Yokohama A.Drive R1 Series ???

jeff_ong

Aug 15, 2004
i plan to use 205/45/16 Yokohama A.Drive R1 Series on my ride...is it long lasting and how is the quality....coz i travel a lot...so need long lasting tyres....also wat do u people recommend for other type of brand or models...?

eujin

Jul 10, 2005
wajaland
im using yokohama AS 20(if u heard about it).....for driving comfort and grip.....great....for long lasting????i dun think so...coz all yokohama tyres or most of it..is soft compound bro....
go for goodyear eagle or bridgestone GIII...or falken st115...if u1 performance grip out of it..and mayb alittle longer lasting...
if u1 long lasting budget i guess goodyear NCT5 seems good...but dun buy simetyres no mater wat...
comfort and long lasting and good budget..i guess continental comfort is resonable....

jeff_ong

Aug 15, 2004
oh ok then i would avoid yokohama...
because i travel about 400km per week thus i need a longer lasting tyre.
I dun think i would put NCT 5 as it seems it is more towards comfort type.

Falken ST115 does not have the 45 series profile for 16 inches...they only have 50 series for 16 inches wheels.
What about Falken ZE512...it does have the 45 series profile...and does it last???

Which is Better???
Falken ZE512 or Bridgestone Potenza GIII

[s]UpErNoVa

Feb 8, 2006
Falken ZE512 provides good handling on cornerings but wears off quite fast lo.. Bridgestone Potenza GIII oso not bad.. handles cornering well but not sure bout de wear n tear though.. jus sat in my fren's MIVEC using tat set of tires last nite.. :regular_smile:

ed_vin

Mar 10, 2006
ive been using G3 for a year plus....size 195/50/15 on my civic eg4
i travel 400km within 4days....up n down pj, oso around klang town
sumtimes outstation, previously danga bay 4 the drift event....
G3 quite lasting....until 2day 20-30% left til the mark....below the mark wil b 15% left rite? correct me if im wrong....

other brands....BFgoodrich, Bridgestone MY-01, falken ST-115 use b4 not quite lasting, MAXXIS if thre is 45 series fr 16, NEXEN oso not bad...wear n tear im not sure....thts my suggestion, hopefully can help

try not to use yokohama....good quality, satisfy....but wear off fast
michelin oso same...wear off fast
the worst....NANKANG NS II....tyre look outstandin, for my usage 400km 4days....outstation as well....last me 4 months....botak, clean! hehehehe

long lasting...i prefer bridgestone :)

aja

Dec 3, 2003
I've been using Yoko A drive 205/50/16 for my car for almost one month. so far so good. Cost me around RM230/pcs inclusive the valve. As usual, grip on wet condition road and quiet tyre.

My previous experience using other series of yoko concluded me that these Yoko tyres could last around 30000kms (including of front & rear rotation), around 1 year of usage. The lifespan is depends how discpline u maintain yr tyre actually.

eujin

Jul 10, 2005
wajaland
ed_vin said:
ive been using G3 for a year plus....size 195/50/15 on my civic eg4
i travel 400km within 4days....up n down pj, oso around klang town
sumtimes outstation, previously danga bay 4 the drift event....
G3 quite lasting....until 2day 20-30% left til the mark....below the mark wil b 15% left rite? correct me if im wrong....

other brands....BFgoodrich, Bridgestone MY-01, falken ST-115 use b4 not quite lasting, MAXXIS if thre is 45 series fr 16, NEXEN oso not bad...wear n tear im not sure....thts my suggestion, hopefully can help

try not to use yokohama....good quality, satisfy....but wear off fast
michelin oso same...wear off fast
the worst....NANKANG NS II....tyre look outstandin, for my usage 400km 4days....outstation as well....last me 4 months....botak, clean! hehehehe

long lasting...i prefer bridgestone :)
dun forget kumho oso......haha

jeff bro....u can choose bridgetone MY-01 or GIII...or even yokohama advan...if u drive normal normal..any tires can last more thn a year..if u love go genting for training...any tyre will fade less thn a year...i guess travelling..bridgestone would b better choice......u still hv alot choice in hand....just my 2cents

jeff_ong

Aug 15, 2004
i am still considering whther to put in should i fix 205/40/17 because currently i am running on 215/35/18 and i felt that it is very bumpy...and i am going oversea at the end of this year and my mum will drive my car...

i am afraid by changing to 205/40/17 it will still be that bumpy and if hit pothole it will still be very damaging like my 18 inches rim....

should i change to 17 inch with 40 series profile??? coz my 18 inch 35 series profile sidewall is very thin only...wat about 40 series profile how thick is it...??

and also i travel a lot and use north south highway to genting and penang...
will 40 series tyres be too bumpy??

ed_vin

Mar 10, 2006
jeff_ong said:
i am still considering whther to put in should i fix 205/40/17 because currently i am running on 215/35/18 and i felt that it is very bumpy...and i am going oversea at the end of this year and my mum will drive my car...

i am afraid by changing to 205/40/17 it will still be that bumpy and if hit pothole it will still be very damaging like my 18 inches rim....

should i change to 17 inch with 40 series profile??? coz my 18 inch 35 series profile sidewall is very thin only...wat about 40 series profile how thick is it...??

and also i travel a lot and use north south highway to genting and penang...
will 40 series tyres be too bumpy??

wah...running on 18 now...wanna go for 205/40/17
hmm...wat car u drivin? frm wat i c....more or less the same as ur 18in if u chng to 40/17.....it is oso thin....mayb 205/45/17
205/40/17 oso quite bumpy...n thin as well....genting n penang....even wear off faster....coz low profile
if can...use 215/45/17....jus nice....abit comfort ride

jeff_ong

Aug 15, 2004
cannot coz my car max can go only 215/40/17....if go 45 series profile on a 17 inch rim sure scrub the chasis and mudguard 1...

is there a lot of difference in 205/40/17 or 215/40/17 AND 215/35/18

Its pretty common to see Mat salleh adding 2T as additives in their petrol/diesel tank (can do search from BITOG). They usually use TCW3 rated 2T since it is ashless and will not dirty up the combusion chamber..

when added to petrol/diesel, the 2T basically lubricate and clean up the fuel pump, injector top piston and etc.. This will give a very smooth ride and better fuel consumption... I have tried it myself and found that the car become very smooth but nothing much improve on the FC...