Waja 4g18 for 400hp Possible?

jeffy

Hi All, just checking if anyone done or knows if a 1.6L 4g18 can churn out 400whp?

Am thinking of the following:

forged conrod
forged bearings
larger valves
uprated valvesprings
billet 272 cam
bigger injectors

any sifu can advise? Anyone done it? Please enlighten..

yeah I know most would say it'll be better off going with 4g63, but I guess churning out 400whp on 1.6 successfully gets more satisfaction than changing engine. Although it's safer.

is tat wat u call satisfaction??? i would say no.......tats rather stupid 2 make a 400hp 4g18

Hi All, just checking if anyone done or knows if a 1.6L 4g18 can churn out 400whp?

Am thinking of the following:

forged conrod
forged bearings
larger valves
uprated valvesprings
billet 272 cam
bigger injectors

any sifu can advise? Anyone done it? Please enlighten..

yeah I know most would say it'll be better off going with 4g63, but I guess churning out 400whp on 1.6 successfully gets more satisfaction than changing engine. Although it's safer.

not impossible... but a tough challange to meet.... 1.6L engine producing 400whp is somewhat crazy to start with... the only way i could think of possible is turbocharging it... going NA route will not yield such result.... heck, even avantgarde k20a vtec killer achieves around 3xxhp only...

i would not say its stupid to go with ur project, given that u had lots of cash to spare...

Any inputs anyone?

turbocharging ur engine by using hugeass turbine.... forged conrods, pistons and crankshaft... uprated fuel pressure by adding more fuel pumps.... much larger injectors.... really high profile cams.... port polish with oversize valves.... increase static compression to withstand higher boost level.... multiple spark discharge....

with hugeass turbine, with only 1600cc, i think the powerband would be super cacat and fullboost mebbe by only 5-6k rpms? but how high can a long-stroke 4g18 rev? haha

pistons, crank all has to be custom done and will cost a bomb

to threadstarter, how much budget do u have?

lets say if u do hit ur 400 hp target, im sure it would be a very very very undriveable car...with crazy turbo lag....mebbe only suitable to be a dyno queen with those figures...even if u throw in NOS into the equation, it will definitely help building boost quicker....but wat bout the limits of the block? i think methanol-water injection is definitely needed as well, NOS / CO2 spray for the intercooler...hehe

and no one knows the limit of the 4g18 block, since no one has pushed it that far before

and dont forget...the 4g18 is a pretty long stroke motor, i dont think revving sky high is in its nature....highs rpms is what thats needed for a relatively small 1600cc to build bigger boost

being sohc also limits the breathing potential of the engine....unless u r world renowned bisi ezerioha who can bring an NA sohc F22 to 400 horses...who can squeeze out every pony out of an engine

if ur budget is limitless, then i fully encourage u go proceed with this project, would be interesting to see the outcome

but if budget is limited...im sure squeezing out 400 horses out of a 4g63 in itself is already very satisfactory....how many 400 hp cars running around?

I'm asking this because I have friends doing 280-300hp at crank at 1.4bar with stock heat treated pistons and lowered comp with metal gasket, boosting about 1.4bar at. Perhaps 400whp way too much for a 1.6L, maybe 350whp is not too far out. but then again, the next 100hp is the difficult part..

280hp on turbocharge 4g18?

so u want to play n/a or turbocharge to achive 400hp? because n/a will not produce that kind of power.. just waste ur money ler

wow...tat leaves me wondering...really...a 4g93t wit 280hp is not bad edi...ur fren sumore 4g18... wat rpm the turbo start spooling...ahhahaha...how many k end?? ahahahha\
how much he spent...???? ahahahhaha

off coz u can make 400 whp at your 4g18 1.6 liter engine,but must make sure u fit the custom make forged block liner plz, then u can rebore maximum use 81mm piston,some thing like use je piston or wesico piston,then that con.rod must be special order from over sea ,eagle and bc con rod , that only u waste 6k for buy piston and con rod already.....use td 05 20g boost 2bar can get over whp~ but very damage the engine and turbine, injector use evo 560 is enuf , use mirco tech lt 10s , custom make banana and ultra gate 38 mm waste gate,use arp nut ,cometic metal gasket, is dun know how many $$$$$ already = =''

400HP 4G18? Not worth the cash spent, how long will your engine last? XD

Your friend's 4G18 churning out 280HP? What has he done to his car? Amount of money spent?

wow...tat leaves me wondering...really...a 4g93t wit 280hp is not bad edi...ur fren sumore 4g18... wat rpm the turbo start spooling...ahhahaha...how many k end?? ahahahha\
how much he spent...???? ahahahhaha

Oh
hahaha, spools starts at 2.5k hahahaha
ends about 7-7.2k ahahahaha
$$ wise I dunno whahahahaha....

crazy fella.

280hp on turbocharge 4g18?

so u want to play n/a or turbocharge to achive 400hp? because n/a will not produce that kind of power.. just waste ur money ler

Definately TC, and I know mitsubishi NA will never produce this kinda HP for a 1.6...

off coz u can make 400 whp at your 4g18 1.6 liter engine,but must make sure u fit the custom make forged block liner plz, then u can rebore maximum use 81mm piston,some thing like use je piston or wesico piston,then that con.rod must be special order from over sea ,eagle and bc con rod , that only u waste 6k for buy piston and con rod already.....use td 05 20g boost 2bar can get over whp~ but very damage the engine and turbine, injector use evo 560 is enuf , use mirco tech lt 10s , custom make banana and ultra gate 38 mm waste gate,use arp nut ,cometic metal gasket, is dun know how many $$$$$ already = =''

wouldn't 81mm be way too big ? stock only 76mm. could overheat easily.
$$ issue ok lah, just need to make sure it's reliable, thats the difficult part.

400HP 4G18? Not worth the cash spent, how long will your engine last? XD

come to think of it, dun think it'll last long, how about matching it with a 1.8 underblock? would that be more sensible? safer?

Your friend's 4G18 churning out 280HP? What has he done to his car? Amount of money spent?

PNP, Heat treated pistons, Cometic low comp metal gasket, T28 turbo, stock internals other than heat treated piston. $$ wise quite abit. definately more than getting a stock 4g93T to transplant.

so, performance+money spent is it worth it to bolt on ur 4g18?
think for it bro, u will loose more that what u will gain

SkYwAlKeR : bro, its reduce compression to able to boost higher

chrissyong : if anyone does 400+hp with 560cc injectors, u may throw his dynochart into the dustbin :P , cos u can never achieve 400hp with 560cc injectors with our normal fuel

SoYouThinkYouCanDrive : either you know nuts about modding an engine or your engine builder had no clue wht he is doing, a reliable engine block can be made if you had sufficient cash and most importantly BRAINS

jeffy : yes it is possible to make a 400whp 4g18 , bt its how much cash you are wishing to spend, ready to custom make conrods ? custom make pistons ? fueling injectors ? fuel pump ? a specific turbocharger which will most probably ballbearing , maybe a gt30 ? engine management of cos should be a standalone , im not looking anything below 15k

the most important thing is to go step by step so you can learn from the experience

nothing is imposible guys , cash & brains creates wonders

Write your reply...