grandpa KE-30

amTonjet

hello guys~~~
i'm about to take my grandpa ke30..want to change the engine...but dunno what is suitable..and i want to make it as my drift practising car......i'm new to toyota and drifting...thanks sifus!!:adore:

hello guys~~~
i'm about to take my grandpa ke30..want to change the engine...but dunno what is suitable..and i want to make it as my drift practising car......i'm new to toyota and drifting...thanks sifus!!:adore:

May i try to answer? I'm not Sifoo, but base on my experience.
the easiest way is pump in the 4AGE RWD 140ps from Corona, it's more power than the 4AGE from AE86. Later on just find the LSD axle would be enough.

Else you may use the SR20 engine but danger because it over power.

owh ok...thanx bro...may i know which part from KL u from??
maybe we can meet someday..

if you just wanna derif...just with standard engine k engine can do already...
just go and full lock your axle....

i think u just upgrade ur stock engine to turbo. many japan old car do that. you can view it in some website. or if u want to put 4age also ok.

Bump: i think u just upgrade ur stock engine to turbo. many japan old car do that. you can view it in some website. or if u want to put 4age also ok.

well if to drift, you can start with less power to get the hang of doing it.
after you have mastered that, than you can increase to what power you like.
just my 1 cent...hehehhee:biggrin:

really..ka?
k engine wit turbo..
can i hv the url for the website..plz
coss i got dis old ke20 2 door
dat i want to restore...but don wan to change the engine..
nice la...very2 exited :driver:

go try this engine.. :)

http://homepage2.nifty.com/hiro-cy/pubtop.jpg
http://homepage2.nifty.com/hiro-cy/P1020002.JPG

it is called 3K-R engine..

1.3cc below and it is producing 180bhp... :thefinger::thefinger: I am not bluffing here... because i have myself one KE20 and i am looking for these engine... or 2T-G.. :)

but i haven't start to move an inch yet.. just gathering more and more info... and be ready for a huge round of headache... :)

More poisons!!!

http://www.retroscenemag.com/image.axd?picture=Toms-Image1.jpg
image.axd
image.axd

1.3cc below and it is producing 180bhp... :thefinger::thefinger: I am not bluffing here... because i have myself one KE20 and i am looking for these engine... or 2T-G.. :)

but i haven't start to move an inch yet.. just gathering more and more info... and be ready for a huge round of headache... :)

thanx bro...once u want to start this project....pm me ok??...maybe want to join:biggrin::biggrin:

I dun think i can find these thing also..unless i go japan and raid their old school zone.

I can't say anything more beyond this border at the moment :) but i am digging deeper into these engine.

Good luck with ur baby there... KE20-30 is not a mickey mouse car... Aussie loves using it to drags and track... but those is some info which only senior veteran sifu only know about this. :)

More poisons!!!

http://www.retroscenemag.com/image.axd?picture=Toms-Image1.jpg
image.axd
image.axd

fuh...toyota k-series racing engine...if put this into toyota starlet kp61...it will be hyper fast...can see this 3K-R engine at japan TS-cup during last time...

Last edited by a moderator:
wallla....wei
nice arr...
is it maybe this 3k-R
is a so called a modified version of 3k engine???
i mean....erm
myb u can take a normal 3k engine
stuffed it wit a 4throtle and turbo
wallah..u got urself an R version...
is it kaaa????

Sbirdz, That one is a race engine. No way to get one. I think Bill Sherwood's site also has a picture of it. And i read in some forums its only available in some junked rally cars. So dream on buddy. hehehe. A 2T-G is more realistic. But a 4AGE is more desireble.

May i try to answer? I'm not Sifoo, but base on my experience.
the easiest way is pump in the 4AGE RWD 140ps from Corona, it's more power than the 4AGE from AE86. Later on just find the LSD axle would be enough.

Else you may use the SR20 engine but danger because it over power.

1980s' Corona does not have not have 4AGE la. hahaha. They have 2T or 3T which is 1.6 and 1.8cc. Mostly single carb and slightly less than 100hp for 1.6 and slightly more than 100hp for 1.8. Both will mate to T50 5 speed gearbox available from Corona or AE86. If you want fast and easy swap, definitely everything from AE86 (engine, wiring, gearbox, crossmember, steering rack, suspension blah blah and not a from a Corona. The Corona is only valuable for its T50 gearbox which is very expensive.

Also your KE30 uses leaf springs. This is a hard mod. U either run heavy rated springs to get the car not to roll much. Or you get a combo anti-roll bar. If u want to drift, u do not want the rear to roll and sway. Or u will never want to drift again. Or u buy a AE86 or KE70 rear cut and cut and paste the rear supension assembly to the KE70.

Or a faster way it to junk the Ke30 and get a Ke70. Which is even more starightforward to mod with an AE86 halfcut. If u go this way, check out one of our local sifoo's site here. http://www.my-acoustic.com/Car/car_section.htm

Good luck.

Bro... I thought 3K engine all twin carburetor? And running single cam?

The purple valve cover 3K engine looks sexy as hell.. looks like got fuel injection and twin cam.. how to mod wan?!? I need some of that good stuff.. put it in a mini.. hahaha..

NALover, no man. 3K & 4K all single carb. And its pushrod overhead valve. U can't see the cam. Technically there is a cam, but its linked to the crank. Twin carb is removed from production due to it not being enviromentally friendly. For obvious reasons hahaha.

Look at this page for a guide, including the cars.

http://www.mr2.com/TEXT/engines.html

NALover, no man. 3K & 4K all single carb. And its pushrod overhead valve. U can't see the cam. Technically there is a cam, but its linked to the crank. Twin carb is removed from production due to it not being enviromentally friendly. For obvious reasons hahaha.

Look at this page for a guide, including the cars.

http://www.mr2.com/TEXT/engines.html

Cam in block...hehe...bro netmatrix,u drive an olskool ride too?im olskool fans especially toyota...

Last edited by a moderator: