suspension bushings

kariayam

Oct 3, 2007

1}My Fd has clunking noise at the rear when going on bad uneven roads at low speed i.e 10-40 km/h.

I'm suspecting the bushes and ball joints could be worn out.

Have any one of u guys changed the bushings/ball joints of your FD front and rear suspension system(i.e lower arm/upper arm/trailing arm/ etc.)?

Which bush is the most need to be changed( that is always wear out)?

How many bushes/what brand that u have changed and how much $$?

Which workshop did u go to install the bushes?

2}In different case,

My steering feels very very light when cruising at any speed( light throttle). But it gets more firm when more throttle is applied. is this normal for a FD? Or what could be wrong according to u guys?

kariayam

savahn

Feb 16, 2007
Huh... clunking sound is too vague. Can't you just take it to Ah Choy?

There are several types of clunking sound for the rear:
1. Suspension attachment to the strut tower is loose
2. Bushing at top of suspension strut broke
3. Rear seat holders have worn out (if you have lah)
4. something hanging loose

It is very rarely the suspension arms having problems and if it is, best you have a mech check it out.

phat7

May 21, 2004
The differential bushings are very susceptible to failure. Check that.
I got the Delrin groupbuy set on the big forum couple of years ago at USD 600 i think.
Ah choy is the guy to see and he has a shop with a proper press to install them.

kariayam

Oct 3, 2007
Thanks for the reply guys.

Phat7,

USD600 for complete bushings? D u think Ah Choy have the stocks for all the bushings?

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
I have the complete list of Super Pro bushes for FD3S with prices. Get yours inspected and let me know which u need, ill pass u the no's and you can pick em up from Super Pro's dealer in Batu Caves.

kariayam

Oct 3, 2007
Thanks for the info SWG,

Can I have the list for complete rear bushings?D U have any experience with the super pro? Which part do people usually use the super pro bushings? may be only at upper arms lower arms or all?

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
Im yet to get mine replaced. Will replace em in the next few months in stages. Quite pricey :p

Herez the list of for rear ones.

CONTROL ARM UPPER-INNER BUSHING R SPF2678K 380.00
CONTROL ARM UPPER-INNER BUSHING (ADJ CB) SPF2679K 490.00
DIFFERENTIAL TO CROSS MEMBER BUSH R SPF2674K 250.00
SHOCK ABSORBER -LOWER BUSHING R SPF2680K 180.00
TOE CONTROL ARM-INNER BUSHING R SPF2675K 180.00
TOE CONTROL ARM-OUTER BUSHING R SPF2676K 180.00

U can get these from Kenneth TEL:603-61888917, 61866670

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
elsm,

for FC or FD ? I only got the list for FD

elsm80

Mar 21, 2006
FD bro... I think my links, bushes and joints are all kinda heading to RX heaven already. Time to freshen and tighten the old girl.

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
here u go :

STEERING RACK & PINION MOUNT BUSH-POWER F SPF2370K 190.00
CONTROL ARM UPPER-INNER BUSHING F SPF2821K 320.00
CONTROL ARM LOWER-INNER FRONT BUSH F SPF2822K 350.00
CONTROL ARM LOWER-INNER REAR BUSH F SPF2823K 350.00

elsm80

Mar 21, 2006
Thanks a lot. How do we go about ordering these items? And whom usually installs them?

SideWaysGrey

May 12, 2004
Seremban, NS
Get in touch with Kenneth bro, 03-61888917, 61866670. I reckon most mechanics should be able to replace the bushes....not sure if any links require special tools to open/press out. To be safe, ah choy la bro hehe

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
Cheaper solution will be buy total 1L of polyurethane resin grade shore A70. Remove the whole rubber bushing from the arm or link, put back the metal guide at the center of the part then pour the resin and let it cure/dry. If too stiff, then drill 4-5 small holes on the cured resin. More work but material cost is less than RM200.

i wan to change my gbox from 4g15 m tu 4g91 a. do i need to put ecu and wayering semula? recently, i went to kedai potong at bentong, and they said, i have to put the ecu and rewayering also, but some of them said no need to do that. mana satu betul ni???