It's time to let it go......

Hey Stutzedward,

I just read your message about selling the Airtrek, you have been a consisten memeber on this forum for years we havent communicated much but your comments were always helpful and very informative.

As mentioned in the replies to your post do keep in touch, I will posting videos of my completed car in soon, work commitments have kept me held up, battery relocation project to boot coming up should be done really soon.

All the best with your new ride.

Thanks dude :)

How is the CRV? I was deciding between HRV and CRV because the price difference was 19K apart. Wife doesn't want the CRV because it's too big for her.

It's x d new crv (mine is d 08 model) but I assume it's similar in size wiz d new one (??)..assuming it is then I x think it's big (but then again I ferry 4 kids so it does feel a bit small hehe)..n d fact I've never been in d hrv so I x compare much except it's slightly smaller then d crv...but for me d crv is my choice coz of d size..d boot size I wld say is very spacious..it's a bit of a fuel guzzler but I guess it's ok..x expect much in terms of power since it's a 2L carrying a 4wd n a heavy body..hope that helps

Buying such family cars, power would not be the utmost important point. I will not expect performance from the CRV nor HRV. But what I want is fuel efficiency. I am so used to 6km/L, now I want to drive something that drinks lesser fuel.

I asked my family, what they really wanted. They said 1) reliability, 2) comfort, 3) quietness. This fits into the bill just right.

How is the CRV? I was deciding between HRV and CRV because the price difference was 19K apart. Wife doesn't want the CRV because it's too big for her.

Why only 19k apart? HRV not 90k plus to 111k and CRV starts from 142k?

Yup HRV smaller, easier to handle. My wife initially wanted MPV, after test drive say too big, that is why she ended up with the Chery Tiggo SUV....:biggrin:

It's x d new crv (mine is d 08 model) but I assume it's similar in size wiz d new one (??)..assuming it is then I x think it's big (but then again I ferry 4 kids so it does feel a bit small hehe)..n d fact I've never been in d hrv so I x compare much except it's slightly smaller then d crv...but for me d crv is my choice coz of d size..d boot size I wld say is very spacious..it's a bit of a fuel guzzler but I guess it's ok..x expect much in terms of power since it's a 2L carrying a 4wd n a heavy body..hope that helps

The latest CRV I think is even bigger, but for RM142k you get the most basic SUV don't even have 2 Din HU with screen, whereas, New X-trail, CX5 and even forester have.....:hmmmm:

I guess it's ok since my crv oso just basic player (x 2din HU)..just enuff to listen to good music is fine wiz me :)

Yes, auto has 1000rpm lesser on the dial which is 8500. That's why the window of 'true power' was rather small. But then, I don't drive like that everyday tho many said RX-8 should be redlined once a day. Yes, it's never intended for straight line speed. It'll only shines in corner.

I've forgotten about the width. Rims isn't something I care much about. :)

You learn till you're old... no one has all the knowledge. I am starting a new chapter now :)

I think the only way to give RX-8 more power on straights will either be adding more rotors or swapping it to 13B-REW from RX-7 if that is even possible. I'm not so sure with RX-8 mods as the modding scene for RX-8 is way less popular than RX-7.

As you change into a modern car from Airtrek, I'm sure there are new electronic features that will surprise you and there are also things that will make you miss the good old mechanical ways of the Airtrek. Much for you to learn in your new chapter.

Buying such family cars, power would not be the utmost important point. I will not expect performance from the CRV nor HRV. But what I want is fuel efficiency. I am so used to 6km/L, now I want to drive something that drinks lesser fuel.

I asked my family, what they really wanted. They said 1) reliability, 2) comfort, 3) quietness. This fits into the bill just right.

Since you came from using a Mitsubishi car, why din't you consider ASX or maybe the new Outlander? I know the later is a bit pricey...

Why only 19k apart? HRV not 90k plus to 111k and CRV starts from 142k?

Yup HRV smaller, easier to handle. My wife initially wanted MPV, after test drive say too big, that is why she ended up with the Chery Tiggo SUV....:biggrin:

HI Bro,

Prices for all cars increased. HRV V model I booked is 122K and CRV is 141K for the current price. HRV has the platform of Jazz and I think female loves it.

The entry model for HRV is 102K and it's almost like empty....

I have no experience with China cars. Is it good?

