ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

how'z ur new project?? started??? mine's on the way now! finally i've given all the parts needed by the mechanic to start transplanting the engine...now becomes the painful wait for the car to finish:smokin:

thank you Metaru for the kind suggestion :smile: i think 3s engines are outta the question though, as corona_ice has pointed out :bawling:

which brings us to the much debated question of: Blacktop or 4AGZE? :hmmmm:

i've read that the 4AGZE provides more "instant power", whereas the BT provides more "high range power", so to put it.

-if both are manual transmissions, is there a very big difference in the power of the 4AGZE and the 6 speed BT, both in the initial and later stages of acceleration?

My "choosing criteria" are as follows:

-I don't do much inter-state travel, my most frequent trips are Puchong-PJ, and Puchong-Shah Alam. Considering the latter, you can probably say I do travel long-distance pretty regularly. But all this might change by the time I actually get to finally start working on my corona's engine. by that time (maybe in another 3 years), i might be at malacca studying and thus driving in malacca, probably travelling back to KL every weekend or so. considering my travelling pattern, which engine would suit me better?:driver:

-fuel consumption. again, based on my travelling pattern, which engine would be more economical on fuel?

-price. is there a large price gap (price means everything included eg. halfcut, workmanship, wiring etc) in conversion of the 2 engines?

hope you guys can provide me with some insight on this matter. :alberteinstein:

p.s. planning to meet up with corona_ice within these 2 weeks! :biggrin:

the price for engine will be the hardest part... i would suggest that u get the full halfcut, rather than to just buy an engine "lantai"... u would need to to this so that u get
1)test the engine, start up and hear the beast
2)just to make sure that u get all the wiring including the aircond and gearbox
3)it takes the mechanic less time to complete the transplant coz he has everything he needs

when it comes to power:hmmmm:it's very subjective... it all depends personal preference...
1)instant pick up in our car would be 4agze
2)silvertop for slight increment in pick up and fuel consumption...but great for kl driving!
3)blacktop for the high revving, don't care bout the fuel consumption guy(don't forget our car is heavy) others will say no problem but they are using them in the corolla's...
so it would be down to personal choice and how much can u spend to get it done... generally transplanting would be below rm3000 anything more than that is a con job:coffee:

I agree with corona_ice suggestion totally hehe.

my 1sen simple formula n info:

100% town, 80% town + 20% hiway = 20v silvertop
50-50 town and hiway = 4A-GZE / 20v silvertop
20% town + 80% hiway = 20v blacktop

Pro and cons (to my knowledge)

20v silvertop:
Revs slowly compared to BT due to heavier internals, but makes uneven/hilly road drivin easy due to engine inertia.

20v Blacktop:
Excellent rev response, but less torquey then SVT. Love it on long haul hiway runs. Dont take hilly roads to well due to lighted parts.

the GZE:
Good for stop-go town (if u dont mind FC), Good 'climbing' power and yes, syokk pickup. Loses some power as rev increases due to stock supercharger limitation. Option for turbocharging to make it suitable for any road hehe.

FC wise from saving to not so save = Svt -> Bt -> GZE

xtra info:
Corona (ST150 GL) curb weight 1020kg, corolla (AE100) (4E, 1.3) 1075kg (4A) 1090kg.
LE i think between 990 - 1010 kg

hope this helps u more in deciding or in my case back then ... even more undecided hehe:biggrin:

lol, thank you sifus corona_ice and MetaruBZG for your kind info.:rolleyes: all of these info and comparisons are based on manual transmission right? since auto transmission will definitely make the drive a tad less powerful? :hmmmm:

can the silvertop and the blacktop be turbocharged? and can the 4AGZE be supercharged and turbocharged at the same time? :nurse:

regarding the weight of our car, personally, having a honda accord ca5 and a proton perdana at home, i feel that our corona is very light in comparison. that probably makes it also less stable at cornerings, esp since my corona only has a front anti-roll bar fitted. which brings me to the question about strutbars and anti-roll bars:

-can the ae92 strutbar fit into our car?

