New Altis

ExceL

Currently own a ae92 with BT..but considering purchasing the new model Altis (1.6).

Any comments on this car?

try get the 1.8 model if can afford,1.6 really erm...cant feel the kick and FC wise...not that much of a diff compare to 1.8,depend on ur foot....

get 1.8 better, more additional things. You won't regret.

yup 1.8 better power......... might be selling my 08 new model altis 1.8G full package include original bodykit for a mpv

details, please:proud:

Altho I read some pretty disappointing thins on the myaltis forums;
-knocking from front/rear wheel
-loose wiring/stuff behind dashboard
-wind noise from driver side door
-worse of them all; radio is uber problematic

..should I?

is the PCD for this 10gen Altis 5x114.3? how bout the 9th gen altis?

details, please:proud:

Altho I read some pretty disappointing thins on the myaltis forums;
-knocking from front/rear wheel
-loose wiring/stuff behind dashboard
-wind noise from driver side door
-worse of them all; radio is uber problematic

..should I?

is the PCD for this 10gen Altis 5x114.3? how bout the 9th gen altis?

-knocking that 1 really depend on luck
-loose wiring oso
-wind noise,yup,abit when go more than 100km/h,not as good as vios wind sound proofing
-yea...problematic radio,need to take out the whole thing and wait for several weeks to repair..

but den,the 1 drive is 1.8 G,beside than those above,is a decent ride,i always off the traction control,i think that 1 is traction control,but the 1st gear kinda 'torquey'...hehe,love to play wif the erm..semi auto gearbox?i dunno wat it is call,is fun

i suggest u go test drive it 1st,but i think the only available test drive unit is 1.8G

kazukimy,
i tot u only cefiro punya sifu...

mana tau...u know many thing about altis too...no doubt,really sifu of the sifu...:adore:

kazukimy,
i tot u only cefiro punya sifu...

mana tau...u know many thing about altis too...no doubt,really sifu of the sifu...:adore:

no lar,i knw abit only,hehe....
YH is the sifu here,he knw more stuffs leh...
i juz curi makan only,den lie my way through...wakaka

kazukimy,
okok...

the final conclusion is both u guys also sifu of the sifu!!!

:biggrin:

kazukimy,
sorry to say that im only good at posting pichas other then spam...hehe

p/s:sorry TS for rogol"ing" ur thread...

Let me share with you some info I found about Corolla Altis review:

Engine for 1.6 = 3ZZ-FE
Engine for 1.8 = 1ZZ-FE

Strengths
- Great fuel economy (Low FC)
- Above-average reliability (if maintained properly)
- Holds value well (2nd hand value)
- Easy to maintain (if maintained properly)
- Smooth ride (4-speed AT)
- Comfortable roomy interior (for family)
- Spacious trunk (can put in at least 3 rims with tyre)

Weaknesses
- Plain interior design (walnut design)
- Engine is noisy at acceleration (as what you said, less noise proof)
- Paint chips easily (depends on driving style)
- No telescopic adjustment on the steering wheel (on old model, new model have)
- Some interior plastic could be better (depends on user preference)

Overall
The Corolla is very simple, fuel-efficient small car with comfortable interior and smooth ride. The Corolla is one of the most reliable vehicles in its class. It's also easy to work on and doesn't require too much maintenance. Corolla doesn't have a timing belt; a timing chain is used instead. Parts are moderately priced and any repair shop can handle the repairs.
If you are looking for something sporty or fun-to-drive, Altis isn't the perfect pick. Look for something like Mazda3, Civic FD, Lancer, etc.

To me personally...Altis 1.8G 9th generation is a very nice car to drive around. Well, for a family sedan, is consider as a very powerful car as well. Good FC too.

Actually, I wouldn't go for the Altis 1.6 as you won't be satisfy with the car performance if u r also looking at performance...since the car is heavy, the 1.6 engine is not enough for the car...might as well get a Vios 1.5G or like yeehau86 said, get Mazda 3. Nice ride too.

Is a reliable car if u maintain it properly and also the way u drive...I guess, i have driven my altis hard and also together with my dad that have caused a few problems and repairs for the car...:banghead:

Well, it depends on luck sometimes...knocking front to rear? I'm not sure what is it but I have some knocking sounds in front which is due to the driveshaft..making a U-Turn or during a full turn, the car will sound like "tok Tok tok"...not cheap to change the driveshaft though...I only changed a recond one.

As I was told, most altis will have this problem but not all. Still bores down to the way u drive and care for the car..

Is very comfortable.
Overall I would say is a good car. :top:

Yeah, like they said, at high speed, wind noise may be louder. Or if u do a hard acceleration, u will be able to hear the engine roaring all the way lolz!

To me, I'm used to the roaring sound, in return, I kinda like it now lolz!

Do, test drive. TOM's 08 Altis as mentioned, is for sale. Maybe u can purchase one from him. 08 car model still at least better then 05 models and so.

Performance is definitely not priority.

Is the 1.6 REALLY underpowered?

Underpowered, this statement depend on how you define it. Test drive one, go up a serious slope with you as a driver, the salesperson and 2 more of your friends. (4 person in car)

If you can accept this kind of climb base on how much throttle position you put on the pedal, then it is an acceptable 1.6cc . I'm also in a dillemma just like you currently. Price diff is not much, it's a mere rm7,000.00 for this ZZE141R-GEPEKEEV vs ZZE142R-GEPGKEEW

"Should i pay rm200 more yearly for the extra 200cc?"
"Is this 7k worth the 23ps of power that i require?" (7k mods also won't get you 23ps for NA)
"Will i regret later when the 1.8cc has a better resale value due to there is no demand of this 1.6?"

I got the same issue with you Excel. You are fortunate as you had narrow down the choices to 1.6 & 1.8. While for me, i got other makes to consider aside of this. Buying a car is hard when you know them well. I mean, too well.

Yes, it depends on you whether you feel that the car performance is satisfactory enough for you and is it just the right feel for u. Definitely, I think the demand in resale value for 1.8 Models are better. I don't see many 1.6cc on the road compare to 1.8cc.

Talking about climbing up hill/slope. Is just satisfactory to me if I didn't turn on the ECT Power. Is still lack of power for me going up the slope for the 1.8 model. But I'm driving the 9th Gen Altis not the latest model but since Engine is the same and horsepower is also the same. It shouldn't be much of a difference but maybe in power to weight ratio between the older and newer models.

Still, best to do a test drive yourself and judge it. You won't know the real experience by reading our comments.

I'm currently driving Altis 1.6E year 2001. It's really under power compared to 1.8G model. I tested both model before bought this car. More satisfied with 1.8G but i don have enough downpayment that time. really regret now. :-(

chuckie, drive for another few more years, then transplant with 2ZZGE engine. :P