Problems With 4G93 Eterna

monmon

Mar 13, 2004
Constant move
:) looks like many of u are also having fun with the 4G93 eterna. I had one too, transplanted into a Proton Arena. gotta admit, it's a god damn headache. Yes, consumption sucks, mine was auto, and i could only manage 250kms on a full tank. i had also done a full overhaul, changed to mivec pistons, new throttle body, K&N.........etc etc. It's still a sucky engine, but johndilla my friend, i cannot help u with ur problem...

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
:) looks like many of u are also having fun with the 4G93 eterna. I had one too, transplanted into a Proton Arena. gotta admit, it's a god damn headache. Yes, consumption sucks, mine was auto, and i could only manage 250kms on a full tank. i had also done a full overhaul, changed to mivec pistons, new throttle body, K&N.........etc etc. It's still a sucky engine, but johndilla my friend, i cannot help u with ur problem...
Ha ha both of us also faced the same problem.Even u change to mivec piston it still suck? So i must change my plan to do it.Maybe i will change the ecu and wiring first. Regarding the fuel consumption, 250 km/h is very unreasonable...Kopak duit woo...But mine still ok about 450 kmh per full tank. Maybe something wrong with your engine tuning. Any eterna user,share your experience here....

monmon

Mar 13, 2004
Constant move
I think the solution is not to buy this engine. I just threw away the manual, i could probably still pick it back up. anyone want it? it's amazing u get 450! u got a 80 litre tank is it? i don't know of any 4G93 that gets 450 even in manual, my Gti manages 350 only.

I can't tell what i suspect is wrong with the engine. it is very very likely to be the wiring and ecu. that's just abt the only thing i never touched. but that's going to be a huge headache, it's real messy behind the dash... i sold the car in the end, i didn't think it was worth looking at anymore.

malyadayada

Oct 28, 2004
hehhehe the craziest mileage i got was in track day onli consume Rm20 of petrol, whacking the track fer whole 3 hours onli rested fer about 20 mins in interval...
the car was jerking, like inadquate petrol given....thought it was the tank. did clean the tank 3 times!!!!! n the culprit was the CAS not that tight enough....
the whole wiring were reassemble back n rojak...

still using it n the car just top overhaul no tepet sounds :D
the engine is gr8t to me...
dyno onli did get 110 atw bone stockkk

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
I think the solution is not to buy this engine. I just threw away the manual, i could probably still pick it back up. anyone want it? it's amazing u get 450! u got a 80 litre tank is it? i don't know of any 4G93 that gets 450 even in manual, my Gti manages 350 only.
Its true my car use for long distance everyday for 90 km from Muar to Batu Pahat (1 hour period) for full tank can use from monday to friday.So 90km times 5 days it will be 450 km right? I use Satria.Before i retune my engine, the fuel consumption around rm110 for 450 km.

satria81

Sep 19, 2005
PETALING JAYA
im using this engine too,sadly but its been like 1 yr plus after installation but there some probs, that is yet to be solved.Power wise,on a personal level,i cant get anywhere even close to a malaysian 4g93p...be it putra,gti,le or what ever...sad(:.But surprisingly,ive never exp'ed any breakdown or wiring probs so far.

My ECU-6123(MMC)

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
im using this engine too,sadly but its been like 1 yr plus after installation but there some probs, that is yet to be solved.Power wise,on a personal level,i cant get anywhere even close to a malaysian 4g93p...be it putra,gti,le or what ever...sad(:.But surprisingly,ive never exp'ed any breakdown or wiring probs so far.

My ECU-6123(MMC)
Even with 4g92p also this engine kena tapau at traffic light. One more engine got the same problem (less power) is 4g92 dohc non mivec from japan halfcut.4g15 can beat it.

satria81

Sep 19, 2005
PETALING JAYA
Even with 4g92p also this engine kena tapau at traffic light. One more engine got the same problem (less power) is 4g92 dohc non mivec from japan halfcut.4g15 can beat it.
well,ive not really tested at traffic lights,but one for sure is the power is not there as its supposed to be.Dunno whether it's caused by the ECU(6123) or someother unknown reason...the piston is flat,real flat.The 4g93p-putra/gti has a little curve on top of its pistons.

