Mythbuster/Does-it-work? Steering wheel column snapping off?

Happened to a friend of mine as well but cannot recall the brand name of the steering wheel. In his case he had plenty of warning before it happened but he buat tak tau only. In his case the allenkey bolt patah one by one & as it patah one by one he can feel the steering wheel goyang but continued to drive until the last bolt patah & the steering wheel came off.

That's not as nasty as my snap-off. At least your friend can plead ignorance, mine was just pure bad luck!

Erm... mine's not the so-called "crappy bosskit". It's an 'ori' HKB. Perhaps I just got a lemon unit and yours was a good one.
oh ok, maybe mine was better built coz my bosskit model is the auto-cruise model (with 3 auto-cruise buttons on top).
and i think the material is like some kind of alloy not aluminum.

Lucky you bro izso.. i can't imagine if you are taking high speed bend at that time.. what should we do then?

My advice? Don't brake and let the car cruise until it stops itself. If you can grab hold of the steering column with lots of tissue (to pad it) and stop it from swerving.

Why do people like to change the steering wheel anyway??? Especially when some cars have the air bag in the steering.... o.O

I dunno man. But since mine doesn't have air bag, I can tell why I changed mine. The steering grip is much better with the replacement steering. Stock steering grip is kinda thin for my fat stubby hands.

thats the reason y you should lose weight :biggrin:

oh yeah im mentioning myself too. :thefinger:

bro sorry to say its your own fault. Why u buy fake HKB bosskit in the 1st place? ive been using ORIGINAL HKB from japan for so many cars no problem. Original HKB bosskit about rm100. RM25 for bosskit sure from CHINA la, the box already labeled HUB lol

You know what, I never noticed that. :biggrin:

Ok anyway lesson learnt already. No point rubbing it in further.

And the keypoint here is a lot of people are using cheap bosskits like this. I'm just proving a point. You got a good one so good for you.

izso..
how bout ppl using those quick release steering hub? if im on track then suddenly press the release button
& steering cabut how? i wonder will that ever happen? :biggrin:

izso..
how bout ppl using those quick release steering hub? if im on track then suddenly press the release button
& steering cabut how? i wonder will that ever happen? :biggrin:

You quickly reconnect it and continue driving like a bawse!! :biggrin:

Awesome article. Wanted to reply saying that your boss kit is not an original one but seems like someone already pointed that out to you. HKB and HUB is not the same although the box is designed to imitate. Get the original dude.

Yeah thanks. But the key point to take home wasn't so much the branding, but the fact that lots of people these days buy cheap boss-kits to use with their expensive Momos and Nardis. My article just proves it's not worth it.

I got myself a fully metal Evo boss kit which I'll be installing and updating here today or tomorrow. That one looks x10000000 times better

Izso had went thru pain to tell us all that dun buy those fake steering wheel bosskits....
u will face the consequences if u do..hhee.