niicceeeee..

yes. im a happy bunny!

thnx again!!!!

enjoy the knowledge so much!

cant wait to work the car out.. thanks u guys

:wink::wink::smile::smile:

hmm ok...

what ur mech is saying about the disc is..it needs to be skimmed...they will sort of shave the disc to remove any left behind chemicals from your brake pad,during excessive usage,or over a long period of time...you might have warped your disc...so they skim it...to clear it...they also use that method to make it even....

normally it would be best going back to the same mechanic IF he is reliable and also knowledgeable about modding engines .... so we dont know your mech personally ...but what kind of cars does he have there usually?

for installation of parts such as crank pulleys,or replacement of wear and tear parts should be ok,but things like port and polish,re boring the block,changing pistons ,you should not do it at a normal mech's place.one small mistake,your whole engine can suffer..and he will most likely not take responsibility for his own mistake....just becareful....make sure he knows what he is doing

yes,you can always bring in your own things/parts to change..they just charge you labor

heya, sry just wanna tumpang thread and ask. how much would skimming usually cost? skimming the front 2 brake disc. can it b done at normal tyre shop?

not sure if a tire shop can do bro...if they got the machine then can la..normally they send to a machine shop..if i remember correctly around rm60 for a pair.

Abang AD_EG , 4-1 also can match the pick up of 4-2-1 and top end will be smoother ... my 2 cents since i'm using 1 ...
and to Bro Lola2574 , according 2 my 2 cents knowledge since i own a Putra as well , maybe u shld go this way

4-1 / 4-2-1 + Larger diameter mandrel piping , just make sure u follow back the original path
Adj Susp
Open Pod + CAI

Sudah cukup makan le atm , then only start on others ...

Wow a puteri driving a putra?
Girl + putra + manual tranny + thirst for power n modding = my prayers for the girl of my dreams has been answered! Haha just kidding!
Back to topic, i guess doing stage1 tune up is just nice since miss lola is new to all this.. Like mr liz@rd said; air filter + CAI + 4-2-1 + adj suspension is ok i guess.. Might want to observe for signs of major repairs since its not been used for quite some time.. Look out in case got signs of KARAT also.. Its like skin disease!

with just simple mods like header and racing clutch, u will absolutely feel the engine response better. but like others said, change the timing belt first. very important!

If you r doing the timing belt.. it is best to replace the water pump as well... coz its situated under the belt area.. 4G93 na is quite easy to maintain... just the parts are quite expensive.. the stock engine has quite a decent power... my advise is to tighten the handling.. coilovers n arb should do nicely... then ull know u can use the stock power when u hv control... then start the next pursuit of engine mods...

ola!!!

thanks everyone!

im off to sunway to check wether they have some workshops open ;S will check my timing belt..
but im not so sure i think my last mech said that it was alrite.. but i better check it again,,,..

well some part of the putra was all karat... which is the radiator head.. change the whole top off... urm... need to check the engine oil... plus allignment.. the steering is proper not straight at all... and definitely disk brakes.. *sigh* alot of things to do before busy monday comes!!!

but timing belt wont cost a lot wouldnt it?

to Luka... urm tighten the handling? u mean?

thxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

If you r doing the timing belt.. it is best to replace the water pump as well... coz its situated under the belt area.. 4G93 na is quite easy to maintain... just the parts are quite expensive.. the stock engine has quite a decent power... my advise is to tighten the handling.. coilovers n arb should do nicely... then ull know u can use the stock power when u hv control... then start the next pursuit of engine mods...
to be precise, the water pump is driven by the timing belt. Once u removed the timing belt, u might as well change the water pump as well cause u're afraid that the water pump will fail n u'll need to take out the timing belt again. So, double workmanship.

ola!!!

thanks everyone!

im off to sunway to check wether they have some workshops open ;S will check my timing belt..
but im not so sure i think my last mech said that it was alrite.. but i better check it again,,,..

well some part of the putra was all karat... which is the radiator head.. change the whole top off... urm... need to check the engine oil... plus allignment.. the steering is proper not straight at all... and definitely disk brakes.. *sigh* alot of things to do before busy monday comes!!!

but timing belt wont cost a lot wouldnt it?

to Luka... urm tighten the handling? u mean?

thxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

It depends. Some comes in a set with the tensioner bearings n other belts. Some performance type only comes in single belt. So, it depends on which type u looking for. Would cost u rm2xx.

Regarding the handling, it includes of absorbers, lower arm, arb, body rigidity, wheel offset/diameter, traction n overall mass distribution of the car. A tighter handling Means a better tuned suspensions, arb, lower arms n wheels.

However, with power, it comes responsibility. I'd say power comes after safety. Handling, braking n braking system mods first, then go for engine mods.

get a set of adjustable abs is definitely recommended

owning a putra myself, over three years, i changed from original, to GAB SA with Sparco springs to TEIN
it was finally the TEIN that met my requirements
second hand TEIN but works like a charm and last longer than the rest of the abs i was using.

just think twice before you go for adjustable, its not as comfortable as your current one, you get the handling by sacrificing comfort riding... to certain hardcore driver it's needed, but not necessary to get one if you are not into that level...

