ICE recommendation

siong

Nov 14, 2005
yeah! i totally agree with brother kyheng!!! u know why.. my 12" outbeat my frens 2x10"!! or mayb his amp is cap ayam or what i duno... but my bass sound nicer... er... the best is get 2 12".. i think pretty nice... can let ur neighbour hood hear also.. hehe jk jk... i actually new in ice also... i might be getting myself a new HU... budget is rm 400... is there any recommendation??? i love pioneer!

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
oldskolboyz said:
yeaah but it depend on brand, model, voice coil, watts also sub enclosure....I has been face 10' can beat 12', 12' can beat 15', 12' can beat 2 10' & 15' can beat 4 12'....
Like our friend said, it depends on the model, just example, you use a 2 10" Mohawk Orange to compare with 12" Mohawk, sure 12" Mohack wins. But if you use a 10" RF Punch Stage 3 to compare with 12" Mohawk, sure the Punch Stage 3 will win, am I right, oldskolboy.

I use a RDS 12" SVC with Lightning Audio B300.2 amp. Amp power abit too high for woofer, so I used a low pass filter coil to control the woofer's movement.. I blown the woofer once, haha :rock:

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
kyheng said:
Like our friend said, it depends on the model, just example, you use a 2 10" Mohawk Orange to compare with 12" Mohawk, sure 12" Mohack wins. But if you use a 10" RF Punch Stage 3 to compare with 12" Mohawk, sure the Punch Stage 3 will win, am I right, oldskolboy.

Yup, but we need to open mind...when do comparison high end product must again high end product..dont compare with low end one...coz not fair loorr...afew thousand VS afew hundred...sure afew thousand win lorrr....RF should compare again MTX, Sondstream, Bravox, Cerwin Vega, Kickers, Ultimate, JL Audio or else...like Mohawk should again RDS, Av Quartz, Shuttle lab, Stellar, American sound, Boshman or else...this a right way to do comparison looorrr ....this is my principle when I want buy anything...

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
Yeah, you are right, but nowadays Rockford amp and Lightning Audio amp and other products is made in China and Taiwan, so is not worth that price. But 1 thing for sure is the QC check is still there, not like other ayam brand amp...

oldskolboyz

Sep 2, 2005
Yup just left QC...from Economic view.. when China open his market to Foreign Investors...China goverment has been fixed a policy for Investor...this just 1 section....any product make in china must use his/local material...investor not alowed to import/bring material from his country..the only thing investor can bring is Technology & Money...haaa haa...That why I said...just left QC only....Right now we can see almost high end product or stuff (USA one laa) stated on the box "DESIGN IN USA" not made in USA.

Ravenkean

Dec 9, 2005
Newbie on ICE

hie.. i'm newbie on ICE...
thought wana mod a bit la... on my new myvi
thought of using back my stock HU for da mean time...
to all sifu out there.. can recommend me wat to buy?
like amps, speaker, tweeter and sub...
budget around 2k exclude HU

Zenn

Jul 12, 2005
2k for amp, component & sub? a bit tight, better to get 2nd hand good stuff, rather than cheap new stuff that u will get sick of in the short run and upgrade again later. wiring & labour still not included.

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
You are driving Myvi? I see the HU looks like cannot be change, correct me if I'm wrong.
Anyway 2k for a basic setup is not a problem, a RDS 12" SVC woofer 430, box 120, component set 400, a 4 channel amp that can be bridged 1000(I think). Then you are ready to rock....

Ravenkean

Dec 9, 2005
HU can be change, juz tat da HU bracket cost Rm400, is not worth for da mean time..
2k not enuff ar... juz for ok sound like... 50% human voice,50% bass

siong

Nov 14, 2005
kyheng said:
You are driving Myvi? I see the HU looks like cannot be change, correct me if I'm wrong.
Anyway 2k for a basic setup is not a problem, a RDS 12" SVC woofer 430, box 120, component set 400, a 4 channel amp that can be bridged 1000(I think). Then you are ready to rock....
im sorry but is it real that myvi cant change HU? omg..i somemore ask my fren to change HU.. his myvi is coming out soon.. din knew that it can never change... OMG OMG.. shuda asked!!! anyway y is it unchangeable?

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
As per Ravenkean, Hu can be change but have to spend more money only, not like normal car HU, take out and put another in. I have see my friend's one, got 2 knob outside the HU, like the Hu built meant for Myvi only.

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
I don't know. But 1 thing for sure is what we will think about the HU, not ask around for opinions. For me, atleast must have mp3, no need to change disc when going outstation...

CraZieThug5057

Dec 11, 2005
HI there would u like to trade in your VIOS car HU to me?...how much would u charge?.....is the HU is a CD player?>....how many DIN?>...2 or 1?...

anyway i got a sugguestion for u since u hav a budget from rm1000 why dun u consider a SONY Xplod CDX-V3800 incar VCD, CD, Mp3 player its worfit to buy jz RM 777 and u can get full accessories like the remote, connecters, sub out remap 45W *4 and pluz there is warranty for that produts....

hit me a message if u wanted to sell ur HU

intrigue said:
Hie guys,

My first post in ZTH so don't be too harsh on me if i make mistake. hehe..

Ok. This is the case here.. i'm a newbie in ICE thingy but i'm going to upgrade my stock ICE system on my Toyota Vios to a better one which is 50% on clear voice and 50% bassy ( if i want to listen clear music (pop, chinese song, etc ) i can also and sometime listen to trance,techno on weekend night )

So here's my plan..

i'm looking at this PIONEER DEH-P7750MP HU which is very nice. So already RM1000 gone for this HU with trade-in of my stock HU ( i'm not sure the price of it ). So with another around RM1000 max. What can i get for front speaker, tweeter, amp and sub? Or is there any better recommendation for budget around 1K or perhaps a lower HU unit model

BTW, for the HU i saw someone selling for 9XX only.. so if budget went out of it i might get it at forum.

So guys / ice-er pro @ ZTH, hope u guys can help me out with this.

I'm not into pro ICE but just want a better ICE system from my car.
Thanks a lot.

Tohsan

Nov 13, 2004
Char Kuoy Teow
Zenn said:
a sinful italian handmade amp....

btw, are u using the rear ch of the same 4 ch amp to run the 2 subs? make sure u bridge mono the amp instead of running normal stereo, wont be enough power...
i m still thinking bout the "sinful" amp compare to "lux-soup" amp, donno which one to take :biggrin:

kyheng

May 20, 2005
seremban
intrigue said:
i went to another shop and get quoted

Headunit: Pioneer 5750 - RM680
AMP: Stinger 4CH 1200W - RM6XX
Front Component = Helix 6.5 - RMXXX
Subwoofer + BOX = 2 X EVO 12"
Preamp - RM 160.

altogether only 2398 including installation + cabling

Well, I will say go ahead, as mine setup also around this price, some more got an amp is second hand. If you can get the Pioneer 5750 cheaper then is even better. Pre-amp you no need, as this HU got 3 pre-out. Anyway I got cables (power and speaker)to let go, interested can PM me for details.

I've been reading some forums, mainly on how to improve or gain up more torque on early / low rpm band. some suprise finding, there r plp suggesting about upgrading cam.

all the while, i only know changing cam will widen up your torque band, but in this case, can it also adjust or mod into the way that gain more torque in early rpm band but sacrisfice on high/later rpm band?