I think the only way to give RX-8 more power on straights will either be adding more rotors or swapping it to 13B-REW from RX-7 if that is even possible. I'm not so sure with RX-8 mods as the modding scene for RX-8 is way less popular than RX-7.

As you change into a modern car from Airtrek, I'm sure there are new electronic features that will surprise you and there are also things that will make you miss the good old mechanical ways of the Airtrek. Much for you to learn in your new chapter.

Since you came from using a Mitsubishi car, why din't you consider ASX or maybe the new Outlander? I know the later is a bit pricey...

Rotaries are very fragile. I will keep it stock like I did the past 4 years. :) I want reliability and problem free car. I felt that the more mods we do, the more we hamper with reliability.

Yes, newer cars have a lot more feature I've never experienced before. They are small little things but I think it adds touches to the overall car. Most importantly, I don't need to go after market like adding a reverse camera with messy wire cuts and tappings.

ASX is too old and with the price of Outlander, I will get something else :)

Rotaries are very fragile. I will keep it stock like I did the past 4 years. :) I want reliability and problem free car. I felt that the more mods we do, the more we hamper with reliability.

Yes, newer cars have a lot more feature I've never experienced before. They are small little things but I think it adds touches to the overall car. Most importantly, I don't need to go after market like adding a reverse camera with messy wire cuts and tappings.

ASX is too old and with the price of Outlander, I will get something else :)

From what I heard, mostly the weakness of rotaries lies on the apex seals. And I heard they eat quite a lot of engine oil at a fast rate, since they do burn inside the combustion chamber. RX-8 really is quite tempting nowadays since used ones are selling like 40k to 50k plus. Some even looks quite stock and comes with 6 speed manual. Among other sports cars, RX-8 may not be fast, but if compared to most ordinary cars on the road, RX-8 is already quite powerful. How often do you see any 200hp above cars going around the roads.

So, you will purchase the highest spec variant to avoid the trouble of going aftermarket to add on accessories? I have a HRV at home, owned by my aunt. She got the car not long after ts launch last year around March 2015. It is the lowest spec variant at RM99k. Comes with 16" wheels instead of the current updated 17" wheels.

From what I heard, mostly the weakness of rotaries lies on the apex seals. And I heard they eat quite a lot of engine oil at a fast rate, since they do burn inside the combustion chamber. RX-8 really is quite tempting nowadays since used ones are selling like 40k to 50k plus. Some even looks quite stock and comes with 6 speed manual. Among other sports cars, RX-8 may not be fast, but if compared to most ordinary cars on the road, RX-8 is already quite powerful. How often do you see any 200hp above cars going around the roads.

So, you will purchase the highest spec variant to avoid the trouble of going aftermarket to add on accessories? I have a HRV at home, owned by my aunt. She got the car not long after ts launch last year around March 2015. It is the lowest spec variant at RM99k. Comes with 16" wheels instead of the current updated 17" wheels.

Having that said, I had a few mods on my 8 to make it more reliable and not powerful. I changed the radiator to thicker aluminium ones, Samco silicon radiator pipes, water temperature meter, remapped the ECU to engage the fan earlier at (85c low speed & 93c high speed), cross drilled brakes and an Apexi RSM + reverse camera. Otherwise all stock. Oh yes, K&N drop in filter too.

YES, I do not intend to install aftermarket stuffs anymore. I am old and don't want to go through the trouble to get them. RM20K difference may seems a lot but considering everything from factory and covered under warranty, why not?

I can't remember how many wire cuts and tapping were done on my Airtrek. Even the manual 90c fan controller itself has 2-3 relays to get it working. I don't like that actually.

HI Bro,

Prices for all cars increased. HRV V model I booked is 122K and CRV is 141K for the current price. HRV has the platform of Jazz and I think female loves it.

The entry model for HRV is 102K and it's almost like empty....

I have no experience with China cars. Is it good?

Oh! no intention to get HRV did not follow the price.....lol
But then 19k is high spec HRV to low spec CRV. If High spec CRV will be much more.

We bought the Tiggo 6 years ago. At that time cheapest SUV for 2.0L at RM90k. Engine not a problem but a lot of plastic and many rubber trims getting brittle.....lol Overall have serve us well....:driver:

Yes HRV high specs is a lot more equipped then the entry level CRV. If you consider higher specs, the difference will certainly be a lot more.

I think most China cars, the engines are from Japan right?