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
well,ive not really tested at traffic lights,but one for sure is the power is not there as its supposed to be.Dunno whether it's caused by the ECU(6123) or someother unknown reason...the piston is flat,real flat.The 4g93p-putra/gti has a little curve on top of its pistons.
u are right.The piston is real flat like gsr piston.The compression also low.I make this comparison between 4g93 e52 and 4g93p:

I get this spec from my surf for 4g93p(r3).This is the difference:
4g93p
POWERTRAIN
ENGINE 4G93P 4-cylinder 16 valve
MAXIMUM POWER
R3- Max output 105kW/140bhp @ 6100rpm
Gti- Max. output 139.9 PS (138.0 bhp) (102.9 kW)@6000 rpm
Eterna- Max output 102.97kW/140ps(138.23hp) @ 6500rpm

MAXIMUM TORQUE
R3- 168 Nm @5600rpm
GTi- 164.0 Nm (121 lbft) (16.7 kgm)@5500 rpm
MITSUBISHI- 166.71 Nm @5000 rpm

Compression ratio
GTi- 10.5:1
Eterna - 9.5:1

TRANSMISSION
5-speed manual

GTi and r3 produce higher bhp in lower rpm.The torque for r3 and gti at higher rpm. So from this spec sheet,what the conclusion? Can ppl or sifu give conclusion?I can see the compression ratio of eterna 4g93 is lower .Thats why it produce slower response than 4g93p.But for high rpm it still can give maximum output like 4g93p.If i am wrong plz correct me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

boyzone

Mar 13, 2005
That simple, what do u think if we reduce GTI/R3 compressor ratio to 9.5:1?
Are they able to hit 140ps as well?

satria81

Sep 19, 2005
PETALING JAYA
bro,

1)what do u think?will the compression be higher if only i change it to the ori putra/gti pistons?

2)Btw,I do suffer from lost black oil,very noticeable esp after running new oil change for like 3000kms...anyone else having this problem?

u are right.The piston is real flat like gsr piston.The compression also low.I make this comparison between 4g93 e52 and 4g93p:

I get this spec from my surf for 4g93p(r3).This is the difference:
4g93p
POWERTRAIN
ENGINE 4G93P 4-cylinder 16 valve
MAXIMUM POWER
R3- Max output 105kW/140bhp @ 6100rpm
Gti- Max. output 139.9 PS (138.0 bhp) (102.9 kW)@6000 rpm
Eterna- Max output 102.97kW/140ps(138.23hp) @ 6500rpm

MAXIMUM TORQUE
R3- 168 Nm @5600rpm
GTi- 164.0 Nm (121 lbft) (16.7 kgm)@5500 rpm
MITSUBISHI- 166.71 Nm @5000 rpm

Compression ratio
GTi- 10.5:1
Eterna - 9.5:1

TRANSMISSION
5-speed manual

GTi and r3 produce higher bhp in lower rpm.The torque for r3 and gti at higher rpm. So from this spec sheet,what the conclusion? Can ppl or sifu give conclusion?I can see the compression ratio of eterna 4g93 is lower .Thats why it produce slower response than 4g93p.But for high rpm it still can give maximum output like 4g93p.If i am wrong plz correct me.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
bro,

1)what do u think?will the compression be higher if only i change it to the ori putra/gti pistons?

2)Btw,I do suffer from lost black oil,very noticeable esp after running new oil change for like 3000kms...anyone else having this problem?
I suggest change to mivec piston, gti/putra wiring and ecu, change the gearbox final ratio for better pick up. Before this my engine overheating cause radiator leaking.My wife not aware it until that engine knocking and smoke.Fortunately no engine problem or any internal engine parts damage .Only the gasket got leaking.Just change the gasket and everything is ok.If your lubricants oil reduce, better change all the gasket (overhaul gasket) cost u around rm270 for one set (made in japan) if got leaking.If no leaking but white smoke come out from exhaust, better u make the top overhaul coz your engine "makan minyak hitam" already.

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
hehehe just did my overhaul...
eat engine oil a bit...
looks like faulty/old valve seal..
bought the top set consist of valve seal, gaskets cost me RM550.......
why so expensive? rm550 with over haul service charge or just topset gasket? Are u using metal head gasket?

malyadayada

Oct 28, 2004
just the top gasket everything is original....
took me some time to source out the parts.........
the valve seal much more better than Top Gasket quoted with RM 380....
did wanted to use metal gasket n the foreman gave me an idea of using copper gasket BUT the machine shop can customize the copper gasket is at johor n cost RM1000 :8

actually there is 3 range of top gasket with different prices
RM280, RM380 Rm550......
all of em different quality

GTpuI

Apr 18, 2006
Maybe different prize in different place.Where u buy it? I buy at Johore. I buy all the original mmc item japan made worth rm280 for overhaul gasket(include gearbox, oil sump gasket,etc).I dont know if i been cheated if the parts is immitation.But all the parts have a hologram and bar code mmc genuine parts.

Recently Jay Chou recently keep promoting himself from movie , song and concert. Heard my friend said that his concert at Malaysia on August is sold out. Wow! I think only superstart can make it because nowaday not much of the artis can stay so long time. For my generation is Hong Kong artist is more famous. Come back to my topic. My cousin interest to go for Jay Chou concert but all the ticket was sold out already. May i know any lobang can get the ticket? Expensive a bit also never mind...