which kicker subwoofer should i use?

vin_chan

Aug 26, 2006
actually i am using a kicker kx600.1 monoblock amplifier. now i wan to upgrade my subwoofer. should i go with a kicker s12l7 o a pair of kicker cvr12?
hope all the sifu here can give me some opinion!

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
You can even get close to full potenial of the L7 with only 600w. The CVR should be a good choice. The cost of L7 is more than 2 12" CVR. I'll suggest to get loud get 2 15" CVR over a single L7. 300w rms to each sub should get you good numbers.

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
well the L7 is rated 750w rms but it can take up to 1000w rms no problem at all. But for 1 L7 price can get you 2 15" CVR which is loud. Why dont you consider other subs ? RE SX for sickly loud.

vin_chan

Aug 26, 2006
actually i am interested in kicker at all. so dun consider other brands. so you will choose 2 cvr12? then how to differentiate the voice coil? should go with 2 ohms or 4 ohms for better sound?

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
the kicker monoblock amp u chose is only stable up to 2ohm with 600W output. if u had 2 subs u will only be feeding each sub 300W, which for me is not enuff for either sub model that u have chosen. so if u were to choose a single sub, youre better of with the L7 as it looks to be the better quality sub. get the dvc 4 ohm model so u can wire it in parallel to get 2ohm and 600W to feed the sub. also u will need to make a larger than recommended enclosure size, since youre feeding it with less power, the L7 is 750W rms, if space is a problem youre better off with the cvr as it is 400W rms

vin_chan

Aug 26, 2006
feel a bit confuse at all! this amp not enough to push two crv12? others from cvr12 n s12l7, which sub would u recommend?

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
my bet is 2 X 15" CVR with 350w on each of them is louder than a single 12L7 with 735w. As power is an issue 2 15" CVR with 700w (or more) has more cone area compared to a single 12". A 35w rms wont get you even 1dB difference musically.

Not neccesary for 400w rms sub needs 400w of power. Efficientcy do count. Since you want to have the L7 means you are prepared to have a large ported enclosure.

Well for my preference (I will never buy a sub or amp based on brands) You can get as loud as L7 with less cost with the type r. Just get a single 15" port it and feed it with 735w (even its rated with 500w) and it will be loud. RE SX for really loud and MX for insanely loud.

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
vin_chan said:
feel a bit confuse at all! this amp not enough to push two crv12? others from cvr12 n s12l7, which sub would u recommend?
this amp slightly underpower la, not to say no sound from the sub, just that if u can get a more powerful amp u will get much better bass from it.

this sub will give each of the CVR sub 300W only, the cvr sub rating is 400W rms, 800W rms max. for me i would prefer to feed it around 600W..

also if u use single L7 and u feed it 600W (if u get the dvc 2 ohm sub) the sub rating is 750W rms and 1500W max, for something like this 1000W would be nice...

so if u have no other choice and still want to proceed, get the sub box to be larger than recommended since u will be underpowering it, so u need to compensate it lah

vin_chan

Aug 26, 2006
i start to feel that i hav choose a wrong amp for my sub!
anyway, may b i will try to use 2 cvr 12 n leave L7. hope that i can get a satisfied sound setting. anyway, thank you for all the sifu here for giving a hand!

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
ok make sure u get the dvc 2ohm version. wire the voice coils in series first, and then wire the 2 subs in parallel, this way u get 2ohm to the amp, gives u 600W, and then each sub will get 300W each. if the shop only has the dvc 4 ohm version, buy one unit only and wire it in parallel. 600W to one sub, perh....power beb....:baring_teeth:

vin_chan

Aug 26, 2006
thank you for ur tips!
but it must has a difference between 1 and a pair sub, rite? then y i should take 1? or it will juz a bit sound difference?

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
i have tried this before, 500W running 2 subs, and 500W running single sub, the single one gave the higher SPL score. not only bcoz the sub gets more power but the box was also larger. with the 2 subs each sub only gets 250W and enclosure was smaller for each sub. all done with same amp, same sub model and in same car, in 2 rounds of iasca 2003 competition. im sure some ppl will disagree with me and say 2 subs will definitely sound louder than 1 bcoz of more surface area, but i just wanna share what happened to me.

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
vin_chan said:
i start to feel that i hav choose a wrong amp for my sub!
anyway, may b i will try to use 2 cvr 12 n leave L7. hope that i can get a satisfied sound setting. anyway, thank you for all the sifu here for giving a hand!
Actually im referring to 2 CVR 15" (fifteen inch) not the 12". It doesnt jusstify a single 12L7 to 2 X 12" CVR.

well my experience is last time i had 1 12" CVR with 400w on them. After that got another 12" built a new box with dual port with 200w on each of them and the difference is night and day. and after that got a new amp and power them ( I think i overpowered them) and the difference is day and moon.

Hi guys, im just wonderin which muffler is the best for an auto tranny car with turbo. Semi flow or Straight flow? I know the general rule:
- Semi is better for AT cos of backpressure & pick up (low end)
- Straight is better for MT & high RPM (top end)
But it becomes a bit more complicated (at least for me) to figure out the best setup for AT turbo. I read here - What is the best Muffler for Turbo ?? - SR20...