wat is the right size for sgti piping

gggti

Apr 1, 2005
n/a
Currently,my gti is in all ori condition,which means 1 catalytic,2 center box (first one big,second one small),then to the twin tail pipe muffler.
so i m planning to remove the catalytic(then replace by one silencer) n the 2 center box,wat diameter should i use for piping,some say 2 inch good but more fuel consumption,some say 1.75 inch good n less fuel,i really blur.N also wats the piping size is normally use in track?

If i wan to change the muffler,is the oval type better or the N-1 type better.

MILLION APPRECIATE OF UR ADVICE.

Zeroed

Our original piping are press bent, some parts are 1.7" while some other are almost 2"... a consistently 2" one would be pretty good for everyday driving I think.
Get a S-flow type muffler for your end exhaust, one that looks like our original muffler but with only one outlet. The N-1 straight flow type may drive you nuts, unless you like loud exhausts noise. :D

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
remove d CAT by install an extractor wit 2" piping from front to end.....but some suggest 1.8" coz 2.0" will los some power( Not Sure)...

by removing CAT..ur cat will be response better coz CAT is damn heavy n big....haha

n it is not so suggest to put in straight flow muffler ( for turbo mostly) so S-flow will be better.........tis is my view (corect me if im wrong)....ok?

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
doesnt hot bits make a kit for the sgti? which isnt a s-flow exhaust? the s-flow is just like the twin outlet gti exhaust right just with 1 pipe instead of two? i myself am looking for a good exhaust kit for my gti but want something well muffled and low hump at high rpm with good power gain. and of course something i wont have to replace should i decide on forced induction kits...

euthanasia

Jan 3, 2004
a

i think the optimum piping if u're going for press bent is 2.25 inch. coz some part will be 2 inch.

beatnik

Nov 28, 2004
deacon
yes speedworks do have exhaust kit for SGTI. the piping is 2". sound is very quiet. good for midrange power.

gggti

Apr 1, 2005
n/a
huakenny said:
remove d CAT by install an extractor wit 2" piping from front to end.....but some suggest 1.8" coz 2.0" will los some power( Not Sure)...

by removing CAT..ur cat will be response better coz CAT is damn heavy n big....haha

n it is not so suggest to put in straight flow muffler ( for turbo mostly) so S-flow will be better.........tis is my view (corect me if im wrong)....ok?
sorry for my stupidness, wat is CAT ?

gggti

Apr 1, 2005
n/a
euthanasia said:
i think the optimum piping if u're going for press bent is 2.25 inch. coz some part will be 2 inch.
HUh, 2.25 too big la (fuel consuming la)
Anyway,thanks for ur post.

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
set! speedworks it is then ;) ... got another question. i feel like my gti is having trouble getting to 6k rpm. i know thats where all usable power comes to a drop but is it supposed to be like that? has anyone changed any parts and piggy backed with s-afc had this improve or still the same?

gggti

Apr 1, 2005
n/a
Speedwork=hot bits , m i rite???
very mahal! 2k for the whole exhaust system ,as long as i can remember.
So ,does any1 no wat piping size is used in GTI track car?

beatnik

Nov 28, 2004
bro gggti,

the set costs about RM1k+ only

btw R3 also using hotbits right? but the mid section is a bit different (using cat)

deacon,
can u ask speedwork if group buy got discount or not? :D

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
i have no idea hehe i guess i might

tombstone

Mar 1, 2005
deacon said:
set! speedworks it is then ;) ... got another question. i feel like my gti is having trouble getting to 6k rpm. i know thats where all usable power comes to a drop but is it supposed to be like that? has anyone changed any parts and piggy backed with s-afc had this improve or still the same?
bro...have u changed ur extractor? air filter?

change it first, then u can rev till 7k smoothly la :)

cos the ori extractors still quite restrictive... so u can mix and match ..

for eg, for my car, i m using powerzone extractor and hotbitz mids to exit.

hotbits mid got 2 box therefore very very quiet kit...still got a bit of growl but very quiet and nice to drive wif..:)
Recommended....u pay for what u get :)

juz my fitty cent...

hi sifu. im driving wira. i dono why for past few months,, my car dashboard, floor all vibrate when my car in idle state.

whenever i press the air cond button, it shakes more. sometimes i feel like want to take off the dashboard.

what should i do to cure this problem:banghead::banghead::banghead:? n im goin to transplant engine this June !!