im using a 1983 e28........
how to cuci da spark plugs?

the plugs are
SPARK PLUGS BOSCH SUPER BP5ES
W8DC

can sum1 teach me any other ways to wash the plugs?
the technique im using now is
i first wash it in petrol.....then i use a tooth brush to wash the head.......then i wash again n use the sand paper to scrap the black stuffz....(if not mistaken is copper oxide) then i wash again.......kau tim.....clean like new....
any other wayz? plz share

*reposting this again.....hmmph....help plzzz :(

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
my dad once told me.. after wash de plugs.. u need to adjust de gaps.. 0.8mm is good enough.. u need a filler gauge to do dat...

just hit de metal thing where it spark onto something hard to make de gap smaller.. if too much liao.. use de filer gauge to push it back again..
this onli can be done to normal type of plug with one metal conductor.. those with 2 sides or 4 side metal wan. hard to do...

i've tried dat long time ago... it works..

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
i think u can get it in sparepart shop...

if kenot get.. u ask those mechanic c where they buy it..

i personally also not sure where to get it.. i used my dad wan... :P

Jamrud

May 16, 2004
that means, when u take out the plugs and wash them, then if put back just like that, they wont work? or the car wont start izzit?

Jamrud

May 16, 2004
Btw, izzit true that if u use those power plugs like spitfire foe example or those racing plugs, if your engine cant take it, your pistons/piston rings will spoil?

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
Originally posted by Jamrud@Mar 11 2005, 10:56
that means, when u take out the plugs and wash them, then if put back just like that, they wont work? or the car wont start izzit?
no... they will still work... u c.. spark plugs tend to wear out over time... especially on de electrode there... so de gap will be bigger or smaller... so we adjust de gap back to original so dat u get a good spark...

normally ppl nowadays dun do dat anymore.. spark plug old? just change it... i remember when i was small, i saw my dad service de spark plugs once in a while.. but i duno wat he did to de plug lar.. i was still a kid.. just know dat was spark plugs..

unclebabi

haha......
too bad la......a new set of spark plugs(6 piece) could onli last up to about 1 month and a half.....cant reali change everytime....not tht rich.....aihhh....so hav to figure a way to reduce cost.....

anyone noes where can i buy WR9LS spark plugs? they are frequent used in da bmw 80's series.......now cannot get liao.....ask alot of shops.....but cannot get.....hmmph...

unclebabi

my car is e28
the plug is Bosch W8DC.....
nvm la.....suan la ....nobody can help la....
i guess i hav to find back the bmw specialist
thanz alot anywayz...

Maxx

Feb 17, 2005
PD-Putrajaya-KL
Originally posted by unclebabi@Mar 14 2005, 16:59
my car is e28
the plug is Bosch W8DC.....
nvm la.....suan la ....nobody can help la....
i guess i hav to find back the bmw specialist
thanz alot anywayz...
maybe u can use other brand that is compatible, champion, ngk, etc..

can try search the web for compatibility. forgot the link. :(

GSR_X

Aug 13, 2004
better buy new one la bro BP5ES 16 bucks for 4 pieces hehe
but if u want to clean.. then use PETROL
and then adjust the gap if not u might have misfiring and worst ignition

jamestang2000

Mar 15, 2005
Spark Plug got speacial cleaner, that cleaner using sand to clean the spark plug but i don't think Mas got it .

If u want to clean it, just can use semi-hard brush or soft brush. Hard brush is no recomended if u spark plug is exp .....

unclebabi

BP5ES
wht plug is tht? compatible for wht cars? got any other further info bout tht plug? hehe...

by right i searched the web ......they are using WR9LS bosch plugs.....but they are not selling it aledi......the bmw specialist also call us buy this plug......so buy onli loh.....

hmm.....plug cleaner not in MAS...? yeh...actually who wans to take the trouble n time to clean those.....aihh.....onli ppl like me......FORCED to do......aihh.....

I just bought a HID entire headlight assembly (not just conversion kit) off of ebay. It appears that the xenon light is on a swivel hinge because it can move up and down inside the assembly. I've heard that many cars that come stock with HIDs have a sensor that will control a motor that auto levels the beams. Obviously my car will not have this sensor because it did not come with xenons.

Do you think maybe I the assembly I bought will only work properly on a car that has this sensor...