-can the ae82 rear anti-roll bar fit into our car?

one more thing: i read in the previous pages where sifu 2o2r stated that ae92 rear disc brakes fit into our coronas, but something has to be modified. is that something the absorbers, or the spring, or what is it? (damn all these stuff are driving me nuts) :banghead:

lol, thank you sifus corona_ice and MetaruBZG for your kind info.:rolleyes: all of these info and comparisons are based on manual transmission right? since auto transmission will definitely make the drive a tad less powerful? :hmmmm:

can the silvertop and the blacktop be turbocharged? and can the 4AGZE be supercharged and turbocharged at the same time? :nurse:
i suppose that any engine can be turbocharged, but the reliablity is another issue... not to mention the many other mods like the turbo pistons,manifold and all the other stuff...and than wondering if the chassis can handle all the power...(we don't just call our car the uncle car for nothing) our model use to be for the excutives in it's era so the body might flex like hell at high speed... about the super turbocharged 4agzte i've heard about ppl telling they were doin it but sound like just a bunch of bull coz they can't back it up...not to say it's imposible (if nissan could do it to their k10 super turbo march y can't others rite) i don't think there a mechanics capable to do it as i know

regarding the weight of our car, personally, having a honda accord ca5 and a proton perdana at home, i feel that our corona is very light in comparison. that probably makes it also less stable at cornerings, esp since my corona only has a front anti-roll bar fitted. which brings me to the question about strutbars and anti-roll bars:
yes it feel unstable coz of the body flex...that y i said that when u put in the more powerful engine u have to be a bit more cautious...as our sifu 2o2r has reminded me speed is nothing with out control
-can the ae92 strutbar fit into our car?
can if i'm not mistaken
-can the ae82 rear anti-roll bar fit into our car?
confirm can! the ae82 shares the same rolling chassis with our car
one more thing: i read in the previous pages where sifu 2o2r stated that ae92 rear disc brakes fit into our coronas, but something has to be modified. is that something the absorbers, or the spring, or what is it? (damn all these stuff are driving me nuts) :banghead:

yes, the main part u need is the knuckles from the ae92...so u would need to get the whole set... than u can change the calipers and dics to the ae111/101 if u like

for more info u should check this page out our sifu's beloved beauty on sale: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/cars-for-sale/306335-corona-st150-beams-vvti-for-sale.html

i had the big pleasure to speaking to sifu 2 Old 2 Rusty over the phone last night. It was a real "ear" opener, as sifu 2o2r is so knowledgable not just about our Corona, but about cars in general :adore:

however, there were a few things i didnt manage to ask. i know the corolla LE (i think they are the ae80 and ae82?) side mirrors are the same as ours (and they also share a whole lot of other parts eg the arbs, like sifu corona_ice stated). what about the ae86? do they share the same side mirror as the our Corona as well?:hmmmm:

another thing i'm clueless about is, if i get a set of autoflip electric side mirrors, where do i bring my car to to get them fitted?:confused:

sigh, i still have so much to learn :banghead:

All my fren .. after long waiting .. at last I can drive my car on the road..

now need all of your favor , plan to put back aircond system .. so I need to find what ever aircond system that suitable in my car..

Engine
3sgte

Body
St150

Wiring
St150

Dashboard
Plan to change to AE111

hahah ..rojak abis ..

if anyone know which kedai potong .. well known with toyota spart part ..please let me know..

or if you guys know how to find 3sgte aircond compressor .. all complete aircond system.. please let me know..

hope to see you guys in 3 months

All my fren .. after long waiting .. at last I can drive my car on the road.. now need all of your favor , plan to put back aircond system .. so I need to find what ever aircond system that suitable in my car..
Engine
3sgte
Body
St150
Wiring
St150
Dashboard
Plan to change to AE111
hahah ..rojak abis ..
if anyone know which kedai potong .. well known with toyota spart part ..please let me know..
or if you guys know how to find 3sgte aircond compressor .. all complete aircond system.. please let me know.. hope to see you guys in 3 months
congratulations! :adore: now u have a very powerful car to own! i'm still waiting for mine now... for sure u will need a 3sgte aircond compressor to fit on the engine mountings or similar models... but for the condensor in the dashboard part i'm not too sure... u should go to an aircond shop and check that info part... the might say that u have to get the full 3sgte system but same may say u could kahwin all the aircond stuff...:hmmmm:

long time long see....

this my st150 update

toyota corona 1.6 model AT151.asal dh salin semua jadi model corona 1.8 model ST150 JADAM

