Mitsubishi GTO 3.0 v6 twin turbo , Rx-7 Rotary 1.3 , Toyota Supra 3.0 turbo

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Heh, i think most of the time i was under the impression that 500hp for a satria (GTI or not) was what you were referring to. That's why i was like.... i don't think it works out very well :P

zephyr3d

Apr 29, 2005
near steven's
omnikron said:
just to add a few things to this thread.

it's not the power, but the power to weight ratio thats scary. try a supercharged lotus elise and you will enter a totally different dimension of speed.

Black howling, just want to ask, is your supra manual or auto?
if its manual, are you using multi-plate race clutches? i tried, and it hurts, right up to my balls.

other practicality problems include flooded roads, bumps and potholes, getting in and out of tight parkings, parking in small lots, side parking, putting stuff in...... etc.

if you want a "practical" sportscar (hmmm an oxymoron?), there isn't one. it has to be hard, fast and mean........

just to add, getting supra to 500hp is relatively easy. stopping it on the other hand, is a different matter. Endless 8-pots water cooled anyone?
if road condition is a prob.. get a 4x4 then... or a kancil if other's are too big.. solve your issue. His is manual...

by the way.. i believe practicality sometimes boils down to individual preference. Impractical to you, but practical some others. I believe many would even say driving a manual tranny is totally impractical. While car enthusiast like us would say..."hey.. no prob at all".

like i drove blackie's civic (now chee wah's) ... i would say itz crazy impractical.. clutch's way too makan/hard... but hey.. they took it as a daily car... so ez.. no big deal at all. Same thing... i find my car practical.. like normal ordinary MT car.. but others whom drove my car probably tot.. wat kind of rolling machine is this? so difficult to drive... no practical at all.

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
deacon said:
Heh, i think most of the time i was under the impression that 500hp for a satria (GTI or not) was what you were referring to. That's why i was like.... i don't think it works out very well :P
Oic...Ok. But very simple 1 ma.:_:

for example:
Is 2JZ from Supra?
Is there any engine wic has potential reaching 500hp n above originated from Satria?

If you wan do 500hp hav to do it in a correct machine also.

If dun hav so big head wat for wear such a big hat rite?

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Well most E3 engines can put out those kind of numbers. Hence the impracticality. 2.0 with turbo ---> 500..... dunno wei sounds damn kao to me some more inside a small ass car like a gti

kher

Aug 30, 2004
Klang, Selangor
Stil dun get my point.
Proton doesn't produce any cars to withstand so much power. It's jus our style here to transplant the engines coz it can fit into it.

If u take Supra for example it is a high performance car. Therefore wif somemore upgrades (bear in mind the market has a lot of upgrade parts for these cars) it will definitely perform much more better than it was.

As for the E3...Try 500hp E3 in its orginal shell n E3 in a GTi. The original E3 wif it 4WD system, ABS n etc will sure be more stable than a GTi E3. It's an overall package. The engineers in Mitsubishi doesn't get "gaji buta".

U cant compare a non-performance n performance cars. Diff category. The difference is too big.

It's jus like asking std 5 boy do form 5 boy's add maths. Both also human ma. N of coz the form 5 boy do faster n correctly. But diff category n standard wat. How to compare? Say the std 5 boy lousy???

jeffblazed

Nov 7, 2004
500whp in gti and putra no big deal......drag wise they are king.....handling wise dont know la......wats the big deal wit fwd wit more than 500whp.......even seen a few turbo civic ek with more than 500whp in sunway.......but i always rather have a rwd with above 500hp.........

deacon

Senior master debater
May 5, 2005
Kher, dude i think we are both on the same page. I was saying that i thought Blackhowling was referring to a locally made car with 500hp being road worthy. Not knowing of course he is talking about his Supra...

gbajien

Aug 29, 2012
yea i know this thread has been inactive for ages, but just wanted to share some info.
I had the chance to try a Supra and a GTO before I went deeper into getting a 90's Jap turbo sportscar.

Supra was good, it looked good and felt torque-y ... but i fell in love with the GTO, for one thing, its rare and a lot of people unfamiliar with jap sportscars will be confused, and the sound of that twin turbo 3.0 V6 has a lot more growl than an inline 6 (my opinion lah heheh)

Its 4WD, 4WS, with a Getrag 5-speed/6-speed gearbox (depending on what year of GTO you buy), pop-up lights on an MK1 GTO look awesome (not too upright like an MR2)...

