4G93T Club

Misfiring issue at 3500rpm & above

Just to share my experience in case someone else has it too. My almost stock GSR started misfiring at 3500rpm, regardless of what gear and whether on slow or rapid acceleration. Immediate suspects was ignition & electrical systems. Both were checked and discovered one of the spark plug cables was "leaking". That was replaced but issue remained.

Changed the air flow sensor, ECU, ignitors etc and problem still remained. In the end, was going to check entire wiring. But luckily discovered was that the issue was caused by a hole in the original intercooler hoses! So whilst the problem might point to logical causes, it is best to inspect/check all aspects.

Re: Misfiring issue at 3500rpm & above

interesting. I guess the alternator might not be providing enough power to the fans (1x for radiator, 1x for aircon) to operate at optimum speed, thus causing the temperature to go up during traffic jam.

yes. i think that's the culprit too. actually, before the temp went up, i already experience something funny when turning on my aircon on max fan speed. it will blow very fast for a sudden time, then go slow... then after sometime suddenly blow very fast again. my alternator already 'alerting' me... but i just thought maybe my air cond fan is dying and i let it be...

Just to share my experience in case someone else has it too. My almost stock GSR started misfiring at 3500rpm, regardless of what gear and whether on slow or rapid acceleration. Immediate suspects was ignition & electrical systems. Both were checked and discovered one of the spark plug cables was "leaking". That was replaced but issue remained.

Changed the air flow sensor, ECU, ignitors etc and problem still remained. In the end, was going to check entire wiring. But luckily discovered was that the issue was caused by a hole in the original intercooler hoses! So whilst the problem might point to logical causes, it is best to inspect/check all aspects.

if your intercooler hoses got hole... then, how bout your boosting reading? is lower? slow climb? spike?

Hey all GSRians, kindly seek all sifu's advice that my GSR swallow engine oil very kaukau. After service change oil filter & engine oil, car run abt 1000km and i check da engine oil level is LOW!!! atleast use 2btls for 5000km. Got white smoke when accelerate.

Need to overhaul entire engine? any recommend workshop? i wanted to use 4AZE supercharger piston 81.5mm reliable compared B8 piston? if use 81.5mm wat size Metal head gasket should i use? wher to buy any recommend? how much cost for overhaul kit?

will appreciate and thk u for all Sifu's give advice and comment.

anyone kena this b4?
i was installing tail lamp. i plug in the small bulb (t10?) the little leg dented (din notice) and short circuit it. so, i change the tail lamp fuse at the engine there. but still the tail lamp wont work along with my dashboard lighting... damn.. wat's wrong here?

kivl, in my opinion la.. buying 4AGZE piston cost MYR800 with rings. However you still need to send the piston and conrod to machine shop to prepare it for 4G93 use. Metal gasket 1.2mm or 1.5mm ok la if not boosting above 1.2bar. If you want kaw kaw, i got CP forged piston.. hehhe.. price roger me me bro... 0164786000

wailup, your wire fried ka? i think more fuse blown again this time.

hello sifu thr, If my engine camshaft change to racing 270 degree, need to change together with the cam pulley? and how to do the adjustment?

Hi there, need all help frm sifu here, my engine, when i turn on air cond, a lot of white smoke come out from exhaust and when i turn off air cond the smoke suddenly gone. it's quite mysteries for me since i can't find the problem. and later from that, i found out my engine oil at low level. according to my mechanic, its quite common for turbo engine. i believe it will be something else..:hmmmm:

thanks for viewing..

Hi there, need all help frm sifu here, my engine, when i turn on air cond, a lot of white smoke come out from exhaust and when i turn off air cond the smoke suddenly gone. it's quite mysteries for me since i can't find the problem. and later from that, i found out my engine oil at low level. according to my mechanic, its quite common for turbo engine. i believe it will be something else..:hmmmm:

thanks for viewing..

why don't u check ur turbo see whether leaking or not....
cause last time my turbo also give me that kinda warning before kong....

why don't u check ur turbo see whether leaking or not....
cause last time my turbo also give me that kinda warning before kong....

