Some questions regarding coilovers.

vyndicator

Known Member
Aug 5, 2005
Selangor
Hello fellow Hondarians,

I am currently at a crossroad in choosing a reasonable set of shocks. I am considering a Tein Super Street coilover but I have seen a D2 coilover going for much less. Has anyone tried these coilovers and could you guys shed some light as to help me decide? Would appreciate any comments you guys can offer! Thanks a bunch.

p.s Currently running on Koni + Eibachs, how would the above coilover compare with these as I have never tried coilovers before.

amdfaisal

4,000 RPM
Sep 6, 2004
Bawah jembatan
koni + eibach for civic EK? i used that setup before and now for my 'old-man' accord m using tein but not superstreet la. IMHO, my accord's handling is much better now compared to what i felt with my civic. comfort level i think is at par with koni + eibach.

one thing i didn't like about koni+ eibach... my car was not as low as i wanted it to be :)

vyndicator

Known Member
Aug 5, 2005
Selangor
Nope, forgot to mention that its on my EG. However, the Koni + Eibach setup I still have on right now, drops the front by 1.2 and rear by 1.4 inches. Even with such a drop, it causes me to scrape the mudflaps and sometimes the exhaust piping whenever driving over bumps. Darn it for not having proper speed bumps...

The (spring rate)specs I got for the Tein SS are 7kg/mm front and 3kg/mm rear
whereas the D2 coilovers are at 12kg/mm front and 6kg/mm rear. Any idea how harsh the ride would be with the above settings? How does a D2 stack up agaist a Tein? Although the D2's are from Taiwan, they look pretty darn good.I really have not tried a coilover and I am still new in this,so any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a bunch guys!

avantasia

4,000 RPM
Sep 27, 2004
TeAM C.R.D KL
Visit site
get 1 set of brand new if affordable!!! D2 also new name in malaysia but quality wise and performance so far so good from what i heard from 1 of es owner!!!!!

chris2000

1,000 RPM