4111379353_5a5d52c998.jpg

dijana oleh jantung baru silvertop ae101.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2779/4112145680_9410a3bdb4.jpg
face lift depan dari model JADAM.spotligth yang menjadi kegilaan warga toyota dan nie yang kesebelas kat keta nie...yang lain jual dh.
4112147572_878cc3cdce.jpg

gugusan lampu belakang spec JADAM....
4111379613_bac528d0cd.jpg

cermin cromax....
4111379843_a61eebf24e.jpg

just a random question.. i've read of people fitting the nissan sr20det into an ae86, and since the ae86 engine brackets should be the same as our corona, does that mean the sr20det can fit into our corona also? or did those people do welding and modify the brackets to fit the sr20det into the ae86?

rage- i guess it could be done.. only the question ask your pocket.. if it say ok .. then carry on..other .. not so sure about endorse part from JPJ .. should be a problem ..

toyotaburuk--wow .. so nice car u have..

corona_ice- come on let arrange for short TT, meta could join and we can yam cha..

hah.. not powerfull but lot of problem .. not my idle really rough .. don;t know whether it due to vacuum leak or microtech setting .. my tough was vacuum leak .. and who know how to know we do have vacuum leak problem . ?

youtube.com/watch?v=bqi3l6bMn34

you can see .. the video..

rage- i guess it could be done.. only the question ask your pocket.. if it say ok .. then carry on..other .. not so sure about endorse part from JPJ .. should be a problem ..

toyotaburuk--wow .. so nice car u have..

corona_ice- come on let arrange for short TT, meta could join and we can yam cha..

hah.. not powerfull but lot of problem .. not my idle really rough .. don;t know whether it due to vacuum leak or microtech setting .. my tough was vacuum leak .. and who know how to know we do have vacuum leak problem . ?

youtube.com/watch?v=bqi3l6bMn34

you can see .. the video..

rage, if u want a 2.0 might as well put in the 3sgte...but the jpj will never approve unless u have ways of getting it done, or u have to be very brave and not register the engine...

talam...i will try sumthing out! :smokin:

---------- Post added at 10:20 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:10 AM ----------

NORTHERN
1)AZHAR penang (019-3897565)
2)202R sitiawan
3)burnner simpang ampat
4)yskhor bagan serai
5) mohd ridzuan (wan) a.k.a toyota buruk (taiping-penang) 017-4054787[/i]

EAST COAST
1)levin92 karak (014-9140390)
2)jaist150 termeloh
3)hamroh 6656BT Temerloh

CENTRAL
1)na_lover damansara
2)corona_ice sunway shan(019-3473173)
3)metaru naz cyberjaya/ampang (017-3432966)
4)budaksejuk shah alam amir
5)talam_buruk eddy (019-2277233)
6)yusofngah sunway
7)levinloo seremban
8)ragerunner puchong

SOUTHERN
1)kareza69 johor

ok guys...i think this is the update of current owners of at151 & st150 owners....

if we were to hold a gathering, where and when would be a good time to gather?
weekend gathering maybe?

1)frazer hills
2)genting
3)camerons

reason to y i think maybe we should do it in these areas coz it would be the center for everybody.... but of anyone could come up with a better place easily excessable to everyone pls chip in!:adore:

I suggest for short TT we just arrange around KL.. don;t lor go far, you know what.. coz I don;t have aircond maa.. you want me burn inside the car hah?? hahha..

KL I don;t mind we could meet at Petronas nearby TESCO Ampang.. or you just let suggest 1 place...

Others??

long time long see....

this my st150 update

toyota corona 1.6 model AT151.asal dh salin semua jadi model corona 1.8 model ST150 JADAM

4111379353_5a5d52c998.jpg

dijana oleh jantung baru silvertop ae101.
http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2779/4112145680_9410a3bdb4.jpg
face lift depan dari model JADAM.spotligth yang menjadi kegilaan warga toyota dan nie yang kesebelas kat keta nie...yang lain jual dh.
4112147572_878cc3cdce.jpg

gugusan lampu belakang spec JADAM....
4111379613_bac528d0cd.jpg

cermin cromax....
4111379843_a61eebf24e.jpg

Wow... Nice ST150 u got thr... hope to done up my ST150 too...
When & whr the gathering? will join if i'm available... cheers...