Tuffoil and rebuilt Engine Break in

yewjunyan

Known Member
Jun 19, 2006
Dear Focal Point,

Good day to you!

I had just recently overhaul my 15 years car's engine (top overhaul and change piston ring) after travelling for 530,000km in my proton wira. The engine cylinder still in good shape since i have been using tufoil for many years. Thanks to tufoil to surprise my forman on such a little wear on my engine block and bearings after such millage. I change piston ring and valve seal just to reduce the engine oil consumption problem, before it was 500ml every 6000km. (I am stingy on oil loss)

Now my question is, would tuffoil caused my new rings unable to seat/run in nicely to cylinder wall? If it is possible, I would not like to miss a Tuffoil treatment for my car for even for 1 oil change, i never miss it since 6 years ago after i tried the 1st bottle in my 4G15.

According to the user guide, it is necessary to enable a new engine to run in before using Tuf treatment, would it be necessary for an rebuild engine with new rings? If that is a must i would have no choice but to compromise for good ring seal at the expense of more wear on the other part of engine due to the absent of Tuf treatment.

Your advice will be highly appreciated.

Thank you.

FocalPoint

500 RPM
Apr 26, 2004
Hi! Yewjunyan. How are you? I suppose you belong to a university in the north if I am not mistaken.

First, it is certainly amazing and quite a feat to run an engine for some half a million kilometers before doing a rings change. You should contact the car maker and maybe qualify for the free make-over scheme. The cylinders must be in excellent condition and perhaps with a very smooth surface.