my brothers satria! :beer: p.s i still log on a lot! just that my phone can't write long replies, so must wait to go home....

ricardo: if there's anything u need to learn bout the corona's 2old 2rusty is the king of coronas this part of the world... i dare say that not even the Japanese would be as daring and "to think outside of the box" as this guy.... and this being a jap car afterall...:adore:

rr: i'll just have to wait i guess... well at least u can drive me down to sitiawan soon i bet!:rofl:

[QUOTE = 2 2 Old Rusty ; 4435811 ] [ IMG ] http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/107_0768.jpg [/ IMG ]
[ IMG ] http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/107_0769.jpg [/ IMG ]

Hola , chicos. Wassup ?

En primer lugar , me gustaría pedir disculpas a Shan para la introducción de mi mecánico y arrastrando con él el proyecto de looooooooong soooooo . Yo no sé qué decir, pero lo siento , hermano. : adorar :

Hola a Ricardo de Perú: Wavey : Es usted muy amable para unirse a nuestro tuercas Corona aquí. [COLOR = "Silver "]

[SIZE = 1 ]---------- Post añadido a 21:33 ---------- 6 horas límite de anti- golpe - la entrada anterior estaba en 21:27 --- -------[/ size]

[/ COLOR ] Publicado por la foto para dar una idea de Ricardo lo que realmente puede transformar su Corona a: biggrin : . [COLOR = "Silver "]

[SIZE = 1 ]---------- Post añadido a 21:42 ---------- 6 horas límite de anti- golpe - la entrada anterior era a las 09:33 pm --- -------[/ size]

[ / color] [ IMG ] http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/blueorange.jpg [/ IMG ] [COLOR = "Silver "]

[SIZE = 1 ]---------- Post añadido a 21:47 ---------- 6 horas límite de anti- golpe - la entrada anterior estaba en 21:42 --- -------[/ size]

[ / color] [ IMG ] http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/103_0314.jpg [/ IMG ]
[ IMG ] http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/103_0315.jpg [/ IMG ]

Más ideas ... 2ZZ en un AE92 "Hamburger " . [COLOR = "Silver "]

[SIZE = 1 ]---------- Post añadido a las 10:08 pm hora límite de ---------- 6 anti - golpe - la entrada anterior estaba en 21:47 --- -------[/ size]

[/ COLOR ], o usted puede rellenar en un 3S -GTE de la ST185 Celica como este ..

[ IMG ] http://i182.photobucket.com/albums/x299/2Old2Rusty/103_0312.jpg [/ IMG] [ / quote ]

Old Rusty Thanks for putting the pictures on your ST150.
ST150 which is best seen yet and if you have more pictures please place them to give me a better idea of what I can do to my car.
The ST150 engine has blue rings and even have to ring as I see are not 13 and I have disc brakes on all 4 wheels.

Regards
Ricardo

sifu yaw... corona sape warna biru tu?

Hi Jai,

Keta member nye tapi dia dah jual & sekarang pakai MR2 kat OZ.

Old Rusty Thanks for putting the pictures on your ST150.
ST150 which is best seen yet and if you have more pictures please place them to give me a better idea of what I can do to my car.
The ST150 engine has blue rings and even have to ring as I see are not 13 and I have disc brakes on all 4 wheels.

Regards
Ricardo/QUOTE]

Hi Ricardo,
Glad you liked it & thanks for the kind compliments on my rusty bucket. Will post up more photos for you later.

Maybe you click on this link: http://www.toyotanation.com/forum/showpost.php?p=2148140&postcount=5 to see my 2 Corona.

Feel free to share any views, suggestions, knowledge or even tips on the Corona in this thread. Ask if you have some questions, maybe we'll be able to help out. We're all here to share, that's why I started this thread.:biggrin:

Bro Shan: Well, the car is really a pain to drive now, really really sluggish and hardly any improvement on the previous 4A-C at low ends, maybe even worse!:bawling: Only diff now is that I can rev all the way up to 8000rpm now (4A-C was already screaming like a chicken being slaughtered at 5-6k) although it takes time to do so. On this current drivability.. I can't even bear to drive to Sunway, what more Sitiawan!:bawling: Btw, abt my msg this morning, it wasn't the absorbers, it was the brakes.. Hand brake cable tugging causing unwanted slight rear wheel braking on uneven road surfaces..

Mr. Yau: Yeah, I agree about the adding fuel to this thread part.. Like this now, with you back, with bro Shan being more active, with Jai back, and with me here (hehe I tak tau malu :reddy:) then only fun mar!:biggrin: About the "excitement", though..:hmmmm::hmmmm2: Hehe, Mr. Yau, you waited 4 months for your BEAMS, so you should know lor..:flute:

Anyway, just to let you guys know, I got my Corona back yesterday, after 3 long, long months.. Even though it's a BT 6 speed, drivability is very poor now:slug: Went over to DAWS right after collecting my car (and paying my grandma a short visit), Danny was kind enough to take a look at my car.. His first comment was that it's very (in fact, unusually) sluggish, revs up very slowly.. He suspects that it's due to the restrictive stock exhaust of the Corona, and that things should be much better after changing the exhaust and maybe the headers. Hung out at Danny's workshop after that till 8, test drove Ivan's SEG during that time, the difference was so evident that the only thing I could say when I got out of his car was "What the :thefinger:.. So much difference.." I would be so happy if my car was even half that pleasant to drive right now!:banghead:

Car's back in the workshop now to settle some niggling rear brake issues, should (and again I emphasize SHOULD) be getting it back tmr..

Anyway, big shoutout and thanks to Ivan, Danny, Tommy and Davy (sorry if I spelled your name wrongly) for the hospitality yesterday, to Ivan for letting me test drive your car and for treating me to the drinks, and to Danny for checking out my car! Not sure whether you guys are going to read this, but Thanks a lot, I really really appreciate it!:biggrin::biggrin::adore::adore:

not bad rage, u got to go to daws for ur car check up... well on the rear disc brake, well if i'm not mistaken, the cable will be from the donor car, so i think that the setting will be to tght or loose, i forgot which one...but it will happen... well, u have to also remember that ur car is still heavier that the seg.. so it will be less responsive but funny, 2o2r's auto bt didn't seem that way... maybe the rear brake is the issue also with the exhaust... but anyway... congrats!!!