Hi bro,

already check it, but didn't find any leakage. is it possible my turbo cause this problem? cause when i 'tarik', i notify there was a little bit white smoke at back.

it is possible that ur turbo is causing the problem, if ur engine is not leaking anywhere else....
ur turbo oil seals maybe is showing some wear and tear.....(by the white smoke)
and would basically need a servicing job..
how long have u been using the turbo...?

my experience before almost the same as you...but it only happens when idling....
if idling too long, white smoke come out like choo choo train already....
then if i rev abit, the smoke all gone like it never happened...
turbo lasted about 6-8 months then kong already....hehehe :D

my wire no fried, only 1 fuse blow (the taillamp 10A fuse at engine bay)... after checking, the signal/headlamp switch could be faulty... now waiting for a halfcut de switch to test it. hopefully by changing that thing will cure it.. i kena twice already. 1st time, the signal switch jammed at bottom (keep flashing right turn). now, the knob for turning small light pulak kong... celaka betul.. luckily wira parts is CHEAP.

kivl, in my opinion la.. buying 4AGZE piston cost MYR800 with rings. However you still need to send the piston and conrod to machine shop to prepare it for 4G93 use. Metal gasket 1.2mm or 1.5mm ok la if not boosting above 1.2bar. If you want kaw kaw, i got CP forged piston.. hehhe.. price roger me me bro... 0164786000

wailup, your wire fried ka? i think more fuse blown again this time.

it is possible that ur turbo is causing the problem, if ur engine is not leaking anywhere else....
ur turbo oil seals maybe is showing some wear and tear.....(by the white smoke)
and would basically need a servicing job..
how long have u been using the turbo...?

my experience before almost the same as you...but it only happens when idling....
if idling too long, white smoke come out like choo choo train already....
then if i rev abit, the smoke all gone like it never happened...
turbo lasted about 6-8 months then kong already....hehehe :D

Hi bro,

Just done 2nd check on my engine, and found out that my turbo inlet & outlet was full of carbon, i'am supprisingly shock because last month, i already check it and is was clean b4. Try to ask my mechanic, but he suggested me to buy a 2nd turbo. he mention that the service, also same with buying a 2nd turbo. BTW, thanks bro for the help, really appreciate it..

if your intercooler hoses got hole... then, how bout your boosting reading? is lower? slow climb? spike?
Good question, I never looked at my boost meter but I suspect it dropped as the engine mis-fires. Anyways, after changing the hoses, everything is A-OK! :proud:

ya.. as long as everything fine. it's good. :burnout:

any sifu's help pls..
when i was driving..sometimes will suddenly feel the engine choking..
like something pulled the engine like tat..izzit something wrong with the spark plugs or plug coils?
its scary when choking..espeacially on high speed..

any sifu's help pls..
like something pulled the engine like tat..izzit something wrong with the spark plugs or plug coils?

why don't u try and see whether there are any hidden error codes that come up...
it could be the plugs/coils...if u have any spare parts lying around, u could do a trial and error...
good luck though..

---------- Post added at 05:45 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:43 AM ----------

Hi bro,

Just done 2nd check on my engine, and found out that my turbo inlet & outlet was full of carbon, i'am supprisingly shock because last month, i already check it and is was clean b4. Try to ask my mechanic, but he suggested me to buy a 2nd turbo. he mention that the service, also same with buying a 2nd turbo. BTW, thanks bro for the help, really appreciate it..

good to see u've traced the main cause of ur problem...:D

Hi all,

I am having a problem. When the engine is slowly revved up to 1.6k rpm, the rpm will automatically go back down to 1.0k rpm. Problem does not exist when engine is quickly revved or when aircon is turned on.

When that occurs, the TPS sensor output seems to be stuck at 0.6V (the voltage should come down to ~0.5V when idling at 1.0k rpm).

I have cleaned the TB and checked the hoses. No problem with the ISC or TPS as i have changed it several times and it is still the same symptom.

Any ideas what is going on ?

Hi bro,

Better check your TB. Maybe it is full of carbon too.

any sifu's help pls..

At what RPM is this occuring ?