Is it Legal for Convoy's to stop traffic ?

mkdreamervl

Jul 6, 2005
Hi all... would like some input from everyone...

I guess everyone would have met these convoys ( for Cars) which model i would not name due to sensitivity and the fact that it might upset some people...

They buzz through traffic with double signals, highlights and bulling their way through traffic, some even driving dangerously and aggressively , and when they come to an intersection with a traffic light, their so called Marshall, or one of their members, can drive up right to the opposite lane and block the ongoing traffic so that all... ALL their members can pass through the traffic lights. And all without a police escort.

Enlighten me if i'm wrong, but can they actually do this ? I mean i pay road tax and insurance too... does that give me the right to do the same ?:banghead:

iatebananas

Oct 5, 2012
bro. they follow their leader only ma. our beloved GOV also do like that ma. :) have u ever been to kl before? dah la tak bayar roadtax, his idiot outrider kicked my car. some idiot bigshot. in Aus even the PM queues up in the jam. Like idiot, like idiot.

spoon civic

Jul 12, 2012
terengganu

I guess everyone would have met these convoys ( for Cars) which model i would not name due to sensitivity and the fact that it might upset some people...

They buzz through traffic with double signals, highlights and bulling their way through traffic, some even driving dangerously and aggressively , and when they come to an intersection with a traffic light, their so called Marshall, or one of their members, can drive up right to the opposite lane and block the ongoing traffic so that all... ALL their members can pass through the traffic lights. And all without a police escort.

Enlighten me if i'm wrong, but can they actually do this ? I mean i pay road tax and insurance too... does that give me the right to do the same ?:banghead:
up to u bro....somtime they have permit to lead the convoy altough didn't escort by police...so that they act like that...if u do that..if anything happen u face by yourself la bro...

ExceL

Jan 6, 2004
Ampang/KL

We live in a kampung state (read: country), as long as you act by kampung style, your above the law:stupid::stupid:

up to u bro....somtime they have permit to lead the convoy altough didn't escort by police...so that they act like that...if u do that..if anything happen u face by yourself la bro...
They have permit??..even without an actual police officer present?!!.. :banghead:

mkdreamervl

Jul 6, 2005
Spoon : I understand that some of them have permit for the Convoy as most of them would have applied for it. But i believe the permit is for the gathering of the convoy.

Not to stop traffic and basically acting like a traffic policeman right ?

nadziad

May 14, 2011
johor
even they have permit dosnt meant they have authorities to stop us.....they only have authorities to convoy in large quantities

Just my opinion, I've saw quite some convoys and some have outriders in the front of the convoy to control traffic before the actual convoy group came...I believe this is the more proper way which is having the riders to be ahead of the convoy....and I believe no convoy should stop the traffic to let the convoy pass unless you have police presence. If not, why you need traffic police to stop or control the traffic if everyone could just stop a traffic when they are on a convoy.....

I've encounter some of these so called convoy which have no proper safety guidelines...the lead car just have a MARSHAL sticker and 2 guys in the car...stop in the middle of the junction waving a flashing baton and stopping all traffic.....I was pissed actually...cause that fellow just stop in the middle of the traffic when the cars on the other side is moving....he keeps honking flashing ppl to stop and for that the convoy was like only 7 cars...can't they stop for a while?? They are really endangering other people's live...

now on the streets, you can see a lot of car with the big ass MARSHAL stickers at the rear windscreen...are they the real thing or just "people put I also put"...I'm wondering if putting that sticker will grant them full power on the road...can stop, turn, anywhere or anytime...

just my 2 cents..

I've seen some do have police escort, but usually only until they reach the highway then they are on their own. These are for those that made application I guess. How it works? No idea.

If the convoy is without police escort, they should not be allowed to stop traffic....

csl

Aug 22, 2005
Malysia
Only traffic police can direct the traffic sequence besides traffic light. Other than that, Ambulant, fire fighting truck and etc can ignore the traffic light if in emergency case (with siren and strobe light on). People have to cooperate with them. Other than that all are illegal. If you have taken photo or video, you can report to the traffic police. Even if you are sending a patient to hospital in emergency with double signal on, you should be 'saman' 1st then go to traffic police station and explain. They have the rights to cancel the saman.

I also want to buy Marshal sticker to avoid all the traffic lights...:biggrin:
:listen: Most of the cars with Marshal stickers I saw on the road so far, drive like idiots...:banghead:

YYC

Dec 30, 2007
They are all just self-appointed so-called marshals with no legal authority to divert and stop road traffic. If they could act like someone with that idiotic MARSHAL stickers on car, I hope they get fined for obstruction of traffic and prosecuted for behaving dangerously and endanger other road users. After all, all being said and done, they are just some loosely organised civilian car clubs. Everyone is equal on the road. As csl mentioned, unless they are ambulance, fire engine, police, and those with police escort, everyone else should obey the traffic rules, stop at traffic lights and junctions like everyone else does. Traffic rule is No. 1 then come about courtesy.

hope to get some help on this, can anybody tell me how to wire the cabin light, cos the stock one in my car does not work, dont think it has power running into it at all, im driving a saga aeroback,, can any sifu there help me, im trying to find the wire that makes it work or where to tap a new source so when door open light will on and when door close light off, hope that there is people who can help me thanks in advance to those who responce to this thread