ST 150 & AT 151 Corona

oh i c... well think of the possibility of also customizing a 5s block to the engine b4 adding the super charger! like they say in berry white's garage! big block twin cam super charger motor! easily put's out 400hp stock...:driver:

5S crossed my mind loooong time ago. What I found out was, the 5S' additional 200cc was in its stroke, meaning the block is taller & but not the bore (piston size is the same; 86mm).

So if I have to use the 5S block, I'll have to go for JPJ endorsement & might be not be able to pass it coz of the 25% ruling. The 2nd thing is, the 5S conrods aren't performance (being FE) unlike the GE's.

So if I were go for the stroker kit, I'd go for Honda parts. The K20 uses the same piston size as the 3S & they have oversize pistons to go for 2.3 liters ! Not only that, they have many brands & choices of forged pistons & other "go faster"parts.

I think I have most of the upgrading possibility angles covered quite extensively.:biggrin:

Who knows, maybe 1 day I might just have enough money to get the Rotrex centrifugal charger ! Or maybe I should just start off the Starlet + Rotary project,,,:burnout:

ok... but changing it to the 5s it still within the 25% limit from our original 1.8 rite??? get about 2.2 sumthing if i'm not mistaken...

Hmm, so 5S upgrade for 3S will be something like 4A upgrading to 7A block? JPJ part, I think it should probably be okay, cuz 1.8x1.25=2.25. But as always, you'll probably be sacrificing something for the additional low-end torque gained from the extra capacity. Like in the 4A to 7A upgrade, I've read that you can no longer rev as high due to the 7A being an FE hence the internals being not as strong. Apply that to the BEAMS.. Not so syok already lo, right? Since the BEAMS is designed to be a screamer anyway, if I'm not mistaken..:biggrin:

Hmm, Honda internals eh? Interesting.. A 2.3L BEAMS..? Maybe you can even ask Jacky for discount if he sells'em since his shop deals mostly with Hondas anyway, hehe. Cuz it sure will not come cheap.. Sigh. You will really feel the pinch trying to squeeze more power out of an NA engine.. Really envy the turbos in this sense :bawling:

Just increase the bore diameter can ? Use a larger piston head but remains the short stroke length to maintain the high revving characteristics ..

ok... but changing it to the 5s it still within the 25% limit from our original 1.8 rite??? get about 2.2 sumthing if i'm not mistaken...

My bad, didn't do the math. 1832 x 1.25 = 2290 cc:redface:

Hmm, so 5S upgrade for 3S will be something like 4A upgrading to 7A block? JPJ part, I think it should probably be okay, cuz 1.8x1.25=2.25. But as always, you'll probably be sacrificing something for the additional low-end torque gained from the extra capacity. Like in the 4A to 7A upgrade, I've read that you can no longer rev as high due to the 7A being an FE hence the internals being not as strong. Apply that to the BEAMS.. Not so syok already lo, right? Since the BEAMS is designed to be a screamer anyway, if I'm not mistaken..

Hmm, Honda internals eh? Interesting.. A 2.3L BEAMS..? Maybe you can even ask Jacky for discount if he sells'em since his shop deals mostly with Hondas anyway, hehe. Cuz it sure will not come cheap.. Sigh. You will really feel the pinch trying to squeeze more power out of an NA engine.. Really envy the turbos in this sense

Yeah, guess where I got the Honda info from ? Hahaha. You're quick, RR. Jacky's place. When I sent my car there, I had the whole day browsing his shop & ask all sorts of questions.

The part about money, let's not put that in this project coz that is the main turn off ! :laugh:

For the cost of the mod, I can get a 3S-GTE halfcut & probably still have some balance to spare.

Just increase the bore diameter can ? Use a larger piston head but remains the short stroke length to maintain the high revving characteristics ..

Not all blocks are thick enough to be bored that big, so it depends.

hi morning everyone..............seems like u all really going for this project huh,me yesterday headache for whole day still can figure out HOW TO INSTALL THE BOOST CONTROLLER ON MY ZE,......is it really that boost controller cant fit to the ZE?all sifu here give me a solution..........

Vince,

I don't think you can't control the GZE's boost by using the boost controller if your GZE's unmodded. That's why I asked you what you modded the other day.

Are you using a bigger crank pulley or standard size ? The boost is determined by the pulley size (either on the charger or the crank). A bigger pulley on the crank will increase the rpm of the charger, hence increasing the boost.

I'm no expert but I don't think you increase the boost by using the boost controller. To decrease the boost, maybe.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

---------- Post added at 12:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:24 AM ----------

Here's what some others discussed about force inducing the 3S-GE..

http://st162.net/forums/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=1725

Vince,

I don't think you can't control the GZE's boost by using the boost controller if your GZE's unmodded. That's why I asked you what you modded the other day.

