Your Preference Engine Choice for TE71 Coupe

EG9

Subang Jaya
Hi guys, the reason why I post this topic just for the sake of fun and to see the creativity in term of engine choice for FR platform.

Objective: To Build a Balance Drift and Track FR Machine.

Must consider about power output and Reliability of the engine setup.

The car come with 4AGE 16V TVIS.

Here are a few engine option that you have, which one that you'll go for?

A: Mod existing 4AGE 16V TVIS with aftermarket flywheel and standalone ECU with DLI.

B: 7AGE with 16V head with standalone ECU and DLI run with stock 7AFE flywheel

C: Balcktop 20V with stock ECU and aftermarket flywheel.

Which one will be your choice and is possible please stated what is the reason of your choice.

Thanks Q!

JaHaX

Sep 21, 2005
i would go for either silvertop or blacktop ... preferably blacktop ... match it with t50 gearbox and all

then put 4 throttle to it ... my original plan for my TE71 ...:confused_smile:

TRDae92

Mar 24, 2005
Malaysia....
www.cardomain.com
I will got for A, since 16v performance parts and upgrade item easy to find and price also reasonable. Also due to financial, mod original 16v TVIS can save some money too.

EG9

Subang Jaya
trd_ae92 said:
I will got for A, since 16v performance parts and upgrade item easy to find and price also reasonable. Also due to financial, mod original 16v TVIS can save some money too.
Great great...even take the budget limitation in consideration.
same as my concern as well.

shamburke

Dec 9, 2003
Subang Jaya
i definitely go for c.

b/top engine ... 4 turtle to blow....heheheeee...

EG9

Subang Jaya
shamburke said:
i definitely go for c.

b/top engine ... 4 turtle to blow....heheheeee...
alo Sham, blow apa tu? :retarded:

shamburke

Dec 9, 2003
Subang Jaya
heheheee... its actually 4 throttle open pot ler!!!!kasi itu nagin blow in faster heeeeee

scomatic

Sep 20, 2005
Kota Bharu, Kel
Take 16V and add aftermarket part lor...

16V TVIS had alot of cheap stuff, variaty and easy to be found le...
Just don't take 16V non TVIS is enough... Plug cable damn hard to be found... haha

Performance output, i don't think it can loose to Silvertop too much. But VS with blacktop, sure blacktop win lor.. But need to consider the cost of converting also ma...

Want power from 16V? add turbo lor... 16V are most easiest to convert turbo (easy to powerover drift) le...
And durability of 16V also better. then later balance money add the standalone ECU, external wastegate, new adjustable, Hi cam, 2way LSD and flywheel lor...

So conclusion, use existing 16V and add more aftermarket part better la..

TRDae92

Mar 24, 2005
Malaysia....
www.cardomain.com
EG9 bro.....ur topic become rojak now....ahhaahhaa......lot of idea instead of ur question asking for.

Come on all bro......just ans A, B or C and give the reason just that simple. Don't make EG9 hard to choose again with his financial budget lar. He already sold his belove AE92, now he wanna make the right decision without wasting much $$$$$....

EG9

Subang Jaya
hahahahha....yes yes....actually I considering that 3 options only. Force Induction is not in my list.

EG9

Subang Jaya
Actually I've done some research before I post it up. Just wanna see you guys preference.

7Heaven

May 30, 2005
Ipoh/Kelantan
hey hey finally ur project car gonna start huh.... hehehe...
y dun u go for BT? last time ur AE92 also use BT ma, so u should know more about this type of engine....
some more 20V lighter then 16V right?

for me i will choose the BT

EG9

Subang Jaya
But remember this is FR layout. My previous platform is FF.
Powerband for 16V and 20V is different
If purely for drift, for sure I'll just stay with option A which is more then enough.
The low end torque for 16V is much better then 20V although I can't deny that it will lose to 20V in SIC.

another
"believe it or not - ripley's" - KC detailing adventure tales

the heat of the day...sun .... nearly gave me a stroke & a sun burn too

This car was pronounce beyond repair or detail & was doomed for respraying work...instead of restoration work...