Which is better for soundproofing ?

dripinrain

Aug 18, 2009
When travel fast, i had to up the volume to compensate for outside noise.

Looked around & got 2 options -

Rubberised spray
Workshop will spray the undercarriage & wheel well. Also said to be good to prevent corrosion & stones hitting below.

Damping/soundproofing strips
Workshop will lay on floor until firewall.

As the cost for both is nearly same, i wonder which option i should go for. Hope to get expert advice from bros before i commit my $.

pedas_385

Jan 20, 2010
iam using 1 cm aircond isulator.
verry cheap if you do it your self.
costing less than rm100 for internal including inside door
but if you done it at acessories shop, it will cost you about rm800

arturo

nooB
SateCelupLand
for those aircon insulator(some call superlon - brand name) can go to upholstery shop to buy bulk or get those with adhesive from ninja_iqa(precut). my roof has 16mm of this stuff n really cuts the heat n raindrop sounds off, but what i noticed is, this superlon cuts out higher freq sounds better than mid n lower freq sounds so sounds like tyre n wind n muffler sound still gets thru.

appleyard

Dec 20, 2004
Kota Kinabalu
superlon is for dampening, dynamat, sika, hustmat etc is for soundproof

duck_killer99

Mar 29, 2006
good and reputable, i would say the following, dynamat, sika, and stp(this is the most extreme 1, from rmXX-rmXXX/piece also got, dun forget is juz cash n carry, not include labor yet)

MyWifeCar

Jun 19, 2009
Puchong, Sgor
I would say go for both. Cut down both noise and you'll get rid of more noise~

Option 1 mainly for wind noise, option 2 is for road noise...It works differently.

Anyone tried using one of these? Open up the valve will give a noisy ride but improve in power and closed it when you need a silent ride, but what are the problem known after installing it? can the electric motor stand the heat of the exhaust? All the sifus please advice.