If you go the GTO path, be prepared to do research on the car and its potential problems, where to source good parts and performance parts, and to spend RM! haha
Main things to check at first are: engine mounts, pistons (white smoke will tell), wiring + ignition + PTU, fuel-pump and the front drive shafts... as you go along the other parts will need checking or upgrading as you go..but that feeling of it going full boost with 427Nm of torque is awesome... and you don't really have to feel jittery in the rain as you've got 4WD :)

GTO heard got lot of problems and it drinks pretty well. I would still go for Supra...a legend with great history.
Parts easier to get than GTO since is kinda rare perhaps...

gbajien

Aug 29, 2012
GTO heard got lot of problems and it drinks pretty well. I would still go for Supra...a legend with great history.
Parts easier to get than GTO since is kinda rare perhaps...
Yea, parts for GTO are abundant in UK and USA, with shops over there even offering stock ECU rebuilds with warranty, can't find that in M'sia, but luckily shipping from UK is not as expensive as the USA, and there's always Ebay... I source my parts brand new online from these tuning shops (check out evilempireperformance.co.uk , GTO specialist), whereas for used spare parts I go to Ebay, coz places like Munlee in Puchong have a cut-throat price, plus they don't really store their half-cuts properly, so parts tend to fail within first 2 weeks...

no doubt the Supra has legend status, but overseas, its not the only big boy ... you should test drive a twin turbo GTO, then you'll know what I mean :)

---------- Post added at 11:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:34 PM ----------

how bout your spare parts? easy to find?
apparently you can find several chop-shops in klang valley that carry GTO parts and half-cuts.. from Munlee in Puchong, one in Kepong, a couple in Johor, one in Gombak....

It all comes down to your willingness to pay the price.. after my experience with Munlee, I'd rather order from Ebay (UK) for spares, if i'm gonna pay a premium might as well go for better quality items...

you can even get your GTO's oem ECU from ebay or 3SX

not a bad car, but as Danz mentioned, parts can be a pain. aftermarket support is lacking when compared to the legendary Supra and the [strike]wanker[/strike] wankel. though from the same generation, the GTO with its AWD system and twin turbo is overshadowed by another AWD with twin turbo from Japan.

I never really knew why. Was it the weight? Or was it the handling lacking? Wasn't very interested cause I didn't really like the looks, and its younger sibling, the Evo, probably outperformed it with some simple tweaks for less money.

perhaps its due to the weight and another important factor....

during 90's Japanese tuning company didn't really like to tune v-configured engine as they having hard time to get the crankshaft properly balanced and to get rid the fatal crankshaft wobble at high rpm... (which explains why most v6 3.0 fairlady only tuned to sub 1000hp and at most at 1200hp) unlike those inline 6 like nissan's rb and toyota jz engine series which is inline configuration proved to be more popular among tuners back then.....

when there's lack of tuner interest then mass market user also loose interest in buying and mod those v6 engined car as a economical tuning choice..... :adore:

btw that was just my speculation..nothing related with any tuning shop in japan :adore:

Yea, parts for GTO are abundant in UK and USA, with shops over there even offering stock ECU rebuilds with warranty, can't find that in M'sia, but luckily shipping from UK is not as expensive as the USA, and there's always Ebay... I source my parts brand new online from these tuning shops (check out evilempireperformance.co.uk , GTO specialist), whereas for used spare parts I go to Ebay, coz places like Munlee in Puchong have a cut-throat price, plus they don't really store their half-cuts properly, so parts tend to fail within first 2 weeks...

no doubt the Supra has legend status, but overseas, its not the only big boy ... you should test drive a twin turbo GTO, then you'll know what I mean :)

---------- Post added at 11:38 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:34 PM ----------

apparently you can find several chop-shops in klang valley that carry GTO parts and half-cuts.. from Munlee in Puchong, one in Kepong, a couple in Johor, one in Gombak....

It all comes down to your willingness to pay the price.. after my experience with Munlee, I'd rather order from Ebay (UK) for spares, if i'm gonna pay a premium might as well go for better quality items...

you can even get your GTO's oem ECU from ebay or 3SX
The White GTO in Kepong is Yours? :biggrin:
There is a friendly neighbourhood around there...Black Toyota Supra...look stock. :love:

hI there,

Can anyone tell me how to adjust the ignition timing for my 1.6 satria.
I able to locate the distributor and unlock the two bolts.

How i know i set it correctly. not to advance.