R3 Sequential Gearbox

turbolover

Hey guys,
About 3 of 4 years back i was at Bkt Jalil witnessing the shootout between Tengku and another racer.They were driving a white R3Putra and R3Satria respectively.I noticed that they were using locally made sequential G/B.
Is it available?How much?What the anouncer said last time was it cost RM15k.when if u compared it with a rally MMC dog gears are about 90K.
Does anybody have any contact to get them.I'm sure it will be cheaper by now if they go into production(i wish).

yup..i've seen those too. back in 2004 in mid valley exhibition centre.
d cost is around d 15k.drop to pusat kecemerlangan proton in damansara for further info.:wavey::wavey::wavey:

i think that 15k gbox is a straight cut gbox only not dogbox (can shift without clutch), the one that cost 40k n above is dogbox usually ordered from australia..

means the gearbox fitted to the R3 car has only straight cut gears but without the dogbox locking mechanism??.... means still need to depress the clutch pedal to shift between gears??

from the cost said i think so bro, u can try asking bro azman from sps at sect 13 s.alam but i heard they have moved to glenmarie area..

Hmmm if i'm not wrong it's clutchless.Same like a dogbox,just that it's made in Malaysia.Wah!after so long still cost 15k?hmmm thought the price might come down.:driver:

Hey guys,
About 3 of 4 years back i was at Bkt Jalil witnessing the shootout between Tengku and another racer.They were driving a white R3Putra and R3Satria respectively.I noticed that they were using locally made sequential G/B.
Is it available?How much?What the anouncer said last time was it cost RM15k.when if u compared it with a rally MMC dog gears are about 90K.
Does anybody have any contact to get them.I'm sure it will be cheaper by now if they go into production(i wish).
How to explain the sequential g/b?

hmmm
straight cut gears makes the gearbox a dogbox
a sequential shifter does not mean its a dogbox
a straight cut gear enables u to not press clutch when u engage a gear, just push it in :P
a sequential shifter lets you push up and down for changing gear but you do need to press clutch
a sequential shifter + straight cut gears = a ultimate dog box :P

i dont know where u guys get the pricing , here u go
sequential shifter is around 8-10k only
dog box straight gears are around 15-20k

from my point of view. correct me if i am wrong

a straight cut doesn't makes a gearbox a dogbox
there are also straight cut with synchros.

a dog engagement makes a dogbox

stock gearbox uses helical gears and synchros for smooth engagement, and smooth power transmission.
straight cut gears are paired with dog engagement for positive engagement of gears and minimal power loss at the price of NVH levels.

a sequential shifter is a mechanism that allows gears to be sequentially engaged. as i saw in carbible.com it applies to synchro engagement and dog engagement.

...2 cents

stock gearbox uses helical gears and synchros for smooth engagement, and smooth power transmission.
straight cut gears are paired with dog engagement for positive engagement of gears and minimal power loss at the price of NVH levels.

a sequential shifter is a mechanism that allows gears to be sequentially engaged. as i saw in carbible.com it applies to synchro engagement and dog engagement.

...2 cents
ur absolutely rite..read in the indormation in quaife website...

...2 cents

:adore:

seriously..got any of these GB available on malaysian civilian car?...nvr seen one..or heard one sold here..15k GB..goddamn!..2 baru R3..the Quaife custom GB...wow! 9000pounds!..stage 1!:heeeelllllooooo:

Thanks lozo and jinkl for the explanation.I actually got the pricing when the host anounce it during the shootout.

Bump: Thanks lozo and jinkl for the explanation.I actually got the pricing when the host anounce it during the shootout.

straight cut gears have more contact face compared to helical cut, so in theory straight cut gears are much stronger. that's all i know ,
15k ? can anyone comfirm, please.....

straight cut gears have more contact face compared to helical cut, so in theory straight cut gears are much stronger. that's all i know ,
15k ? can anyone comfirm, please.....
yeah more reliable and durable... but if standard engine install straight cut gears???.... not much improvement rite??... :hmmmm:

improvements?...not so sure..nvr seen one installed on a road car yet...but drove a a car with that kind of gear set..
its in a mini...i was back in penang..a fren of afrens car..mini cooper mark 2 1380 M.E.D engine with 5 speed straight cuts gears without syncro...Hell!! top run..nice as hell, the whining...makes me stim man! but town driving...changing gears...mampus!..very hard! got the grok! grek! grok! sound..like the gearbox nak pecah! Y hah?..very hard man to drive..but one thing for sure...the noise!...it sounded exactly like when u reverse,high speed...IN EVERY GEAR!! SYOK OOO!!!