Are you using a bigger crank pulley or standard size ? The boost is determined by the pulley size (either on the charger or the crank). A bigger pulley on the crank will increase the rpm of the charger, hence increasing the boost.

I'm no expert but I don't think you increase the boost by using the boost controller. To decrease the boost, maybe.

Please correct me if I'm wrong.

the crank had been upgrade to bigger pulley only the bypass valve i didnt take it out...........

Too late, someone's done it already; the 3s-GZE BEAMS !

http://www.mr2oc.co.uk/components/com_joomgallery/img_pictures/members_galleries_23/supercharged_3sge_86/charger_2_20100131_1923394361.jpg

http://www.mr2oc.co.uk/components/com_joomgallery/img_pictures/members_galleries_23/supercharged_3sge_86/sc_inlet_20100131_1452766707.jpg

http://www.mr2oc.co.uk/components/com_joomgallery/img_pictures/members_galleries_23/supercharged_3sge_86/timing_belt_20100131_1879974583.jpg

---------- Post added at 12:17 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:13 PM ----------

the crank had been upgrade to bigger pulley only the bypass valve i didnt take it out...........

So how much boost are you running right now ? & what do intend to do with the boost controller; to increase the boost ?

---------- Post added at 12:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:17 PM ----------

Here's more on the Supacharged BEAMS....

---------- Post added at 12:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:26 PM ----------

Someone asked about what to do with his Corona & the answer came 3 years later...:laugh:

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/car-modification/98576-toyota-corona-st150-convert-engine.html

damn............real nice the engine wonder how much it can go?

202r:i already call that guy i exchange the boost controller with adjustable campulley coz the is no way that it can fit supercharger.the charger only got 1 boost line so the result just change the adjustable cam pulley.btw my boost now at 0.8 .....if later on not enough then i will BOT it maybe or make another celina......:burnout:

Hmm, those ST162 guys are all going "it blew up! it blew up!" :laugh::laugh:

2o2r, where did the 3SGZE pics come from? The pics look impressive but no idea of how well it works..

Oh btw, that 4AGTE Corona in that old old thread, did it happen to belong to a certain Speedchaser? Edit: Found out that it IS Speedchaser's 4AGTE..

Vince, I don't think going the Celina way would be a good one because your chassis is also AT151, the 1.6 body Corona.. Putting in a 3S would require mounting fabrication and modification which might compromise your PUSPAKOM inspection. Not to mention the even more uneven weight distribution, the extra cash to be invested in better suspension, etc etc.. I sincerely think going the tried and tested turbo way would be better, not to mention cheaper and more "value for money".. In fact, I've seen at least a couple of 4AGTE running more than 300whp. Just my honest opinion.. Pardon me for being "keh poh", or busybody..:smile:

Hmm, those ST162 guys are all going "it blew up! it blew up!" :laugh::laugh:

2o2r, where did the 3SGZE pics come from? The pics look impressive but no idea of how well it works..

Oh btw, that 4AGTE Corona in that old old thread, did it happen to belong to a certain Speedchaser? Edit: Found out that it IS Speedchaser's 4AGTE..

Vince, I don't think going the Celina way would be a good one because your chassis is also AT151, the 1.6 body Corona.. Putting in a 3S would require mounting fabrication and modification which might compromise your PUSPAKOM inspection. Not to mention the even more uneven weight distribution, the extra cash to be invested in better suspension, etc etc.. I sincerely think going the tried and tested turbo way would be better, not to mention cheaper and more "value for money".. In fact, I've seen at least a couple of 4AGTE running more than 300whp. Just my honest opinion.. Pardon me for being "keh poh", or busybody..:smile:

yeah i heard that if i go for BOT for more than 300whp thats why i still keep searching info about,thanx for the opinion,btw we are friends wat no such thing as keh poh wan........i appreciate what u had share with me..................:pepsi:

i can't remember exactly, but most of us are using the ae92 disc brakes... if u want to use the ae111 disc brakes, u will also need the ae92 knuckles to fit them on our car.... lower arm use back use ur original car ones...

I've heard (so don't quote me on this) that AE1x1 rear discs can be used along with knuckles but need to weld something. Not sure whether it's lower arm. Whatever it is, I advise against welding your suspension parts.
Most direct thing to do is get AE92 discs along with knuckle, which has been discussed many times in this forum.

I've heard (so don't quote me on this) that AE1x1 rear discs can be used along with knuckles but need to weld something. Not sure whether it's lower arm. Whatever it is, I wouldn't welding your suspension parts.
Most direct thing to do is get AE92 discs along with knuckle, which has been discussed many times in this forum.

ok as quoted by rage,:biggrin: i have also heard of this by the many brilliant mec's in kl... but i do not agree on welding the joints on the lower arm... it just seems dangerous like rage said... with that said, y would u want to fix the whole thing when only the disc looks bigger on the ae111 compared on ae92???