Modification question

eques

Oct 14, 2017
petaling jaya
I mentioned above, King of Rims is a decent place. But this is the only place that I've been to, not too sure of other places.

As for brakes, if you are very worried of losing your warranty then better stay away from replacing with disc brakes.

Replacing to disc brakes, adding sunroof and exhaust will void your warranty.
Hi thanks for your input, appreciate them I was just asking for other people's opinion on where should I get my Rims. I do appreciate your help but I've read alot of negative comments on the staff trying to con customers at that place. And as usual I would love to hear from more people as we can learnt from someone's unfortunate experience.

As for the disk brake I think I'll still want to go for it as I have budget since I plan not to do the sunroof so soon. Probably will make this car my project car in future want to build this from na mpi to probably gti supercharged. But I'm not familiar with the German domestic market trades in malaysia. Like I got no car enthusiasts friend that loves edm, mostly mdm or jdm.. So I'd love to get the lay of land like where should I get my parts

Hope you guys don't mind my quest for knowledge :adore::adore:

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Even used they're still relatively more expensive. Well depends on which type of SSR also, the lightweight ones are more expensive of course. If cheap, then most likely are fakes which unfortunately are abundant for SSR, just like fake Rays & Enkei.
SSR ori rims aint cheap even for used one. 15 inch somemore. :biggrin:
Weight 3.95kg/rim. Cap ayam enkei design 7kg/rim.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Well you see it really depend on your budget and definition of entry level :rofl:
But this is a good start, right?
Ya if got more money then SSR can be considered 'entry level' lor! :biggrin:

Yup that one is a rather cheap price for Type C, probably because it's already repainted. Usually that one are selling above 3k.

SSR ori rims aint cheap even for used one. 15 inch somemore. :biggrin:
Weight 3.95kg/rim. Cap ayam enkei design 7kg/rim.
Says the person who already owns one! :biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Hi thanks for your input, appreciate them I was just asking for other people's opinion on where should I get my Rims. I do appreciate your help but I've read alot of negative comments on the staff trying to con customers at that place. And as usual I would love to hear from more people as we can learnt from someone's unfortunate experience.

As for the disk brake I think I'll still want to go for it as I have budget since I plan not to do the sunroof so soon. Probably will make this car my project car in future want to build this from na mpi to probably gti supercharged. But I'm not familiar with the German domestic market trades in malaysia. Like I got no car enthusiasts friend that loves edm, mostly mdm or jdm.. So I'd love to get the lay of land like where should I get my parts

Hope you guys don't mind my quest for knowledge :adore::adore:
For brake mods, you can check out KS Brakes in Sunway.

Wheels shouldn't be a bit problem since worst case scenario my tire is damage from bent rims or damage wheels, same goes to exhaust. Just worry for the body since there will be rust and might cost structure problem.

And thanks for everyone that responded to my thread appreciate the opportunity to discuss
Exhaust change, anything wrong with engine they can void warranty too, same goes for gear box blaming the oversized wheels.....lol:biggrin:

Any recommended rims store then? Don't wanna buy from shops that sell imitation telling customer it's original. As for the exhaust probably won't sacrifice the power for my joy Haha. Anyway 1 more question I forgotten to ask that is I'd like to change my back brakes from drum to disk. Any recommendation and what is the rough budget? And where should I get those rotors? Scrap store from old golf?
You can try scouting Sunway area, got a few big tyre shops with rims. Hup Shun is one. Another is Quicksave in USJ, heard VW club member do go there also.....:driver:

if under warranty, try not touch vital parts. Any mishap will point to it.
Many do things that are plug and play, so can switch back when need to claim warranty. Like wheels and tyres but have to keep the original. Drop in performance filter and so on....:biggrin:

alcyon

Sep 13, 2015
IN malaysia, those people offering sunroofs do not do it the proper way. They cut your roof with a rather big cut, and then they cut the donor sunroof about the same size, then weld that bit of donor roof to your car roof, a little bit on top of your existing roof. The real proper way to cut a roof to install sunroof, is to cut the same size as the glass opening, then weld the donor mechanism to the under of your roof. But only one or two places in malaysia who has such skill to cut so nicely. I say dont do it.
This video shows the common 3rd world way of installing sunroof.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snsULpbmqfI

This video, the proper way.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Xe56v-grGk&pbjreload=10

1. I'd like to modify the exhaust system so I don't suffocate my engine at all. Read that most stock car suffocate the engine a little even if it's stock to avoid sound pollution to pass all countries law. What part should I change? Tail pipe etc. And how much roughly for a good one and any good place to recommend?
I didn't know they still made the NA polo sedan. I thought it's been replaced by that newer model that's turbo charged? Anyway, any exhaust mod will void warranty. If that matters to do don't do it. If it doesn't, there are lots of shops in Ampang/Puchong/Sunway that'll do it for you. Depending on material used (white steel, stainless steel, titanium, etc) it'll cost around 1200 to 5000 or more. All depends on what you do, who you do it with and whether you know the person or not.

(Almost sounds like you're looking for an escort service :biggrin: )

Anyway, go find a fellow VW polo kaki, get recommendations from them and go with them to the shop to get the same price and setup if it's what you like.

