Opinion: Looking for 100k car

wannabe

Feb 29, 2004
Halo, need advise on new cars available on the market currently with budget of around 100K. Frend of mine ( guy) asked me to post here n ask for opinions on what car he can get on that budget. So far have seen city, jazz, forfour,vios. What other options are there?

He prefers sumting more sporty say like jazz. Cant afford to buy a brand new coupe like celica or MR-s. How's sentra or civic ?? Or are there others? Jazz good ka ? Thanks.

fstr

Apr 19, 2004
Sahara Desert
pajero 2nd ok maaa, can bring go fishing and lalang trips la ehehhehehee...sumore road tax reduction nia :biggrin:

ehaab

Jul 3, 2005
well ...if u are looking for a BRAND NEW car...see the Suzuki Swift, Honda CITY V-TEC, VIOS..well the list ends there...maybe if u like can see the Cheverlot Optra..though i am not a big fan of that...
if u want 2nd hand..there are loads out there...even 2nd hand civics,integras. mit 3000gt, nissan 300zx...ahaha..

zan

Feb 20, 2005
for 100k budget, why must look for used? enjoy life to the fullest...he he :D buy new one laa..

my list similar with ehaab...Swift will be 1st in my list. very rair. too many jazz around nowadays. i got bored. same with city and vios. for more or less, u can also spend on new hilux. new hilux has quiet interior, car like cabin, powerful turbodiesel but ecenomical too. shud see/hear how solid the door closes. which is why new hilux was awarded car of the year by Autocar Asean magazine, beating camry, accord, mercedez and bmws...

zero4

for 100k, pay downpayment for an evo MR, muahauhauhaa

okok, serious abit

for 100k, get a civic ler, the new 2.0 version

dun get 2nd hand pajero, dun listen to bet bet freeeddddd, he wanna pyscho more ppl go fish whale

wannabe

Feb 29, 2004
Thanks for the replies. my freind not interedted in 4WD , oni in saloon, so basically hilux is out. On swift , test drived it but seems a bit sluggish . Take sometime for the speed to climb up. Most impressed is forfour, very good power but not an ideal car as it is still new in the market n future maintenance might burn a hole. Dun wan a 2nd hand car as buying 2nd hand car like gamble oni , lucky good car , not lucky , have to spend thousands to repair or maintain.

not attracted by korean or chevrolet oso....... haiya..... damn kau fan.......

So i guess it's back to city, 1.7 civic , jazz , vios , altis , lancer , sentra , nothing liau more hor??

wannabe

Feb 29, 2004
zero4, civic 2.0 a bit too costly la..... around 140K , how is the 1.7 civic ? At around 110 k more affordable. but still love previous civics compared to new ones. new ones looks so conventional ( not sporty enuf lo ). :D

ikankeli

Nov 8, 2004
new honda city

nobody propose proton aa..? try the new honda city aa.. for me the design is quit weird but i do think it's an economic car, low fuel consumption, VTEC engine summore.. i think the price is less than RM100k..

zero4

wannabe said:
zero4, civic 2.0 a bit too costly la..... around 140K , how is the 1.7 civic ? At around 110 k more affordable. but still love previous civics compared to new ones. new ones looks so conventional ( not sporty enuf lo ). :D

actually if budget allows, got for the 2.0 version, but if no budget right, the 1.7 ivtec is good enough, good car, torque not bad, comfortable, looks nice

for 100k, i would say the civic is a good buy

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Ford Focus. Get the 2.0 litre hatchback if you can stretch your budget for it. Not launched yet though. Don't know if Ford Malaysia will be bringing a 2 door version. Now that's sporty.

Jazz and sporty don't belong in the same page. It is a very girly car in standard trim.

Anyway, they will also be launching a 1.6 litre Swift Gti, so that might be a good idea if you think the 1.5 is sluggish (which I find odd, since all reports say it is nippy).

Sentra? Might as well write "Family man" on your forehead. Not sporty in standard trim. Won't be a sporty drive either.

Civic 1.7 is a good bet. The 2.0 litre even better.

Altis? Same problem as Sentra.

Vios and City, the usual suspects.

Heard the Optra to be quite good to drive although it has dodgy Korean genes so I'd not recommend that.

Elantra? Emmm....no.

wannabe

Feb 29, 2004
Thanks silverfish , but problem is he needs to buy it by this mth or next , as the ford focus n Swift GTi 1.6 are yet to be launched , most probably oni by next year. If the Jazz would to come with the full body kit offered by honda , would it look better for a guy?? Cos like u say , normally gals drive it.

zero4

jazz/fit might be girly in standard form, but with bodykits and rims it looks gorgeous, or maybe the word shud be garang.

wannabe, can find jazz/fit kit and rims that looks nice on them easily everywhere. try sunway for a start

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
Yeah, give it some bodykits and some tasty wheels and the Jazz would look sporty. But to drive it still isn't that sporty. Depends on your priorities I guess. BTW, I also think the Jazz is overpriced for what it is (because it is CBU, of course).

Oh yeah, how bout the Lynx RS. That would be a nice sporty ride, even in standard trim. Costs about 120k. Looks the business, nice to drive and seats 4 passengers, with their luggage comfortably.

wannabe

Feb 29, 2004
Silverfish , problem wif lynx Rs is tat it's 120K. When we look around 100k , thikn those priced at 120K look nicer , but then if 12oK might as well little bit more get better then look at 130-140k , ....... so have to be disciplined lo :D , maximum i think can go oso to around 110K oni lo.

Standard v-tec jazz comes wif bodykit , i if taking jazz just need to change rims...ori is 15" rite ?? So look for 16" ?

I would like to respray my car, anyone know or can recommend good shop to do the paint jobs? Thank

Chee