Mitsubishi Storm (A) Gearbox Problems

May 19, 2014
Kota Kinabalu
Hello all, does anybody know what is the cause when Mitsubishi Storm 2.5cc auto gear transmission is NOT shifting to fourth's gear? I changed the ATF oil few months ago.

1) how many litre of ATF oil is sufficient for the auto gearbox?

2) What is the official name of the auto gearbox's part that control the shifting of the gear? so that easier for me to refer that part to the auto parts' seller? is the gearbox pressure valve??

3) What type of ATF oil is compatible or suitable for Mitsubishi Storm 2.5cc Year 2003 auto gearbox? currently using Dextron 3. Is this suitable?

Many thanks to the sifus out there who can share their thoughts, views and expert opinion to my car woes. :banghead:

Hello all, does anybody know what is the cause when Mitsubishi Storm 2.5cc auto gear transmission is NOT shifting to fourth's gear? I changed the ATF oil few months ago.

1) how many litre of ATF oil is sufficient for the auto gearbox?

2) What is the official name of the auto gearbox's part that control the shifting of the gear? so that easier for me to refer that part to the auto parts' seller? is the gearbox pressure valve??

3) What type of ATF oil is compatible or suitable for Mitsubishi Storm 2.5cc Year 2003 auto gearbox? currently using Dextron 3. Is this suitable?

Many thanks to the sifus out there who can share their thoughts, views and expert opinion to my car woes. :banghead:
Your problem is probably the fact you're using Dexron III on a car that is supposed to use SPIII. Unless I'm mistaken, the user manual states Dia Queen SPIII. SPIII and Dexron III are not compatible.

Flush with SPIII and change out that ATF filter. Unfortunately you're gonna need a lot to flush since it's supposed to have 9.7L of ATF. And auto parts sellers can't help you with a gearbox component, this is gearbox specialist area already. Suggest you try to use Lubeguard red (2 bottles) with the next ATF change out (full flush), change the ATF filter and make sure it's the SPIII oil from Mitsubishi - preferably Dia Queen.

Did Porsche just leaked images of what's possibly the impending GT3? Nevertherless, these rather rough preliminary renderings obtained from autoblog.nl depict details from the 991.2 and the update looks mighty interesting...