Btw, a nice straight flow with resonator would give you a nice idle rumble and a growl when accelerating without the drone when you cruise. Avoid droning.

2. Sunroof installation, does it void my car warranty and is there any expensive or annoying maintainence I should know about? As usually any recommended place?
Don't bother la. Chopping and welding your roof for the sake of a sunroof which isn't practical in our weather is pointless. Poorly done welds will introduce rust problems. Then rust will be a never ending nightmare. Then there's the weather seals of these sunroofs, they need attention ever so often in case they dry up and become brittle, you'll have water in your cabin whenever it rains. Or worse - poorly installed sunroof will result in water leaks, creaky noises, etc and usually there's no turning back after a poor install.

3. Wheels / rims, where should I get them? And any cons on getting unoriginal products? Or any good original brands that is cheap and looks good?
Budget? If you have the budget getting a branded Enkei RPF1 for your car would be awesome. Otherwise have a look at the Advanti branding. Not exactly knockoffs because they have their own designs and not exactly china made because their quality is actually pretty good. Especially their lightweight storm series, 4.6kg rims is pretty awesome. RPF1 is lighter though. Whatever you opt for - don't skimp on tyres. Get good tyres.

4. Car seats, any good recommendation on a comfortable semi or full bucket seats brand? Looking at original only in case of accident which I hope it won't happen. Prefer to use cheaper but original brands
You want ori and cheap, consider half cut shops. There are shops online as well (FB) that sell a lot of recaros that's pretty reasonable too. Some sell the bracket and slider, if you're not having any luck with finding the bracket and slider, give SSCUS a call to see if they have bracket and slider for your car model.

5. What are jpj laws on sticker? I remember seeing summon on cars that have small sticker.. Plan to make one on the windscreen on top and behind my car.
Windscreen front cannot exceed 6 inches in height if I'm not mistaken. That black strip people usually stick cannot exceed 6inches. Rear sticking a whole bunch of stickers will give you literal problems when it blocks your rear view. JPJ will target you if you have that much on the rear windscreen.

Anyway 1 more question I forgotten to ask that is I'd like to change my back brakes from drum to disk. Any recommendation and what is the rough budget? And where should I get those rotors? Scrap store from old golf?
Drum to disk? Is there a point to this mod? It's not going to miraculously improve your braking ability. Anyway, if you insist to do it, look at other VW cars and find out which ones are PNP for your car. Buy the whole front and back and just PNP. I don't know enough about VW to answer this fully. But looking at the Polo GTI front and rear brakes perhaps might be what you need.

eques

Oct 14, 2017
petaling jaya
They still do the na polo, I have no confidence on getting dsg and turbo from vw, father owned a golf last time and met with alot of problems.. Even with warranty I'm not willing to leave my car in service center for a week lol. Anyway thanks for your input everybody, you probably save me a summon by telling me the sticker rules Haha, could've sworn I saw someone getting summon from stickers before on Facebook.

By the way guys I thiught that your warranty will be voided Base on what you mod only. Like will they really blame engine failure if we modify exhaust so our car can fart easier? For wheels maybe still acceptable cause it's consider towing your car slightly by adding heavier cap ayam rims

lsm1991

Sep 30, 2011
They still do the na polo, I have no confidence on getting dsg and turbo from vw, father owned a golf last time and met with alot of problems.. Even with warranty I'm not willing to leave my car in service center for a week lol. Anyway thanks for your input everybody, you probably save me a summon by telling me the sticker rules Haha, could've sworn I saw someone getting summon from stickers before on Facebook.

By the way guys I thiught that your warranty will be voided Base on what you mod only. Like will they really blame engine failure if we modify exhaust so our car can fart easier? For wheels maybe still acceptable cause it's consider towing your car slightly by adding heavier cap ayam rims
depends on which brand/sc itself....

IN malaysia, those people offering sunroofs do not do it the proper way. They cut your roof with a rather big cut, and then they cut the donor sunroof about the same size, then weld that bit of donor roof to your car roof, a little bit on top of your existing roof. The real proper way to cut a roof to install sunroof, is to cut the same size as the glass opening, then weld the donor mechanism to the under of your roof. But only one or two places in malaysia who has such skill to cut so nicely. I say dont do it.
This video shows the common 3rd world way of installing sunroof.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=snsULpbmqfI

This video, the proper way.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1Xe56v-grGk&pbjreload=10
depend on budget and where u send the car for installation....

Don't bother la. Chopping and welding your roof for the sake of a sunroof which isn't practical in our weather is pointless. Poorly done welds will introduce rust problems. Then rust will be a never ending nightmare. Then there's the weather seals of these sunroofs, they need attention ever so often in case they dry up and become brittle, you'll have water in your cabin whenever it rains. Or worse - poorly installed sunroof will result in water leaks, creaky noises, etc and usually there's no turning back after a poor install.
i prefer finding oem sunroof meant for the car, remove existing roof, install new roof that comes with sunroof...

dammm i need money for my gigantic Forester sunroof... :nurse::driver:

Means they are afraid it leaks after install, so better weld part of the roof to new car......lol:rofl:

dear sifus,
care to share the input of the supercharger kit provided above by powerzone..
pros,cons?
your views & knowledge will be much appreciated,thanx..