Best way is try sit in other putra with adjustable suspension before making decision.

adjustables can be pretty comfortable too....depends on the brand,model and spring/coil....not all will be the same....TIEN is one of the best cause of the levels of adjustment....and its stiff is REALLY STIFF...soft is still nice to whack corner....so depends....

and if you find your handling is still not up to par,can get a very crucial and not so expensive bar...ultra racing bars for your front stabilizer and anti roll bar(ARB)...bang for bucks...

a lot of things is more to personal preference la...
for suspension some ppl find it hard...some ppl find it just nice...
i'd say go for bro zac suggestion, sit on someone's putra/wira/satria wif adjustables to try 1st...
then oni decide whether u wanna go for adjustables....

n some bros were talking abt racing clutch also...
again...its pretty much on personal preference...
1st, ur cluch will be much harder than stock....
2nd, ur driving will be like not smooth, especially 1st gear "balancing"...car will jerk...
again...if can...try someone's car.....

anyway...
most important now is to get ur brakes done 1st....
safety 1st!!!

yeah bro...but you cant just generalize by saying sit in any friend with adjustables in it....

like i mentioned before not all adjustables are the same.... if you go into a car that has tien flex or cusco in it...then you go to another friends car with super street or ohlins ...it will be totally different even at the softest or hardest setting....but they are both adjustables.

i understand wat u mean....
so in this case...as cusco/ohlins r kindda difficult to source....
go sit in fren's car wif tein/GAB....
then go for watever brand/series u think is good....

btw, if u cant tahan hard ride, i'd say cusco is out of ur list....
coz its damn hard...how i know?? coz i using it....
even at the softest also its damn hard...
but i'm loving it!!!
hahahaha

heard a lot of tein users saying tein can be really comfortable when its set to the softest....
but then need to know wat series is dat....
but again...if wanna use adjustables dat feels like stock suspension....
might as well keep ur stock suspension....
y go waste money change adjustables....
dun come n tell me can adjust.....go ask around ppl using adjustables suspension...
most of them oso malas adjust hard...adjust soft....

to be safe on adjustable and not compromising the comfort.. get HWL MT-1 Series.. its a twintube design.. very comfy n good enough for street spirited driving.. its locally made and its easy to maintain coz you can service it back.. racing clutch is not comfy at all...
if you use ur car for daily drive on busy roads.. not recommended to install one..

fixing an air intake,tuned lenght extractor,piping n muffler would get a nice breathing revvy engine.. to control those power.. thats where u need the handling department... 4G93Na has a very good torque for a stock engine.. try playing it on hill climbs n downhill like ulu yam, Fraser's hill n such..

woooo wooo woooooo....

hold up boys... hang on.. adjustable or non adjustable... urm... its true.. i have to try it first to the cars that has these specs..

i definitely go for comfy ones of course but still a bit of stiffness.. hmmm hard to discribe it..

n racing clutch... hehe not yet...or maybe not for my car for now... :)

yeah about fixin air intakes, and any other mods im up for it.. only after a good service will be done to my car..

went to sunway to check up some shops.. and theres this only one shop i notice was 'kakimotor' and selling all other parts.. which was good.. learn a bit or two... and i wanted to know... whats the different between blitz air filters and hks ones? which is better? i think the guys said that the green mushroom hks dont fit my putra or i think K&N ones.. not so sure.. but which is which.. either both... which ones are the good ones? blitz ones are just plug n play.. no added piping or anything... so what do u think? thhnnnxxxxx

and about the brakes... before changin my gearbox,.. i did some normal service like changing the break pads.... oil change etc.. but the guy keep on mentioning to me about skimming the disk breaks.. i wasnt sure wether he is trying to rip me off but... the thing is.. can u see the difference clearly with a normal eye.. i.e 'karat' or bengkok or something? :))

sorry guys.. but really im thankful to all the msgs u replied.. really help me a lot.. thhhxxxxxxxxxx

About your brakes, does ur brakes vibrate when applied? Maybe since it has not been used for years, residue could cover the outerlayer too, making your braking poor.. If so, you might take longer to stop the car.. Dangerous also.. Huhu if the price of doing it is too high, the he's trying to rip u off.. How high is high? Im not sure.. Huhu

Bout ur brake pads, it usually cant be seen by the naked eye just like that.. Under certain circumstances, the brakes wont 'makan'.. It is also good to skim, the hardened layer of the brakes wont make your braking optimal.. Get rid of the residue 1st.. If he wants to rip u off, he might want u to get new ones.. Hehe
true true....

he might have just say... yeah yours have gone bad.. u definitely need some new ones... ;)

but so far.. the break are fine... no vibrations or how to say... feels like the 'gelong' thing goin on... the feel of it is fine.. is just the look of it.. a bit karat.. :S

how bout the air filters? any thoughts about it? thanxxx