Having that said, I had a few mods on my 8 to make it more reliable and not powerful. I changed the radiator to thicker aluminium ones, Samco silicon radiator pipes, water temperature meter, remapped the ECU to engage the fan earlier at (85c low speed & 93c high speed), cross drilled brakes and an Apexi RSM + reverse camera. Otherwise all stock. Oh yes, K&N drop in filter too.

YES, I do not intend to install aftermarket stuffs anymore. I am old and don't want to go through the trouble to get them. RM20K difference may seems a lot but considering everything from factory and covered under warranty, why not?

I can't remember how many wire cuts and tapping were done on my Airtrek. Even the manual 90c fan controller itself has 2-3 relays to get it working. I don't like that actually.

Looks like your 13B internals still remains mostly stock. You are just modifying the auxiliary parts of the engine.

My aunt is fine with the HRV because her previous car is the 2nd gen facelifted Honda City. In terms of equipment, HR-V is better than it in some areas. In fact, I even compared between the lowest spec HR-V and highest spec City. I can say that HR-V is still better as it uses wider wheels, 215/60/16 compared to 185/55/16 on City and the engine is also more powerful. For that matter, the price difference between the highest spec City and lowest spec HRV is like around RM5k. The dashboard and interior design of HRV also looks better than City. So, back then, I suggested her to get HRV instead of Jazz or City.

Looks like your 13B internals still remains mostly stock. You are just modifying the auxiliary parts of the engine.

My aunt is fine with the HRV because her previous car is the 2nd gen facelifted Honda City. In terms of equipment, HR-V is better than it in some areas. In fact, I even compared between the lowest spec HR-V and highest spec City. I can say that HR-V is still better as it uses wider wheels, 215/60/16 compared to 185/55/16 on City and the engine is also more powerful. For that matter, the price difference between the highest spec City and lowest spec HRV is like around RM5k. The dashboard and interior design of HRV also looks better than City. So, back then, I suggested her to get HRV instead of Jazz or City.

All depends what the customer looking for, some just do not like SUV......lol:biggrin:

Yes HRV high specs is a lot more equipped then the entry level CRV. If you consider higher specs, the difference will certainly be a lot more.

I think most China cars, the engines are from Japan right?

Chery seems quite big in China, They were using Mitsu engine until 2009 I think, then use their own engine, but is Austrian design, Made in China. Seems a few other car make are buying this engine from them and was used in the Paris Dakar rally. Came 23rd or something but main aim was to survive the whole rally.....lol
Recently with so many other SUV coming out, Chery have remove the SUV from their lineup...:hmmmm:

All depends what the customer looking for, some just do not like SUV......lol:biggrin:

My family is a big supporter of "high/tall" cars. The car that they dont like is my Wira as they keep complaining that it is too low and can't really see anything ahead of the road.

Youngster loves low, come of age like in 40's then higher better......hahhahhahaha:rofl:

Having owned RX-8 and Airtrek, I do like the low sporty ride of RX-8 though it's not practical for daily use. Even coming out from my house thru bumps, it scratches bottom on almost each bumps. :S But it feels good while driving.

As for SUV, my wife appreciates it better. She loves the high riding truck sitting position... hehe...

Yes, looks is very subjective. Honestly. the hidden door lever for HRV's rear door to make it coupe'ish is really unnecessary. It's a SUV right? Why make it to look coupe'ish? For me, the word coupe cannot blend into SUV. Just my personal preference. I just prefer the normal door knob lever better.

Youngster loves low, come of age like in 40's then higher better......hahhahhahaha:rofl:

I like higher cars but only if they are really way higher than other cars like those modified offroad 4x4. :biggrin:

Having owned RX-8 and Airtrek, I do like the low sporty ride of RX-8 though it's not practical for daily use. Even coming out from my house thru bumps, it scratches bottom on almost each bumps. :S But it feels good while driving.

As for SUV, my wife appreciates it better. She loves the high riding truck sitting position... hehe...

Yes, looks is very subjective. Honestly. the hidden door lever for HRV's rear door to make it coupe'ish is really unnecessary. It's a SUV right? Why make it to look coupe'ish? For me, the word coupe cannot blend into SUV. Just my personal preference. I just prefer the normal door knob lever better.

Did you further lowered your RX-8 or the height is still stock?

The HRV rear door lever reminds me of the one in FD3S RX-7.